Persona. Video trailer

© Deutsches Theater, Berlin

Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Persona

By Ingmar Bergman
Translation Renate Bleibtreu

Deutsches Theater, Berlin / Malmö Stadsteater

Premiere Malmö 15 September 2018
Premiere Berlin 30 November 2018

Theatertreffen-newcomer Anna Bergmann adapts Ingmar Bergman’s experimental film for the stage and sceptically questions the construction of female identity.

  • 1 h 30 min / long version 2 h 30 min, without interval
  • In German with English surtitles

The Burning Issues team in conversation with Anna Bergmann on on 18 May, following the performance
Public discussion on 19 May, following the performance

Depending on where the performances of “Persona” are presented, the actors take turns playing the lead role: In Berlin, Karin Lithman plays the mute Elisabet Vogler and Corinna Harfouch plays her voluble nurse Alma; in Malmö, it is the other way around. A long version of the performance has been developed especially for the Theatertreffen; here, both actors will be featured consecutively in both roles.

The experienced nurse Alma takes care of Elisabet, a celebrated actor who has fallen silent. In a house by the sea, the two unequal women spend a carefree summer – until the situation between them shifts. Director Anna Bergmann has adapted Ingmar Bergman’s experimental film for the stage and, supported by two strong actors, interweaves questions about the construction of a person’s identity into an intense study on power, trust, role images and the desire to slip into a different life.

Jury Statement

Anna Bergmann re-narrates Ingmar Bergman’s avant-garde experimental film – and turns it into a psychological in-depth exploration of female identity. The relationship between the actor Elisabet, who has fallen silent, and her lively nurse Alma becomes an intimate psycho-duel between the great actors Corinna Harfouch and Karin Lithman, a duel that takes more than a few unexpected new turns and cuts across many a taboo and cliché. The show explores how women are tortured by the images they are expected to conform to, how they compare and measure and burn themselves out – finally replacing each other. Where is the line between one’s own identity and assigned (female) roles? The show’s content finds an intelligent equivalent in its form: Depending on which country the play is performed in, the actors switch roles, thus finding a way to include the age-old theatre conflict of jealousy in the story.

Cast

Directed by Anna Bergmann
Stage Design Jo Schramm
Costume Design Lane Schäfer
Music Hannes Gwisdek
Lighting Design Sven Erik Andersson
Video Sebastian Pircher
Dramaturgy Sonja Anders, Felicia Ohly

Mrs Elisabet Vogler Karin Lithman
Sister Alma Corinna Harfouch
Doctor Franziska Machens
Mr Vogler Andreas Grötzinger

Persona. Videotrailer

© Deutsches Theater, Berlin

Theater
10er Auswahl

Persona

von Ingmar Bergman
Übersetzung Renate Bleibtreu

Deutsches Theater, Berlin / Malmö Stadsteater

Premiere Malmö 15. September 2018
Premiere Berlin 30. November 2018

Theatertreffen-Newcomerin Anna Bergmann adaptiert Ingmar Bergmans Experimentalfilm für die Bühne und befragt skeptisch die Konstruktion der weiblichen Identität.

  • 1 h 30 min / Long Version 2 h 30 min, ohne Pause
  • in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Übertiteln

Sa, 18.5. das Burning-Issues-Team im Gespräch mit Anna Bergmann im Anschluss an die Vorstellung
So, 19.5. Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Je nach Aufführungsort von „Persona“ tauschen die Schauspielerinnen die Hauptrolle: In Berlin spielt Karin Lithman die stumme Elisabet Vogler und Corinna Harfouch die sprechende Schwester Alma, in Malmö ist es genau umgekehrt. Exklusiv für das Theatertreffen wurde eine Long Version erarbeitet, in der beide Schauspieler*innen an einem Abend in der Rolle der Alma zu erleben sind.

Die erfahrene Krankenschwester Alma pflegt die gefeierte Schauspielerin Elisabet, die aufgehört hat zu sprechen. In einem Haus am Meer verbringen die zwei ungleichen Frauen einen unbeschwerten Sommer – bis die Situation zwischen ihnen kippt. Die Regisseurin Anna Bergmann adaptiert Ingmar Bergmans Experimentalfilm für die Bühne und verwebt Fragen nach der Konstruktion der Identität des Menschen gemeinsam mit zwei starken Schauspielerinnen zu einer intensiven Studie über Macht, Vertrauen, Rollenbilder und den Wunsch, in ein anderes Leben zu schlüpfen.

Statement der Jury

Anna Bergmann erzählt Ingmar Bergmans Experimentalfilm nach – und macht ihn zu einer psychologischen Tiefenschürfung weiblicher Identität. Die Beziehung zwischen der verstummten Schauspielerin Elisabet und ihrer lebhaften Krankenschwester Alma wird zu einem intimen Psychoduell der großen Schauspielerinnen Corinna Harfouch und Karin Lithman, das immer neue, überraschende Wendungen nimmt und manches Tabu und Klischee durchquert. Der Abend untersucht, wie Frauen von Bildern, denen sie entsprechen sollen, gequält werden, wie sie sich vergleichen, vermessen, verausgaben – und schließlich gegenseitig austauschen. Wo verläuft die Grenze zwischen eigener Identität und zugewiesener (Frauen-)Rolle? Klug entspricht an diesem Abend die Form dem Inhalt: Denn die stumme und die sprechende Schauspielerin tauschen je nach Aufführungsland die Hauptrolle und verhandeln so einen alten Theater-Neid-Konflikt gleich mit.

Besetzung

Regie Anna Bergmann
Bühne Jo Schramm
Kostüme Lane Schäfer
Musik Hannes Gwisdek
Licht Sven Erik Andersson
Video Sebastian Pircher
Dramaturgie Sonja Anders, Felicia Ohly

Frau Elisabet Vogler Karin Lithman
Schwester Alma Corinna Harfouch
Ärztin Franziska Machens
Herr Vogler Andreas Grötzinger