Hotel Strindberg. Video trailer

© Burgtheater, Vienna / Theater Basel

Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Hotel Strindberg

By Simon Stone based on August Strindberg
German Translation from the English by Martin Thomas Pesl

Burgtheater, Vienna / Theater Basel

Premiere in Vienna 26 January 2018
Premiere in Basel 16 January 2019

Simon Stone puts his audience into the position of voyeurs, looking into the rooms of a hotel where his excellent actors transfer Strindberg’s cosmos into our times and translate it into a panorama of contemporary relationships.

  • 4 h 15 min, two intervals
  • In German with English surtitles

Public discussion on 5 May, following the performance

Director and author Simon Stone and his outstanding ensemble have turned the cosmos of August Strindberg into a hotel where men and women meet in grotesque, tragic and funny relationships on one single evening. Like the photographer in Hitchcock’s “Rear Window”, we, the audience, are voyeurs, collect clues, solve puzzles, are confronted with banalities, abysses and the most intimate secrets. It is the story of a society on a single evening, making us look deep into the darkest corners of the human heart.

Jury Statement

Simon Stone has taken on August Strindberg’s furious and yet deeply humane culture of conflict and the result is yet another classic piece of dramatic literature brought up to speed with our current times. “Hotel Strindberg” incorporates elements of a number of rarely considered plays and stories by the restless spirit of August Strindberg (among others “The Father”, “The Ghost Sonata”, “The Pelican” or “Creditors”) as well as events from the life of the dramatist himself – all woven into a kaleidoscope of Strindbergian moments for today. The audience watches simultaneous scenes in the rooms of a hotel, where relationships are at stake non-stop. The show unfolds like a long, rhythmic ballad, with the actors involved in the creation of the sound on a set-up. The conflicts become more and more surreal, characters start to dissolve into a delusional yarn, entirely lost to the world. A masterpiece of rewriting classic literature.

Cast

Directed by Simon Stone
Stage and Costume Design Alice Babidge
Lighting Design Michael Hofer
Music Bernhard Moshammer
Dramaturgy Klaus Missbach

With
Franziska Hackl, Barbara Horvath, Roland Koch, Caroline Peters, Max Rothbart, Aenne Schwarz, Michael Wächter, Martin Wuttke, Simon Zagermann

The performance in Berlin is supported by Pro Helvetia, Swiss Arts Council.

Hotel Strindberg. Videotrailer

© Burgtheater, Wien / Theater Basel

Theater
10er Auswahl

Hotel Strindberg

von Simon Stone nach August Strindberg
aus dem Englischen von Martin Thomas Pesl

Burgtheater, Wien / Theater Basel

Wiener Premiere 26. Januar 2018
Basler Premiere 16. Januar 2019

Als Voyeur*innen lässt Simon Stone sein Publikum in die Räume eines Hotels blicken, in denen seine grandiosen Schauspieler*innen den Strindbergʼschen Kosmos ins Heute transferieren und in ein Panorama zeitgenössischer Beziehungen übersetzen.

  • 4 Stunden 15 Minuten, zwei Pausen
  • in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Übertiteln

So, 5.5. Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Aus August Strindbergs Kosmos hat der Regisseur und Autor Simon Stone mit seinem hervorragenden Ensemble ein Hotel gemacht, in dem sich Männer und Frauen an einem Abend in grotesken, tragischen und komischen Beziehungen begegnen. Wie der Fotograf in Hitchcocks „Das Fenster zum Hof“ sind wir, das Publikum, Voyeur*innen, sammeln Hinweise, lösen Rätsel, sind konfrontiert mit Banalitäten, mit Abgründen und intimsten Geheimnissen. Es ist die Geschichte einer Gesellschaft an einem Abend, in der wir tief in die finstersten Ecken des menschlichen Herzens blicken.

Statement der Jury

Simon Stone hat sich die rabiate und dabei zutiefst menschliche Streitkultur des August Strindberg vorgenommen und damit wieder einen Klassiker der Dramenliteratur auf unmittelbare Gegenwart gebürstet. In „Hotel Strindberg“ fließen Motive von gleich mehreren, auf Bühnen meist weniger beachteten Theaterstücken und Erzählungen des schwedischen Unruhegeists ein (u. a. „Der Vater“, „Gespenstersonate“, „Der Pelikan“ oder „Gläubiger“), auch Erlebnisse aus dem Leben des Dramatikers selbst, verwoben zu einem Kaleidoskop Strindbergscher Momente von heute. Das Publikum blickt auf synchron ablaufende Szenen in den Zimmern eines Hotels, in dem nonstop Beziehungen auf dem Spiel stehen. Der Abend läuft wie eine lange, rhythmisierte Ballade ab, bei der die Schauspieler*innen den Sound an einem Set-up live mitproduzieren. Die Konflikte nehmen mehr und mehr surreale Züge an, die Figuren beginnen sich aufzulösen zu einem wahnhaften Gespinst im Drang, der Welt abhanden zu kommen. Ein Meisterwerk der Überschreibung.

Besetzung

Regie Simon Stone
Bühne und Kostüme Alice Babidge
Licht Michael Hofer
Musik Bernhard Moshammer
Dramaturgie Klaus Missbach

Mit
Franziska Hackl, Barbara Horvath, Roland Koch, Caroline Peters, Max Rothbart, Aenne Schwarz, Michael Wächter, Martin Wuttke, Simon Zagermann

Das Gastspiel in Berlin wird unterstützt durch Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung.