Old gardener in the Nō play “Koi no omoni”

Old gardener in the Nō play “Koi no omoni”

© Umewaka Kennōkai, 1993

Concert / Performance

Japanese Nō Theatre in the Philharmonie

Visiting: Tokyo

The ensemble of the Umewaka Kennōkai Foundation Tokyo will present three main genres of classical Nō-Theatre on this evening: the cultic dance play, Kyōgen comedy and the dramatic Nō play. The latter’s specifics of music, choreography and dramaturgy have had a lasting influence on European art and music.

17:30 work introduction

Nō – Fascination of Minimalism
Lecture by Dr Annegret Bergmann
Thursday, 22 August 2019, 19:00
Venue. Japanese-German Center Berlin
Free admission, registration required
Further information

Sometimes, culture is one step ahead of politics. In 1994, the united city of Berlin and the Japanese capital Tokyo entered into a city partnership. Already in 1983, Berliner Festspiele, the precursor festival of Musikfest Berlin, had outlined these prospects: Their focus topic was “Japan and Europe”. The festival took stock: In the 1980s, an interest in Far Eastern cultures, ideas, artistic creation and especially in Japanese tradition, had been at a hitherto unknown intensity, at least in the western part of the city. This was promoted by the fact that Japanese artists, and composers and musicians in particular, had chosen Berlin as their first or second residence and that they themselves started to reflect on their cultural origins. As early as 1985, the festival “Horizonte”, dedicated to non-European cultures, presented the forms and many facets of Japanese theatre – and Théâtre de Soleil from Paris integrated Far Eastern stage arts into their guest performance of 1991. At the 1993 festival, performances of Nō-theatre were a central focus.

For the anniversary of this city partnership, which has now been in place for 25 years, the ensemble has returned to Berlin. It will present three main forms of Nō: the cultic dance form, Kyōgen-comedy and the dramatic Nō play; forms of theatre, a sensibility of sound and (musical) dramaturgy that had a broad impact on the European scene of contemporary music.

Programme

Zeami Motokiyo (1363 – 1443)
Shōjō – Midare / Sō no mai (The Ghost of the Rice Wine)
Cultic Nō dance play
In the version with midare dance, executed by two performers

Anonymous (17the century)
Kaminari (The Thunder God)
Kyōgen intermezzo

Zeami Motokiyo (1363 – 1443)
Koi no Omoni (The Burden of Love)
Dramatic Nō play

Cast

Umewaka Manzaburô III main performer
Ensemble of the Umewaka Kennōkai Foundation Tokyo

Performance as part of the European Tour 2019 (Zurich – Basel – Cologne – Berlin) on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the Japan Cultural Institute in Cologne and 25 years of town twinning Tokyo – Berlin.

An event of Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin and The Japan Foundation / The Japan Cultural Institute in Cologne in collaboration with the Japanese-German Center Berlin

Logo Japanisches Kulturinstitut     be Berlin     Japan Foundation     Logo Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin

Alter Gärtner im Nō-Spiel „Koi no omoni“

Alter Gärtner im Nō-Spiel „Koi no omoni“

© Umewaka Kennōkai, 1993

Konzert / Performance

Japanisches Nō-Theater in der Philharmonie

Gastspiel: Tokio

Das Ensemble der Umewaka Kennōkai Foundation Tokio zeigt an diesem Abend drei Hauptgattungen des klassischen Nō-Theaters: das kultische Tanzspiel, die Kyōgen-Komödie und das dramatische Nō-Spiel. Dessen Spezifik, in Musik, Choreografie und Dramaturgie, haben die europäische Kunst und Musik nachhaltig beeinflusst.

17:30 Einführung
Abendprogramm Nō-Theater 03.09.2019 PDF, 4,3 MB

Nō – Faszination des Minimalismus
Vortrag von Dr. Annegret Bergmann
Donnerstag, 22. August 2019, 19:00
Ort: Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin
Eintritt frei, Anmeldung erforderlich
weitere Informationen

Manchmal ist die Kultur der Politik eine Nasenlänge voraus. 1994 schlossen das vereinte Berlin und die japanische Hauptstadt Tokio eine Städtepartnerschaft. Bereits 1993 umrissen die Berliner Festwochen, das Vorgängerfestival des Musikfest Berlin, die Perspektiven: „Japan und Europa“ lautete der Themenschwerpunkt. Das Festival zog eine Bilanz: In den 1980er Jahren hatte das Interesse an fernöstlichen Kulturen, am Denken, am künstlerischen Gestalten insbesondere in der japanischen Tradition zumindest im Westteil der Stadt eine bisher nicht dagewesene Intensität erlebt. Sie wurde dadurch begünstigt, dass japanische Künstler*innen, vor allem Komponist*innen und Musiker*innen, hier ihren ersten oder zweiten Wohnsitz genommen hatten, und dass bei ihnen selbst eine verstärkte Besinnung auf das einsetzte, was sie kulturell ursprünglich geprägt hatte. Bereits 1985 stellte das Festival „Horizonte“, das sich außereuropäischen Kulturen widmete, Formen und Vielfalt des japanischen Theaters vor; das Pariser Théâtre du Soleil integrierte 1991 in sein Gastspiel Elemente fernöstlicher Bühnenkunst. Beim Festival 1993 bildeten die Vorstellungen des Nō-Theaters einen wesentlichen Schwerpunkt.

Zum Jubiläum der Städtepartnerschaft, die nun seit 25 Jahren besteht, ist das Ensemble wieder zu Gast. Es präsentiert drei Hauptformen des Nō: das kultische Tanzspiel, die Kyōgen-Komödie und das dramatische Nō-Spiel, und mit ihnen Formen von Theater, Klangsinn und (musikalischer) Dramaturgie, die weit in die Szene der europäischen Gegenwartsmusik hineinwirkten.

Programm

Zeami Motokiyo (1363 – 1443)
Shōjō – Midare / Sō no mai (Der Geist des Reisweins)
Kultisches Nō-Tanzspiel
In der Version mit Midare-Tanz, ausgeführt von zwei Darstellern

Anonym (17. Jahrhundert)
Kaminari (Der Donnergott)
Kyōgen–Intermezzo

Zeami Motokiyo (1363 – 1443)
Koi no Omoni (Die Last der Liebe)
Dramatisches Nō-Spiel

Besetzung

Umewaka Manzaburô III Hauptdarsteller
Ensemble der Umewaka Kennōkai Foundation Tokio

Gastspiel im Rahmen der Europa-Tournee 2019 (Zürich – Basel – Köln – Berlin) anlässlich des 50. Gründungsjubiläums des Japanischen Kulturinstituts Köln und 25 Jahre Städtepartnerschaft Tokio – Berlin.

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin und The Japan Foundation / Japanischen Kulturinstitut Köln in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Japanisch-Deutschen Zentrum Berlin

Logo Japanisches Kulturinstitut     be Berlin     Japan Foundation     Logo Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin