Mary Jameson reads Anthony Trollpoes The Warden with the help of an optophone, ca. 1921

Mary Jameson reads Anthony Trollpoes “The Warden” with the help of an optophone, ca. 1921

Photo: Blind Veterans UK

Concert / Lieder Recital

Georg Nigl & Olga Pashchenko

Lieder Recital

There is always a suspenseful dialogue between lyrics and music in Wolfgang Rihm’s lieder. Georg Nigl and Olg Pashchenko will frame the composer’s new work with Beethoven’s lied cycle “An die ferne Geliebte” and late Schubert-lieder.

19:10 work introduction

Wolfgang Rihm always preserved an immediate, unbroken relationship with singing. Even in works that did not involve human voices, he liked the music “to sing”. Vocal works from lied via choir pieces and oratory works to grand operas take pride of place in his oeuvre. The lied cycle “Vermischter Traum”, commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin and dedicated to Georg Nigl, was the first work Rihm wrote after a severe illness, probably even before the ordeal of convalescence was quite over. He chose verses by the Baroque poet Andreas Gryphius, who wrote during the catastrophe of the Thirty Years’ War. He took them as a challenge to ask questions and to concentrate – on the essential, the truly moving, regardless of whether he found it in heaven, on earth or on the brink of the abyss.

In Rihm’s lieder, words and music are always engaged in a dialogue; they query and doubt, carry each other and correspond like two individuals who have something to sing and to say to each other. Georg Nigl and Olga Pashchenko encompass this new work with Beethoven’s most advance lied cycle, which was also regarded as a confession, and with lieder by Franz Schubert that look outwards – to where the circumstances’ constraints lose their power.

Concert Programme

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Die Taubenpost – Die Forelle – Der Wanderer an den Mond – Das Zügenglöcklein – Im Freien – Die Sommernacht – Abendstern – Fischerweise (1816 to 1828)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
An die ferne Geliebte op.98 (1816)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Vermischter Traum
Gryphius piece for baritone and piano (2017)
Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin
World Premiere

Franz Schubert
Der Winterabend – Die Sterne – An die Musik – Abschied (1816 – 1828)

Cast

Georg Nigl baritone
Olga Pashchenko piano

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Mary Jameson liest Anthony Trollpoes The Warden mit Hilfe eines Optophon, ca. 1921

Mary Jameson liest Anthony Trollpoes „The Warden“ mit Hilfe eines Optophon, ca. 1921

Foto: Blind Veterans UK

Konzert / Liederabend

Georg Nigl & Olga Pashchenko

Liederabend

In Rihms Liedern führen Worte und Musik stets einen spannungsreichen Dialog. Georg Nigl und Olga Pashchenko umgeben dessen neues Werk mit Beethovens Liederzyklus „An die ferne Geliebte“ sowie späten Liedern von Schubert.

Zum Gesang bewahrte sich Wolfgang Rihm ein unmittelbares, ungebrochenes Verhältnis. Auch dort, wo menschliche Stimmen nicht beteiligt sind, habe er es gern, „wenn es singt“. Vokalwerke vom Lied über Chorstücke und oratorische Werke bis zu den großen Opern nehmen in seinem Œuvre einen stolzen Raum ein. Den Liederzyklus „Vermischter Traum“, ein Kompositionsauftrag der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin und Georg Nigl gewidmet, schrieb Rihm als erstes Werk nach schwerer Krankheit, wohl noch ehe die Geduldsprobe der Rekonvaleszenz ganz überstanden war. Er wählte Verse von Andreas Gryphius, dem Barockdichter, der im Zeichen einer Katastrophe, des Dreißigjährigen Kriegs, dichtete. Er nahm sie als Aufforderung, Fragen zu stellen und sich zu konzentrieren – auf das Wesentliche, wirklich Bewegende, ob er dies nun im Himmel, auf Erden oder am Abgrund fand.

In Rihms Liedern führen Worte und Musik stets einen Dialog, befragen, bezweifeln, tragen sich und korrespondieren wie zwei, die sich etwas zu singen und zu sagen haben. Georg Nigl und Olga Pashchenko umgeben das neue Werk mit Beethovens avanciertestem Liederzyklus, in dem man auch ein Selbstbekenntnis sah, und mit Liedern von Franz Schubert, die hinausblicken – dorthin, wo die Enge der Verhältnisse ihre Kraft verliert.

Konzertprogramm

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Die Taubenpost – Die Forelle – Der Wanderer an den Mond – Das Zügenglöcklein – Im Freien – Die Sommernacht – Abendstern – Fischerweise (1816 bis 1828)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
An die ferne Geliebte op.98 (1816)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Vermischter Traum
Gryhius-Stück für Bariton und Klavier (2017)
Kompositionsauftrag der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin
Uraufführung

Franz Schubert
Der Winterabend – Die Sterne – An die Musik – Abschied (1816 – 1828)

Besetzung

Georg Nigl Bariton
Olga Pashchenko Klavier

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin