Exhibitions, Guided Tours, Workshops, Performance, Artist Talk

Gropius Bau – A New Experience

Day 1

12:00–18:00 | Performance: Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow: Germination (EN)
13:00 | Workshop: The Space and Me (DE)
14:00 | Architecture Tour (DE)
15:30 | Workshop: The Space and Me (DE)
16:00 | Architecture Tour (EN)
17:00 | Artist Talk: In House: Artist in Residence with Otobong Nkanga, Maya Tounta and Stephanie Rosenthal (EN)

Within the framework of a two-day event programme, the public is invited to explore the newly conceived building on 23 and 24 March. From that date, the atrium will be freely accessible to the public as part of the new vision for the Gropius Bau. With the newly introduced House Ticket, the Gropius Bau’s first exhibition in 2019, And Berlin Will Always Need You. Art, Craft and Concept Made in Berlin, and Museum in My Head. Artist Books – Walther König Bookshop, an exhibition curated by the Walther König bookshop, can also be visited on this weekend. The ticket is available for the first time, allowing access to all exhibitions currently on view.

Atrium

Atrium

Photo: Mathias Völzke

Past Dates

Day-ticket to all exhibitions € 15 / reduced € 10

In the atrium a site-specific installation by Chiharu Shiota, internationally renowned for her complex installations crafted from webs of yarn, will be shown as part of the exhibition And Berlin Will Always Need You. The large-scale installation Beyond Memory will be the first of a series of artworks hosted within the atrium beginning in March 2019.

Beba, the new restaurant at the Gropius Bau, is a partnership between Cynthia Barcomi, Shani Leiderman and Infarm. The creative and colourful, vegetable-focused menu is inspired by ancient Jewish cuisines from around the world. The restaurant features a beautiful indoor vertical garden with a large assortment of herbs and leafy greens, harvested minutes before serving.

The Walther König Bookshop, which has grown to become an integral part of the Gropius Bau, reopens at the start of the 2019 exhibition season. Alongside postcards, prints and a selection of artistic shop items, König continues to focus on presenting a wide variety of books ranging from international exhibition catalogues on art and photography, architecture and fashion, to international contemporary discourse. Furthermore, the Walther König Bookshop curated the exhibition Museum in My Head. Artist Books – Walther König Bookshop, which acknowledges the artist book as an art object in and of itself that produces special forms of knowledge and creation.

For the opening, the Gropius Bau’s new artist in residence, Otobong Nkanga, will present the third part of her project, Carved to Flow, a model for a self-sustaining artwork. During her residency, the Gropius Bau will become the hub of this ongoing project, which began at documenta 14 in 2017 with a lab, a public programme and the production of a marbled soap, O8 Black Stone. Throughout the project’s three phases – The Laboratory, Warehouse and Distribution and Germination – Otobong Nkanga explores how body and landscape are interdependent, and consequently how they are affected by extractive capitalism. The third phase Carved to Flow: Germination will unfold in Otobong Nkanga’s ground-floor space at the Gropius Bau.

The opening weekend 23–24 March is sponsored by Audi.

Logo Audi City Berlin

Lichthof

Lichthof

Foto: Mathias Völzke

Ausstellungen, Führungen, Workshops, Performance, Artist Talk

Gropius Bau neu erleben

Tag 1

12:00–18:00 | Performance: Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow: Germination (EN)
13:00 | Workshop: Der Raum und Ich (DE)
14:00 | Architekturführung (DE)
15:30 | Workshop: Der Raum und Ich (DE)
16:00 | Architekturführung (EN)
17:00 | Artist Talk: In House: Artist in Residence mit Otobong Nkanga, Maya Tounta und Stephanie Rosenthal (EN)

Am 23. und 24. März lädt der Gropius Bau seine Besucher*innen ein, das umgestaltete Gebäude im Rahmen eines zweitägigen Veranstaltungsprogramms neu zu entdecken. Der Lichthof wird als Bestandteil dieser Neukonzeption in Zukunft für die Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich sein. An beiden Tagen ist auch die neu eröffnete Ausstellung And Berlin Will Always Need You und die von der Buchhandlung Walther König kuratierte Ausstellung Museum im Kopf. Künstler*innenbücher – Buchhandlung Walther König zu sehen. An diesem Wochenende ist zum ersten Mal das neue Hausticket erhältlich, mit dem ab sofort sämtliche Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen im Gropius Bau zugänglich sind.

Im Lichthof wird als Teil der Ausstellung And Berlin Will Always Need You eine auf diesen besonderen Ort eingehende Installation von Chiharu Shiota zu sehen sein, die international für ihre komplexen Werke aus verwobenen Garnnetzen bekannt ist. Die großformatige Installation mit dem Titel Beyond Memory ist die erste einer Reihe von künstlerischen Arbeiten, die ab März 2019 im Lichthof zu sehen sein werden.

Beba, das neue Restaurant im Gropius Bau, ist eine Partnerschaft zwischen Cynthia Barcomi, Shani Leiderman und Infarm. Beba wird hausgerösteten Kaffee und Gebäck anbieten, zusammen mit kreativen und farbenfrohen Gerichten. Die Speisekarte ist von traditionellen jüdischen Rezepten inspiriert und basiert auf Frische, Vielfalt und Nachhaltigkeit. In einem vertikalen Garten im Restaurant werden einzigartige und köstliche Blattgemüse aus aller Welt angebaut, die wenige Minuten vor dem Verzehr geerntet werden.

Die Buchhandlung Walther König gehört zum gewachsenen und festen Bestandteil des Gropius Bau. Zum Start des Ausstellungsjahrs 2019 präsentiert König seine Bücher, Postkarten, Drucke und Artshop-Artikel in neu gestalteten Räumlichkeiten am gewohnten Ort. Außerdem wird die von der Buchhandlung Walther König kuratierte Ausstellung Museum im Kopf. Künstler*innenbücher – Buchhandlung Walther König zu sehen sein, die das Sammeln und Archivieren thematisiert. Dabei wird das Künstler*innenbuch als eigenständiges Kunstobjekt betrachtet, das spezielle Formen des Wissens und der Kreation hervorbringt.

Zur Eröffnung stellt Otobong Nkanga als neue Artist in Residence den dritten Teil ihres Projekts Carved to Flow vor. Während ihres Aufenthalts wird der Gropius Bau zum Mittelpunkt dieses fortlaufenden Projekts, das 2017 auf der documenta 14 mit einem Labor, einem öffentlichen Programm und der Herstellung einer marmorierten Seife namens O8 Black Stone begann. Während der drei Projektphasen – The Laboratory, Warehouse and Distribution und Germination – lotet Otobong Nkanga nicht nur die wechselseitigen Abhängigkeiten von Körper und Landschaft aus, sondern zeigt auch auf, wie der extraktive Kapitalismus auf diese einwirkt. Die dritte Phase, Carved to Flow: Germination, wird ab dem 22. März 2019 in Otobong Nkangas Raum im Erdgeschoss des Gropius Bau zu sehen sein.

Das Eröffnungswochenende 23.–24. März wird unterstützt von Audi.

Audi City Berlin