Graffiti Casa di Giulietta, Verona

Graffiti Casa di Giulietta, Verona

Photo: https://voteformytrio.wordpress.com

Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding, conductor
Home Match II

Hector Berlioz’ “Roméo et Juliette”, presented by Berliner Philharmoniker and Rundfunkchor Berlin and conducted by Daniel Harding, is a dramatic symphony with choir. Its fantastic boldness and daring combinations already stimulated the ears of Richard Wagner.

Introduction 45 minutes before the concert

“I saw love created at the speed of a thought, burning like lava, imperious, irresistible, powerful and pure and beauteous like an angel’s smile; I witnessed those raging scenes of revenge, those ardent embraces, those desperate struggles of love and of death. It was too much and as early as the third act, breathing laboriously and suffering as if an iron hand had seized my heart, I said to myself with full conviction: ‘Alas! I am lost!’” This is how Hector Berlioz described his experience of Shakespeare’s “Romeo and Juliet” in his memoirs after seeing a performance by an English theatre company in Paris. And that was not all. “I had just experienced Shakespeare and shortly afterwards, I saw the mighty Beethoven arise at a different point of the horizon. I was almost as overcome as after seeing Shakespeare. He opened up a new world in music to me, just like the poet had unveiled a new universe in poetry.”

Twelve years were to pass before Hector Berlioz was able to sublimate his agitation into a composition – “Roméo et Juliette”, a full-length “dramatic symphony”. This form has never otherwise existed, neither before nor after. Sometimes the music resembles the choric recitative of an old passion, sometimes a lied , at others an opera in the conversational style, or a veritable duel of opera choirs. Only one role is actually embodied by a singer – and not one of the protagonists, but rather that of the go-between, Father Lorenzo, who is on the lovers’ side. Most of the events occur in the music alone, symphonically in all types of movement that the genre provides. This complete work of art appeals to all forms of perception: the concrete, which is dominated by the word, and the abstract, as demanded by music. Only the most concrete of all perceptions, the visual, is left to the imagination by the composer.

Concert Programme

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Roméo et Juliette
Symphonie dramatique
for solos, choir and orchestra op. 17 (1839)
Text by Émile Deschamps based on William Shakespeare

Cast

N.N. mezzo soprano
Andrew Staples tenor
Shenyang bass baritone

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars vocal coach

Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Harding conductor

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Graffiti Casa di Giulietta, Verona

Graffiti Casa di Giulietta, Verona

Foto: https://voteformytrio.wordpress.com

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding, Leitung
Heimspiel II

Mit Berliozʼ „Roméo et Juliette“ präsentieren die Berliner Philharmoniker, der Rundfunkchor Berlin und Daniel Harding eine dramatische Symphonie mit Chor. Deren phantastische Kühnheit und gewagte Kombinationen haben schon die Ohren Richard Wagners angeregt.

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Konzertbeginn

„Ich sah die Liebe, die so rasch wie ein Gedanke entsteht, die wie Lava brennt, die gebieterisch, unwiderstehlich, gewaltig und rein und schön wie eines Engels Lächeln ist; ich war Zeuge jener wütenden Racheszenen, jener glühenden Umarmungen, jener verzweifelten Kämpfe der Liebe und des Todes. Das war zu viel, und schon im dritten Aufzug, nur mühsam atmend und leidend, als ob eine eiserne Hand mein Herz umklammerte, sagte ich mit voller Überzeugung zu mir selbst: ,Ach! Ich bin verloren!‘“ So erlebte Hector Berlioz seinen Memoiren zufolge Shakespeares „Romeo and Juliet“, gespielt von einer englischen Theatertruppe in Paris. Damit nicht genug. „Soeben hatte ich Shakespeare erlebt; kurz darauf sah ich an einem anderen Punkt des Horizonts den gewaltigen Beethoven auftauchen. Er erschütterte mich fast so stark, wie Shakespeare es getan hatte. Er eröffnete mir in der Musik eine neue Welt, wie der Dichter mir in der Poesie ein neues Weltall enthüllt hatte.“

Ein Dutzend Jahre dauerte es, bis Hector Berlioz die Erschütterungen zu einer Komposition sublimieren konnte – zu „Roméo et Juliette“, einer abendfüllenden „Dramatischen Symphonie“. Die Form gab und gibt es sonst nicht. Manches lässt er als chorisches Rezitativ singen wie in einer alten Passion, manches wie ein Lied, anderes wie Oper im Konversationsstil oder wie ein veritables Opernchorduell. Nur eine Rolle ist mit einem Sänger besetzt: nicht die der Protagonisten, sondern diejenige des Vermittlers, des Paters Lorenzo, der auf der Seite der Liebenden steht. Das meiste ereignet sich allein in Musik, symphonisch in allen Satztypen, die das Genre zur Verfügung stellt. Das Gesamtkunstwerk appelliert an alle Formen der Wahrnehmung: der konkreten, bei der das Wort dominiert, und der abstrakten, wie sie die Musik verlangt. Nur die allerkonkreteste, die visuelle, überlässt der Komponist der Fantasie.

Konzertprogramm

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Roméo et Juliette
Symphonie dramatique
für Soli, Chöre und Orchester op. 17 (1839)
Text von Émile Deschamps nach William Shakespeare

Besetzung

N.N. Mezzosopran
Andrew Staples Tenor
Shenyang Bassbariton

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars Einstudierung

Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Harding Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin