Fernand Léger, La Roue, film poster 1924

Fernand Léger, “La Roue”, film poster 1924

© Collection Fondation Pathé

Film & Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Frank Strobel, conductor
Gendarmenmarkt II
La Roue – Première mondiale
9 hours of film and music at Konzerthaus Berlin

With the pioneering work of cinematic art “La Roue” (1923), Musikfest Berlin continues its exploration of the silent films of Abel Gance: The restored version with music by Arthur Honegger / Paul Fosse will be presented by the experts for film and music projects of Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester and Frank Strobel.

  • 9 h, 3 intervals

Following Abel Gance’s “J’accuse” (1918), the first ever anti-war film, which included original footage from the front lines, Musikfest Berlin 2019 will present its next Gance-feature: “La Roue”, a film about a railwayman who, after an accident, takes in and raises a little girl, and about the love tribulations that surround her.

If you look it up, you will find that the opus is stated to be around 270 minutes long. The restored version that will celebrate its world premiere at Musikfest Berlin, is significantly longer – around seven hours. For the 1923 premiere, Arthur Honegger and the Gaumont Palace’s cinema bandleader, Paul Fosse, compiled a score, drawing on more than 100 existing pieces of music. Honegger complemented it by composing the overture and five short pieces. The performance of this second Abel Gance-film is the result of a cooperation by many partners: Firstly, there is the film’s restoration, produced by the Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathe. Equally important is the reconstruction of the premiere’s score, which was undertaken by composer Bernd Thewes from Mainz. He achieved the feat of finding a coherent synchronised arrangement for the 117 pieces of music and to create a congenial orchestration that brings them back together to form a great work. And not to forget the musical realisation by the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester under the direction of Frank Strobel. Together, they have performed several film scores already, unearthing one or two treasures of the era of silent films in the process.

“La Roue” is a pioneering film of virtuoso cinematography and shot changes. Together with Honegger’s music, it is a model for cooperation among the best in their fields in the service of this then fledgling medium.

Programme

Abel Gance (1889 – 1981)
La Roue (The Wheel) (1923)
Silent film by Abel Gance with the film music by Arthur Honegger and Paul Fosse
World Premiere of the reconstructed and restored film and music version

Part I 14:00 – 16:00
Interval
Part II 16:30 – 18:30
Interval
Part III 19:30 – 21:05
Interval
Part IV 21:35 – 23:00

Cast

Abel Gance Drehbuch und Regie
Arthur Honegger / Paul Fosse music
Gaston Brun, Marc Bujard, Léonce-Henri Burel, Maurice Duverger camera
Marguerite Beaugé, Abel Gance editing
Bernd Thewes music reconstruction
François Ede film reconstruction
Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé production of the film reconstruction

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Frank Strobel conductor

A co-production of Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé, ZDF / ARTE, Deutschlandfunk Kultur and Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
A Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin with kind support of Yorck Kinogruppe

Logo Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé     Logo Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     Yorck Kinogruppe

arte     Logo ZDF

Fernand Léger, La Roue, Filmplakat 1924

Fernand Léger, „La Roue“, Filmplakat 1924

© Collection Fondation Pathé

Film & Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Frank Strobel, Leitung
Gendarmenmarkt II
La Roue – Première mondiale
9 Stunden Film und Musik im Konzerthaus Berlin

  • 9 h, drei Pausen

Nach Abel Gances „J’accuse“ von 1918, den ersten Antikriegsfilm, produziert unter anderem aus Originalmaterial von der Front, präsentiert das Musikfest Berlin 2019 das nächste Gance-Projekt: „La Roue“, der Film über einen Eisenbahner, der nach einem Unfall ein kleines Mädchen zu sich nimmt und aufzieht, und über die Wirrungen der Liebe um sie.

Schlägt man nach, so wird die Länge des Opus mit gut 270 Minuten angegeben. Die restaurierte Fassung, die beim Musikfest Berlin ihre Weltpremiere erlebt, dauert wesentlich länger, an die sieben Stunden. Für die Premiere 1923 stellte Arthur Honegger mit dem Kinokapellmeister des Gaumont Palace, Paul Fosse, eine Kino-Musik unter Rückgriff auf über 100 bestehende Musiken zusammen und komponierte dazu die Ouvertüre und 5 kurze Stücke. Die Aufführung dieses zweiten Abel Gance-Films ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit von vielen: Da ist zunächst die Restaurierung des Films, die von der Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathe produziert wurde. Ebenso zentral ist Rekonstruktion der Premierenmusik, für die der Mainzer Komponist Bernd Thewes verantwortlich zeichnet. Ihm gelang es, für die 117 Stücke eine schlüssige Synchroneinrichtung zu finden und sie in einer kongenialen Orchestrierung zu einem großen Werk wieder zusammenzuführen. Nicht zu vergessen, die musikalische Realisation durch das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters unter der Leitung von Frank Strobel, die zusammen schon manches Film-Musik-Projekt aufgeführt und dabei den einen oder anderen Schatz aus der Ära des Stummfilms gehoben haben.

„La Roue“ ist ein Pionierfilm virtuoser Kameraführung und Einstellungswechsel; zusammen mit Honeggers Musik ein Beispiel für die Kooperation der Besten ihres Fachs im Dienste des damals neuen Mediums.

Programm

Abel Gance (1889 – 1981)
La Roue (Das Rad) (1923)
Stummfilm von Abel Gance mit der Filmmusik von Arthur Honegger und Paul Fosse
Weltpremiere der rekonstruierten und restaurierten Film- und Musikfassung

Teil I 14:00 – 16:00
Pause
Teil II 16:30 – 18:30
Pause
Teil III 19:30 – 21:05
Pause
Teil IV 21:35 – 23:00

Besetzung

Abel Gance Drehbuch und Regie
Arthur Honegger / Paul Fosse Musik
Gaston Brun, Marc Bujard, Léonce-Henri Burel, Maurice Duverger Kamera
Marguerite Beaugé, Abel Gance Schnitt
Bernd Thewes Musikrekonstruktion
François Ede Filmrekonstruktion
Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé Produktion der Filmrestaurierung

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Frank Strobel Leitung

Eine Koproduktion von Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé, ZDF / ARTE, Deutschlandfunk Kultur und Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Eine Veranstaltung des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Yorck Kinogruppe

Logo Fondation Jérôme Seydoux-Pathé     Logo Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     Yorck Kinogruppe

arte     Logo ZDF