Paris viewed from the top of the Centre Pompidou

Paris viewed from the top of the Centre Pompidou

© private

Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Les Siècles

François-Xavier Roth, conductor
Visiting: Paris

Les Siècles – this orchestra’s name is its programme. Authenticity is key: Music from various centuries is interpreted on instruments from the respective eras. The concert at Musikfest Berlin will feature works by Rameau, Berlioz and Lachenmann.

19:10 introduction

In 2003, François-Xavier Roth founded the orchestra Les Siècles (The Centuries). His aspiration: All works were to be played on instruments that would have been customary at the time of their creation and first performance. The orchestral suite from Jean-Philippe Rameau’s musical and theatrical world-trip “Les Indes Galantes” will be interpreted on historical instruments from around the year 1750. Hector Berlioz’ symphony with viola solo was inspired by a literary source and written for the demonic violin virtuoso Niccolò Paganini, who wished for once to excel at the lower string instrument. It will be performed on French instruments from the mid-19th century. Helmut Lachenmann’s “Mouvement (- vor der Erstarrung)” will be played on modern instruments.

These three composers were and are musical thinkers and fantasists, each in their own way. Their thinking in and about music is equally precise, far-sighted and convincing; their imagination transcends what already exists with every work, saving itself and the music from torpor. Conjecture about how music might be played in Turkey or Peru provided Rameau with unheard-of ideas on harmony and instrumentation. In his “Harold”-symphony, Berlioz found prototypical phrases of romantic musical language, integrating a stylised folkloristic sound and the chorale of (and in) nature like gleaming inlays. In “Mouvement”, Helmut Lachenmann poses the vital question of music as the work’s central concern, guiding “perception towards the anatomy of the [musical] manifestation”, where entirely familiar elements appear as something completely bewildering. The design of Les Siècles’ programme and sound reflects what is on Lachenmann’s mind: the materiality of music – and that includes everything that is heard – as its spiritual substance.

Concert Programme

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683 – 1764)
Orchestra Suite from Les Indes Galantes (1735)
on historic instrument from the year 1750

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
Mouvement (– vor der Erstarrung)
for ensemble (1982 – 1984)
on modern instruments

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Harold en Italie op. 16
Symphony in four parts with concert viola (1834)
Based on Lord Byrons “Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage”
on historic instrument from the year 1850

Cast

Tabea Zimmermann viola

Les Siècles
François-Xavier Roth conductor

The orchestra Les Siècles will be performing at Musikfest Berlin and in the Berlin Philharmonie for the first time.

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Paris vom Dach des Centre Pompidou aus gesehen

Paris vom Dach des Centre Pompidou aus gesehen

© privat

Konzert
Gastorchester

Les Siècles

François-Xavier Roth, Leitung
Gastspiel: Paris

Les Siècles – der Name dieses Orchesters ist Programm. Es geht um Authentizität: Musik aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten werden auf den jeweiligen Instrumenten der Zeit interpretiert. Im Konzert beim Musikfest Berlin sind es die Werke von Rameau, Berlioz und Lachenmann.

2003 gründete François-Xavier Roth das Orchester Les Siècles (Die Jahrhunderte). Sein Anspruch: Alle Werke sollen auf den Instrumenten erklingen, die zur Zeit ihrer Entstehung und Uraufführung üblich waren. Die Orchestersuite aus Jean-Philippe Rameaus musikalisch-theatralischer Weltreise „Les Indes Galantes“ wird auf historischen Instrumenten rund um das Jahr 1750 interpretiert; Hector Berlioz’ literarisch angeregte Symphonie mit Solobratsche, geschrieben für den Teufelsgeiger Niccolò Paganini, der einmal eine Etage tiefer im Streicherreich brillieren wollte, wird auf französischen Instrumenten aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, Helmut Lachenmanns „Mouvement (– vor der Erstarrung)“ auf modernen Instrumenten gespielt.

Die drei Komponisten waren und sind, jeder auf seine Art, Musikdenker und Fantasten. Sie denken in und über Musik gleichermaßen genau, weitblickend und überzeugend nach, ihre Vorstellungskraft geht mit jedem Werk über das Vorhandene hinaus, bewahrt sich und die Musik dadurch vor der Erstarrung. Die Mutmaßung, wie in der Türkei oder Peru musiziert werden könnte, brachte Rameau auf unerhörte harmonische und instrumentatorische Ideen. Berlioz fand in seiner „Harold“-Symphonie prototypische Wendungen romantischer Musiksprachlichkeit, in die sich stilisierter Volkston und der Choral (in) der Natur wie Intarsien mit Strahlkraft einfügen. Helmut Lachenmann macht in „Mouvement“ die Schicksalsfrage der Musik zum Anliegen des Werkes und lenkt so „die Wahrnehmung auf die Anatomie des [musikalischen] Geschehens“, in die ganz Vertrautes als völlig Befremdendes hineintanzt. In der Programm- und Klanggestaltung von Les Siècles scheint wider, was Lachenmann bewegt: die Materialität der Musik – und dazu gehört alles, was klingend der Fall ist – als ihr geistiger Gehalt.

Konzertprogramm

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683 – 1764)
Orchestersuite aus Les Indes Galantes (1735)
auf historischen Instrumenten aus dem Jahr 1750

Helmut Lachenmann (*1935)
Mouvement (– vor der Erstarrung)
für Ensemble (1982 – 1984)
auf modernen Instrumenten

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Harold en Italie op. 16
Symphonie in vier Teilen mit konzertanter Viola (1834)
Nach Lord Byrons Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage
auf historischen Instrumenten aus dem Jahr 1850

Besetzung

Tabea Zimmermann Viola

Les Siècles
François-Xavier Roth Leitung

Das Orchester Les Siècles gastiert erstmals beim Musikfest Berlin und in der Berliner Philharmonie.

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin