Fernando Pessoa’s property chest

Fernando Pessoa’s property chest

Photo: arquivopessoa.net

Concert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard III

Pierre-Laurent Aimard & Yuko Kakuta

Piano & Voice

For this concert, two virtuoso artistic personalities have joined forces: the soprano singer Yuko Kakuta and pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard. They will leave the path well-travelled with both Schubert’s “Fantasie” in G major for piano and Lachenmann’s “Got Lost” for soprano and piano.

Schubert is a realm of longing. It is hard to think of any exponent of modernism or avant-garde who has not referred to him at some point. At the beginning of his Sonata in G major, the composer seems to be harkening to the fading of the first, quiet chord in quite a Lachenmannesque manner, trying to prevent its disappearance with a touch of melody: the first movement is marked “cantabile”. The finale begins in a way that suggests that the composer is searching for his theme and finds it through sheer persistence. In the second movement, the theme keeps escaping into other directions: The lure of the possible replaces the desire for the definitive. In his thinking, Schubert is circling the end of self-certainty, but not of self-assertion.

For the conclusion of his exemplary passage through the great piano works of the last two centuries, Pierre-Laurent Aimard will bring in the human voice – or rather, a partner with a trained voice, who will apply her mouth in a wide variety of everyday culture and artifice, even encroaching on the piano’s resonance space. Two virtuosos are at work here, but, as is often the case in Lachenmann’s work, virtuosity begins with listening and impulsive dialogue. The composer did not glean the title from the artistic texts of Nietzsche and Pessoa, but rather from a notice of loss. One could attach the final letter of the German title to its first word (Lachenmann is an excellent chess-player). Then we would be rid of god (German: gottlos) and the search could begin.

Concert Programme

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Piano Sonata in G major op. 78, “Fantasie” (1827)

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
GOT LOST
Music for high soprano and piano (2007/08)
Texts by Friedrich Nietzsche, Fernando Pessoa and an advertisement

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Fernando Pessoas Nachlasstruhe

Fernando Pessoas Nachlasstruhe

Foto: arquivopessoa.net

Konzert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard III

Pierre-Laurent Aimard & Yuko Kakuta

Klavier & Stimme

Mit der Sopranistin Yuko Kakuta und dem Pianisten Pierre-Laurent Aimard haben sich zwei virtuose Künstler*innenpersönlichkeiten zusammengetan. Ausgetretene Pfade verlassen Schuberts „Fantasie“ in G-Dur für Klavier ebenso wie Lachenmanns Musik für Sopran und Klavier „Got Lost“.

19:10 Einführung

Schubert ist Sehnsuchtsland. Kaum ein Exponent der Moderne oder der Avantgarde, der sich nicht irgendwann auf ihn bezogen hätte. Der Anfang seiner G-Dur-Sonate wirkt, als horche der Komponist ganz Lachenmannisch in das Verklingen des ersten, leisen Akkords hinein und versuche, das Verschwinden durch einen Anflug von Melodie aufzuhalten: Cantabile steht über dem ersten Satz. Das Finale beginnt, als suche der Komponist nach seinem Thema – er findet es durch Beharrlichkeit; und im zweiten Satz büxt das Thema immer wieder in andere Richtungen aus, der Reiz des Möglichen ersetzt das Verlangen nach Definitivem. Schubert umkreist in Gedanken das Ende der Selbstgewissheit, damit aber nicht auch das Ende der Selbstbehauptung.

Zum Abschluss seiner exemplarischen Passage durch die großen Klavierwerke der letzten zweihundert Jahre zieht Pierre-Laurent Aimard die menschliche Stimme hinzu, besser gesagt: eine Partnerin mit ausgebildeter Stimme, die ihr Mundwerk in alltagskultureller und artifizieller Vielfalt einsetzen und auch den Resonanzraum des Klaviers in Anspruch nehmen wird. Zwei Virtuosen sind am Werk, aber die Virtuosität beginnt, wie meist bei Lachenmann, mit dem Hören und dem impulsiven Dialog. Den Titel gewann der Komponist nicht aus den Kunsttexten von Nietzsche und Pessoa, sondern aus einer Verlustanzeige. Man könnten den letzten Buchstaben des Titels an dessen erstes Wort hängen (Lachenmann ist ein brillanter Sprachspieler). Dann ist man Gott los, und die Suche kann beginnen.

Konzertprogramm

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Klaviersonate G-Dur op. 78, „Fantasie“ (1827)

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
GOT LOST
Musik für hohen Sopran und Klavier (2007/08)
Texte von Friedrich Nietzsche, Fernando Pessoa und einer Annonce

Besetzung

Yuko Kakuta Sopran
Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin