Das große Heft. Video trailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Das große Heft (The Notebook)

Based on the novel by Ágota Kristóf
German translation by Eva Moldenhauer
Text by Ulrich Rasche and Alexander Weise

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Premiere 11 February 2018

This is Ulrich Rasche’s third consecutive invitation to the Theatertreffen. This year, he tells a story of survival in times of violence in his own rigorous form of choric theatre.

  • 3 h 45 min, one interval
  • In German with English surtitles

Public discussion on 20 May, following the performance

Two brothers – twins – encounter the brutalised world they live in with harshness; they learn to fight back and develop their very own moral convictions. And always with them: the big notebook, where they note down the insights and truths they have learned. Director Ulrich Rasche pours the childhood stories from the times of the World War written by Ágota Kristóf into a rigid mold: Male choruses stride incessantly on two rotating discs, driven by the rhythm of the music and the machines. A haunting look at survival in times of violence.

Jury Statement

Ulrich Rasche’s choral art is devised for grandeur, for pathos, for powerful imagery and sensory overload. Some may say that it smells like Rammstein. All of this is true. But like hardly any other director, Rasche lets us hear texts in new ways, unfolding them in front of the viewers’ consciousness with the most precise rhythmisation, inspiring and exciting their thought processes. Spellbound, we follow Ágota Kristóf’s wartime childhood stories for nearly four hours. It is a dark piece, full of violence and sexual obsessions, presented with brittle and artful behaviourist storytelling. At a leisurely pace, Rasche traces the stories with oppressive intensity, his male choirs striding on huge rotating discs, driven by Monika Roscher’s minimalist sound art. It is a look into a fascist, militaristic childhood world, purged of all morality, a stroll into the rolling mill of bourgeoning male fantasies.

Cast

Directed by / Stage Design by Ulrich Rasche
Associate Stage Design Sabine Mäder
Costume Design and Associate Stage Design Romy Springsguth
Choir Direction Alexander Weise, Toni Jessen
Composition Monika Roscher
Video Philip Bußmann
Samples, Sound Art Nico van Wersch
Lighting Direction Leonhard Luchner
Lighting Design Andreas Barkleit
Dramaturgy Jörg Bochow, Katrin Breschke

With
László Branko Breiding, Philipp Grimm, Jannik Hinsch, Harald Horváth, Robin Jentys, Toni Jessen, Moritz Kienemann, David Kosel, Sam Michelson, Johannes Nussbaum, Justus Pfankuch, Daniel Séjourné, Yannik Stöbener, Yassin Trabelsi, Alexander Vaassen, Simon Werdelis

Das große Heft. Videotrailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Theater
10er Auswahl

Das große Heft

nach dem Roman von Ágota Kristóf
aus dem Französischen von Eva Moldenhauer
in einer Fassung von Ulrich Rasche und Alexander Weise

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Premiere 11. Februar 2018

Ulrich Rasche wird das dritte Mal in Folge zum Theatertreffen eingeladen und erzählt in diesem Jahr mit „Das große Heft“ in der strengen Form seines chorischen Theaters vom Überleben in Zeiten der Gewalt.

  • 3 h 45 min, eine Pause
  • in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Übertiteln

Mo, 20.5. Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Zwei Brüder – Zwillinge – begegnen einer verrohten Welt mit Härte, lernen sich zu wehren und entwickeln ihre ganz eigenen Moralvorstellungen. Immer mit dabei: das große Heft, in das sie ihre gewonnenen Erkenntnisse und Wahrheiten eintragen. Der Regisseur Ulrich Rasche gießt die Kindheitserzählung aus Weltkriegszeiten von Ágota Kristóf in eine strenge Form: Männerchöre schreiten unablässig auf zwei rotierenden Drehscheiben, getrieben vom Rhythmus der Musik und der Maschinen. Ein eindringlicher Blick auf das Überleben in Zeiten der Gewalt.

Statement der Jury

Ulrich Rasches Chorkunst ist auf Erhabenheit angelegt, auf Pathos, auf Bildmacht, auf sinnliche Überwältigung auch. Manche sagen: Es riecht nach Rammstein. Das alles stimmt. Aber Rasche bringt dabei wie kaum ein anderer Texte frisch zu Gehör, faltet sie genauestens rhythmisiert vor dem Bewusstsein der Betrachtenden auf, regt das Denken an und auf. So folgt man an diesem Abend in knapp vier Stunden gebannt der großen Kindheitserzählung aus Weltkriegszeiten von Ágota Kristóf. Ein düsteres Werk, voll Gewalt und sexuellen Obsessionen, in kühler behavioristischer Erzählkunst vorgetragen. Rasche zeichnet es mit Muße und bedrückender Intensität nach, mit Männerchören, die auf zwei riesigen rotierenden Drehscheiben schreiten, angetrieben von der minimalistischen Mantra-Klangkunst Monika Roschers. Es ist der Blick in eine faschistoide, militaristische, von Moral bereinigte Kindheitswelt, ein Gang ins Walzwerk der aufkeimenden Männerfantasien.

Besetzung

Regie und Bühne Ulrich Rasche
Bühnenbildmitarbeit Sabine Mäder
Kostüme und Bühnenbildmitarbeit Romy Springsguth
Chorleitung Alexander Weise, Toni Jessen
Komposition Monika Roscher
Video Philip Bußmann
Samples, Sound-Art Nico van Wersch
Lichtdirigat Leonhard Luchner
Licht Andreas Barkleit
Dramaturgie Jörg Bochow, Katrin Breschke

Mit
László Branko Breiding, Philipp Grimm, Jannik Hinsch, Harald Horváth, Robin Jentys, Toni Jessen, Moritz Kienemann, David Kosel, Sam Michelson, Johannes Nussbaum, Justus Pfankuch, Daniel Séjourné, Yannik Stöbener, Yassin Trabelsi, Alexander Vaassen, Simon Werdelis