Erniedrigte und Beleidigte. Video trailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Erniedrigte und Beleidigte (The Insulted and Humiliated)

Based on the novel by Fyodor M. Dostoevsky
Using the Hamburg Poetics Lecture by Wolfram Lotz

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Premiere 29 March 2018

Sebastian Hartmann’s first production at Staatsschauspiel Dresden interlaces Dostoevsky’s novel with Wolfram Lotz‘ Hamburg poetics lecture and creates a Gesamtkunstwerk (total work of art) with great choreographic and performative energy.

  • 2 h 45 min, without interval
  • In German, no surtitles

Mon, 13 May, 18:15 introduction in English
Tue 14 May, 18:30 introduction in English, public discussion following the performance

In Dostoevsky’s novel, love tangles, their ruthless instrumentalisation and the social decline of entire families blend into each other in rapid succession. Director Sebastian Hartmann, however, is not interested in telling a stringent story, on the contrary: He is looking for the point where reason, plotlines and theatre conventions dissolve, choosing an associative approach to the work – a challenge for the audience, involving improvisation modules, the painting of a gigantic picture and the interconnection with Wolfram Lotz’ Hamburger Poetikvorlesung (lecture of poetics).

Jury Statement

In a looming mist, stirring music resounds and people storm to the edge of the stage. They haul in ladders and begin to create a gigantic picture with black and white paint – higher and higher, layer upon layer. A wheeled hospital bed revolves in front of it and actors in swishing crinolines and black top-hats present ostensibly incoherent and recurring scenes from Dostoevsky’s serialised novel “The Insulted and Humiliated” about an egotistical patriarch, abandoned children and crushing mountains of debt. It takes a while for the audience to find their bearings around the improvisation modules of Sebastian Hartmann’s Dresden production. Almost programmatic in character, the production is interwoven with Wolfram Lotz’ Hamburger Poetikvorlesung (lecture of poetics), outlining principles for a new theatre and performed in a spoken dance by Yassin Trabelsi with a fine sensitivity for sound. Hartmann’s staging is not a linear retelling of the novel’s plot, but rather – and this is already inherent in Dostoevski – aspires to an ecstatic dissolution of sense and logos of the kind that can be experienced in illness, love and, in this case, in art.

Cast

Directed by / Stage Design by Sebastian Hartmann
Costume Design Adriana Braga Peretzki
Image/Installation Tilo Baumgärtel
Choir Direction Christine Groß
Lighting Design Lothar Baumgarte
Dramaturgy Jörg Bochow

With
Luise Aschenbrenner, Eva Hüster, Moritz Kienemann, Torsten Ranft, Lukas Rüppel, Fanny Staffa, Nadja Stübiger, Yassin Trabelsi, Viktor Tremmel

Erniedrigte und Beleidigte. Videotrailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Theater
10er Auswahl

Erniedrigte und Beleidigte

nach dem Roman von Fjodor M. Dostojewski
unter Verwendung der Hamburger Poetikvorlesung von Wolfram Lotz

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Premiere 29. März 2018

Sebastian Hartmanns erste Inszenierung am Staatsschauspiel Dresden verschaltet Dostojewskis Roman mit Wolfram Lotzʼ Hamburger Poetikvorlesung und arbeitet mit choreografischer und schauspielerischer Energie am Gesamtkunstwerk.

  • 2 Stunden 45 Minuten, keine Pause
  • in deutscher Sprache, keine Übertitel

Mo, 13.5., 18:15 Einführung in englischer Sprache
Di, 14.5., 18:30 Einführung in englischer Sprache, Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

In Dostojewskis Roman gehen in rasanter Folge Liebesverwirrungen sowie deren skrupellose Instrumentalisierung und der soziale Abstieg ganzer Familien ineinander über. Dem Regisseur Sebastian Hartmann geht es in seiner Inszenierung allerdings nicht darum, eine stringente Geschichte zu erzählen, im Gegenteil: Er sucht nach der Auflösung von Sinn, Handlungslinien und Theaterkonventionen und wählt einen assoziativen Zugang zum Werk, der das Publikum mit Improvisationsmodulen, dem Malen eines riesigen Bildes und der Verschaltung mit Wolfram Lotz’ Hamburger Poetikvorlesung herausfordert.

Statement der Jury

Nebel dräut, aufwühlende Musik erklingt, Menschen stürmen an die Rampe. Sie schleppen Leitern auf die Bühne, fangen an, mit schwarzer und weißer Farbe ein riesiges Bild zu malen, hoch und höher, Schicht über Schicht. Davor kreist ein fahrbares Klinikbett, und Spieler*innen mit raschelnden Krinolinen und schwarzen Zylindern zeigen scheinbar zusammenhanglose, mitunter auch sich wiederholende Szenen aus Dostojewskis Fortsetzungsroman „Erniedrigte und Beleidigte“ rund um einen selbstsüchtigen Patriarchen, im Stich gelassene Kinder und erdrückende Schuldenberge. Es dauert eine ganze Weile, bis sich das Publikum in den Improvisationsmodulen von Sebastian Hartmanns Dresdner Inszenierung zu orientieren lernt. Geradezu programmatisch gerät sie durch die Verschaltung mit Wolfram Lotzʼ Hamburger Poetikvorlesung, die ein neues Theater entwirft und von Yassin Trabelsi mit großem Soundgefühl versprechtanzt wird. Denn Hartmanns Arbeit zielt nicht auf die lineare Nacherzählung des Romanstoffs, sondern – wie schon bei Dostojewski angelegt – auf die ekstatische Auflösung von Sinn und Logos, so wie sie in Krankheit, Liebe und hier tatsächlich auch in der Kunst erfahrbar werden.

Besetzung

Regie und Bühne Sebastian Hartmann
Kostüme Adriana Braga Peretzki
Bild/Installation Tilo Baumgärtel
Chorleitung Christine Groß
Lichtdesign Lothar Baumgarte
Dramaturgie Jörg Bochow

Mit
Luise Aschenbrenner, Eva Hüster, Moritz Kienemann, Torsten Ranft, Lukas Rüppel, Fanny Staffa, Nadja Stübiger, Yassin Trabelsi, Viktor Tremmel