Condensation trail of an airplane

Condensation trail of an airplane

Photo anonymous, USA, 1950s

Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Berliner Philharmoniker

Peter Eötvös, conductor
Home Match I

Eötvös, Xenakis and Varèse will take their audience on a journey to Andalusia, America and into the history of Kabbala. The soloist: the outstanding violin player Isabelle Faust.

Introduction 45 minutes before the concert

4 September 2019, 16:30
Parlando – Rubato
Premiere of the new book by Peter Eötvös
Talk with Péter Eötvös and László F. Földényi
Collegium Hungaricum Berlin

Edgard Varèse, the French-Italian composer who lived both in Paris and Berlin, had been living in the US for several years when he wrote his tone poem “Amériques”. He had not yet given up his hope and faith in the land of boundless opportunities. In the “Amériques”, the dissolution of boundaries is the name of the game. The original version, which will be conducted by Peter Eötvös, demands a 140-strong orchestra, including a siren, a ship’s horn, a wind machine and lions’ roars. The border between art and the city, both landmarks of modern life, is deliberately transcended. Varèse composed a vision, powerful in its effect, clearly structured in its form and progression. He created a New World of the imagination, with sounds of reality streaming in.

Peter Eötvös was also guided by his fascination with a different, foreign world when he composed his third violin concerto, a work commissioned by the Foundation Berliner Philharmoniker and Granada Festival, Orchestre de Paris and the BBC Proms. The Alhambra, this magnificent testimony of Spanish-Moorish architecture, the landscape of Andalucia, the light in its skies – all this, the composer explains, is reflected in his work. His predilection for cryptograms led him to initially tie his imagination to the notes of G (for Granada) and the notes that correspond with letters in the word Alhambra, to develop this melodious and virtuoso work from them. The mandolin is a constant companion to the soloist. The concert is similar, says Eötvös, to a tour of the Alhambra and the ideas that it inspired.

The programme is arranged in the form of a great orchestral crescendo. It begins with the sounds of strings. The secret of the far-away place, Jerusalem, and the infernal-divine legends that twine about this holy city inspired the thoughts of Varése’s pupil Iannis Xenakis when he composed “Shaar” for the Testimonium-Festival in Israel in the year 1982.

Concert Programme

Peter Eötvös (*1944)
Alhambra
Concert for violin and orchestra No. 3 (2018)
Joint commission by Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, Granada Festival, Orchestre de Paris and BBC Proms
German Premiere

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
Shaar
for large string orchestra (1983)

Edgard Varèse (1883 – 1965)
Amériques (1st version 1918–1922, rev. 1927)

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Kondenzstreifen eines Flugzeugs

Kondenzstreifen eines Flugzeugs

Foto anonym, USA, 50er Jahre

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Berliner Philharmoniker

Peter Eötvös, Leitung
Heimspiel I

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Konzertbeginn

Parlando – Rubato
Premiere des neuen Buches von Peter Eötvös
am 4.9.2019 um 16:30 im Collegium Hungaricum Berlin

Edgard Varèse, Italo-Franzose mit Paris- und Berlinerfahrung, lebte schon einige Jahre in den USA, als er seine Tondichtung „Amérique“ schrieb. Aber den Glauben, die Hoffnung auf die unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten, die an dem Land gerühmt wurden, hatte er noch nicht aufgegeben. In den „Amériques“ ist Entgrenzung Programm. Die Urfassung, die Peter Eötvös dirigiert, verlangt ein 140-köpfiges Orchester mit Sirene, Schiffshupe, Windmaschine und Löwengebrüll. Bewusst wird die Grenze zwischen Kunst und Stadt, den Wahrzeichen modernen Lebens, übergangen. Eine Vision komponierte Varèse, gewaltig in ihrer Wirkung, klar strukturiert in Form und Verlauf. Er schuf eine Neue Welt der Fantasie, in welche die Realität hereintönt.

Die Faszination der anderen, fremden Welt leitete auch Peter Eötvös bei der Komposition seines dritten Violinkonzerts, eines Auftrags der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gemeinsam mit dem Granada-Festival, dem Orchestre de Paris und den BBC Proms. Die Alhambra, das prächtige Bauzeugnis spanisch-maurischer Kultur, die andalusische Landschaft, das Licht ihres Himmels – all das finde sich, so der Komponist, in seinem Werk wieder. Sein Faible für Kryptogramme führte dazu, dass er seine Fantasie zunächst an die Töne G (Granada) und an die in Noten übersetzbaren Buchstaben von Alhambra band, um aus ihnen das klangvoll-virtuose Werk zu entwickeln. Die Solistin erhält in der Mandoline eine ständige Begleiterin. Das Konzert gleiche, so Eötvös, in einem Rundgang durch die Alhambra und die Ideen, die sie anstieß.

Das Programm ist als großes Orchestercrescendo angelegt. Es beginnt mit dem Streicherklang. Das Geheimnis des fernen Orts, Jerusalem und die teuflisch-göttlichen Legenden, die sich um diese heilige Stadt ranken, führten die Gedanken des Varèse-Schülers Iannis Xenakis, als er „Shaar“ 1982 für das Testimonium-Festival in Israel komponierte.

Konzertprogramm

Peter Eötvös (*1944)
Alhambra
Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 3 (2018)
Auftragswerk der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gemeinsam mit dem Granada Festival, dem Orchestre de Paris und den BBC Proms
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
Shaar
für großes Streichorchester (1983)

Edgard Varèse (1883 – 1965)
Amériques (1. Fassung 1918 – 1922, rev. 1927)

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin