World premiere of Alfred Schnittke’s First Symphonie in 1974

World premiere of Alfred Schnittke’s First Symphonie in 1974

Photo: With kind permission of Natalia Pavlutskaya

Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Münchner Philharmoniker

Valery Gergiev, conductor
Visiting: Munich

Valery Gergiev continues his series of Bruckner-interpretations with the composer’s long underappreciated Sixth Symphony. Together with Münchner Philharmoniker, he will present the work in combination with Schnittke’s monumental and pluralistic First Symphony.

Bruckner was returning from a journey, his only truly long journey, when we wrote his Sixth Symphony. Maybe that is why it is so very different from the others: less monumental, more flowing, with only very few of the notorious reverberating pauses that we like to count among his style characteristics. Maybe that is why the work stood in the shadow of its neighbours for so long: the artful sound cathedral of the Fifth and the music of life and hope that is the Seventh, with a mourning ribbon in its slow movement. In recent years, however, there have been some changes in the reception of Bruckner. Almost as if the international elite of conductors had agreed to no longer neglect this jewel, the Symphony in A Major has suddenly been receiving more attention.

Valery Gergiev, who can build his interpretation on a long and special Bruckner-tradition in Munich, prefaces the Sixth with a similarly expansive work: Alfred Schnittke’s “First Symphony”, composed in the early 1970s. “A work”, as the composer says, “in which I experimented a great deal. For instance, there are hard, aggressive variations on ‘Dies irae’ with a massive tonal language. You cannot hear it clearly at first, but then it becomes clearer and clearer, turns into a grid for a twelve-tone row and suddenly I take two tones that are accidentally identical to a popular song and then there’s a little fragment of this pop song and the whole thing topples over into banality, which, in fact, is not so wrong at all, because ‘Dies irae’ and banality, there is a connection there. – Connections of motive are always very important … and a twelve-tone row is not enough. It must soon be time for a different kind of thinking about motive, a kind that is much more pluralistic.” It was.

Concert Programme

Alfred Schnittke (1934 – 1998)
Symphony No. 1 (1972 – 1974)

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)
Symphony No. 6 in A major (1881)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Uraufführung der Ersten Symphonie Alfred Schnittkes 1974

Uraufführung der Ersten Symphonie Alfred Schnittkes 1974

Foto: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Natalia Pavlutskaya

Konzert
Gastorchester

Münchner Philharmoniker

Valery Gergiev, Leitung
Gastspiel: München

Mit Bruckners lange verkannten Sechsten Symphonie setzt Valery Gergiev seine Bruckner-Interpretationen mit den Münchner Philharmonikern beim Musikfest Berlin fort und kombiniert sie mit Schnittkes monumentaler pluralistischen Ersten Symphonie.

19:10 Einführung

Bruckner kam von einer Reise zurück, von seiner einzig wirklich langen Reise, als er seine Sechste Symphonie schrieb. Vielleicht geriet sie deshalb so anders als die anderen, weniger monumental, fließender, fast ohne die notorischen Nachhallpausen, die man so gern zu seinen Stilmerkmalen rechnet. Vielleicht stand sie deshalb auch so lange im Schatten ihrer Nachbarinnen, der Fünften, dieser kunstreichen Klangkathedrale, und der Siebenten, dieser Lebens- und Hoffnungsmusik mit Trauerband im langsamen Satz. In den letzten Jahren aber hat sich in der Bruckner-Rezeption einiges geändert. Die A-Dur-Symphonie fand auf einmal mehr Aufmerksamkeit, als hätte sich die internationale Dirigentenelite abgesprochen, dieses Juwel nicht länger links liegen zu lassen.

Valery Gergiev, der bei seiner Interpretation auf einer langen, besonderen Bruckner-Tradition in München aufbauen kann, schickt der Sechsten ein ähnlich ausgreifendes Werk voraus, Alfred Schnittkes „Erste Symphonie“, die in den frühen 1970er Jahren komponiert wurde – „ein Werk“, so der Komponist, „in dem ich viel ausprobiert habe. Da kommen zum Beispiel harte, aggressive und tonsprachlich massive Variationen über das ,Dies irae‘ vor. Man hört es zuerst nicht deutlich, dann wird es immer deutlicher, wird zu einem Raster für eine Zwölftonreihe, und auf einmal nehme ich zwei Töne davon, die zufällig mit einem Schlager identisch sind, und es komm plötzlich ein Stückchen von diesem Schlager, und das Ganze kippt um in Banalität, was eigentlich gar nicht so falsch ist, denn ,Dies irae‘ und teuflische Banalität, das hat eine Verbindung. – Motivische Zusammenhänge sind immer sehr wichtig … und da kann man mit einer Zwölftonreihe nicht auskommen. Es muss doch wieder ein anderes motivisches Denken kommen, das viel pluralistischer ist“. Es kam.

Konzertprogramm

Alfred Schnittke (1934 – 1998)
Symphonie Nr. 1 (1972 – 1974)

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)
Symphonie Nr. 6 A-Dur (1881)

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin