Stairs

Stairs

Unknown photographer

Concert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard II

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Piano Evening

In his second piano recital, Pierre-Laurent Aimard will present a technically and musically challenging programme: Beethoven’s “Hammerklaviersonata” requires an extraordinary mastery by the pianist and Lachenmann’s multi-layered “Serynade” presents an additional demand for a virtuoso pedal technique.

19:10 work introduction

What is greatness in music? Before we talk about spiritual greatness, let us establish this: The art of music also has a physical size – width, height, circumference, time, density, weight, appearance and expression. When Ludwig van Beethoven announced his B Major Sonata op. 106 as a great one, his greatest, even (before a single note had been written down), he meant everything: No other sonata from his pen is longer, more compact in sound, fingering or compositional technique, no other is more comprehensive in the sense of the genres it contains – symphony, aria, choir, dance, fugue. And yet, it is conceived, explored and taxed entirely from the perspective of the piano: piano sound and piano playing that tests all limits, even the suggestive ones. Written between the final symphonies, it aspires to their public relevance and resonance – but as a piano work, as a statement of the individual.

If Beethoven was interested in the entrance of the piano sound, in “Serynade”, Helmut Lachenmann was interested in how to maintain it, because the sound of the piano volatilises all too soon. It can continue to hold if the musician silently presses keys that corresponds to its overtone spectrum before it is actually played itself; the result are delicate, colourful fields of resonance. You can operate the sustaining pedal which can suspend all or certain intended dampers: The impulse sequences will become blurred, or individual sounds are elevated like sculptures. You can repeat notes or sounds at higher or lower velocity. The “Serynade” demands excellent technique of both hands and pedals – and in the sixth of its seven parts, the entire piece’s culmination – it also demands a virtuoso sensitivity for the inner life of the instrument.

By the way, both great works contain very personal dedications. The one letter in Lachenmann’s work title that diverges from the usual term is the first letter in his wife’s name: Yukiko Sugawara, to whom he dedicated this piece. The first bar of Beethoven’s ovational “Hammerklavier-Sonata” is accompanied with the singing of “Vivat, vivat, Rodolfo”. The composer dedicated his opus 106 to the Archduke Rudolf of Habsburg.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Piano Sonata op. 106 in B flat major (1817/18)
“Hammerklaviersonate”

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
Serynade
Music for piano (1997/98)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Treppe

Treppe

Fotograf unbekannt

Konzert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard II

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Klavierabend

Ein technisch und musikalisch herausforderndes Programm zeigt Pierre-Laurent Aimard in seinem zweiten Klavierabend: Schon Beethovens „Hammerklaviersonate“ verlangte von den Pianisten das Äußerste ab. Lachenmanns vielschichtige „Serynade“ erfordert darüber hinaus noch eine virtuose Pedaltechnik.

Was ist Größe in der Musik? Vor dem Verweis auf das Geistige sei festgehalten: Größe hat auch in der Tonkunst ein physisches Maß – Weite, Höhe, Umfang, Zeit, Dichte, Gewicht, Auftritt und Erscheinung. Als Ludwig van Beethoven seine B-Dur-Sonate op. 106 als große, gar als seine größte ankündigte (kein Ton war noch notiert), da meinte er alles: Keine andere aus seiner Feder ist länger, keine kompakter in Klang, Griffweise und Satztechnik, keine umfassender im Sinne der Genres, die sie umschließt – Symphonie, Arie, Lied, Chor, Tanz, Fuge. Und doch ist sie ganz und gar pianistisch konzipiert, erforscht und strapaziert: Klavierklang und Klavierspiel bis an die Grenzen, auch an die suggestiven. Zwischen den letzten Symphonien geschrieben, greift sie nach deren öffentlicher Bedeutung und Resonanz – aber als Klavierwerk, als Kundgabe des Einzelnen.

Ging es Beethoven um den Auftritt des Klavierklangs, so ging des Helmut Lachenmann in der „Serynade“ um dessen Erhaltung, denn physisch verflüchtigt sich der Klavierton schnell. Er kann weiterwirken, wenn man vor seinem Anschlag Tasten stumm drückt, die seinem Obertonspektrum entsprechen; man erhält dann zarte, farbige Resonanzfelder. Man kann das Haltepedal bedienen, das alle oder gezielt bestimmte Dämpfer aufhebt; dann verfließen die Impulsfolgen, oder es werden einzelne Klänge wie Skulpturen hervorgehoben. Man kann Töne und Klänge mehr oder weniger schnell repetieren. Die „Serynade“ fordert eine exzellente Manual- und Pedaltechnik –im sechsten der sieben Teile, dem Gipfel des Ganzen, auch virtuose Sensibilität für das instrumentale Innenleben.

Übrigens enthalten beide Großtaten sehr persönliche Widmungen. Mit dem Buchstaben, der in Lachenmanns Werktitel vom üblichen Begriff abweicht, beginnt der Vorname seiner Frau Yukiko Sugawara, der er das Werk zueignete. Auf den ersten Takt der „Hammerklaviersonate“ ließ Beethoven in einer Huldigungsmusik „Vivat, vivat, Rodolfo“ singen. Dem Erzherzog Rudolf von Habsburg widmete er sein Opus 106.

Konzertprogramm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Klaviersonate op. 106 B-Dur (1817/18)
„Hammerklaviersonate“

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
Serynade
Musik für Klavier (1997/98)

Besetzung

Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin