Oratorium. Video trailer

© She She Pop

Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Oratorium (Oratorio)

Kollektive Andacht zu einem wohlgehüteten Geheimnis (A collective mediation on a well-kept secret)

A She She Pop production
Co-production HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Festival Theaterformen, Münchner Kammerspiele, Schauspiel Stuttgart, Kaserne Basel, Schauspiel Leipzig, Kampnagel Hamburg, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, FFT Düsseldorf, Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival Lublin, ACT Independent Theater Festival Sofia

Premiere Berlin 9 February 2018

In the work of She She Pop, who celebrated their 25th anniversary last year, the political always nests inside the private, inside the biographical material. This time, the performance collective zeros in on the topics of money, property and shame.

  • 1 h 40 min, without interval
  • In German with English live translation

So, 5 May Awarding of the Theatre Prize Berlin by Preußische Seehandlung Foundation to She She Pop
Public discussion on 12 May, following the performance

Further Dates
3 and 4 October 2019, 20:00
Tickets only through HAU – Hebbel am Ufer

Property alters consciousness. It separates friends, it bestows power over others, it excludes. Property is an everyday thing. And we don’t talk about it. Really? She She Pop couldn’t care less about conventions: Together with the choir of local delegates and the audience, they drag the secrets of property onto the stage. Inspired by Brecht’s Lehrstück (didactic play) theory, they present a theatre show in dialogue form and create disunited speaking choruses with audience participation, who address how we deal with property and its consequences.

Jury Statement

It’s not proper to talk about money. The performance collective She She Pop couldn’t care less and sets out to explore the topics of private property, inequality and shame. The “we” that is evoked everywhere becomes almost automatically evident. The audience is invited to participate: Initially as a choir of citizens with a prescribed text which results in a dialogue that is as enlightening as it is hilarious. Later, they are asked to reveal themselves as heirs and heiresses on stage. But nobody is made to feel bad, everyone is welcome. She She Pop forms the audience into a polyphonic choir, executing the promised “Collective meditation on a well-kept secret” in their musically balanced oratory. The piece reveres Brecht and his poetics of didactic plays just as much as it pokes fun at them. Like always in She She Pop’s work, the political nestles inside the private, in the biographical material. The revolutionarily beautiful costumes by Lea Søvsø can serve as a flag or as a cape. And the actors on stage are just as versatile. In short: A show that asks the right questions and refuses to accept any glib answers.

Cast

By and with She She Pop (Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf as well as the Choir of the Local Delegates
The Choir of the Local Delegates Susanne Scholl, Saioa Alvarez Ruiz, Brigitte Cuvelier, Jean Chaize, Wenke Seemann, Antonio Cerezo, Jan Sobolewski

Stage Design Sandra Fox
Costume Design Lea Søvsø
Conductor Max Knoth
Trumpet Richard Koch
Vibraphone Karl Ivar Refseth
Artistic Collaboration Ruschka Steininger
Associate Dramaturgs Peggy Maedler, Annett Gröschner

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa

Oratorium. Videotrailer

© She She Pop

Theater
10er Auswahl

Oratorium

Kollektive Andacht zu einem wohlgehüteten Geheimnis

Eine Produktion von She She Pop
Koproduktion HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Festival Theaterformen, Münchner Kammerspiele, Schauspiel Stuttgart, Kaserne Basel, Schauspiel Leipzig, Kampnagel Hamburg, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, FFT Düsseldorf, Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival Lublin, ACT Independent Theater Festival Sofia

Premiere Berlin 9. Februar 2018

Wie stets bei She She Pop, die im vergangenen Jahr ihr 25-jähriges Bestehen feierten, nistet das Politische im Privaten, im biografischen Material. Diesmal macht das Performance-Kollektiv Geld, Eigentum und Scham zum Thema.

  • 1 h 40 min, ohne Pause
  • in deutscher Sprache mit englischer Live-Übersetzung

So, 5.5. Verleihung des Theaterpreis Berlin der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung an She She Pop
So, 12.5. Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Weitere Spieltermine
3. und 4.10.2019, 20:00
Tickets nur über HAU – Hebbel am Ufer

Eigentum verändert das Bewusstsein. Es trennt Freund*innen, es erteilt Macht über andere, es schließt aus. Eigentum ist selbstverständlich. Und man spricht nicht darüber. Wirklich nicht? She She Pop pfeifen auf Konventionen: Gemeinsam mit dem Chor der lokalen Delegierten und dem Publikum zerren sie das Geheimnis des Eigentums auf die Bühne. Inspiriert von Brechts Lehrstücktheorie zeigen sie einen dialogischen Theaterabend und bilden uneinige Sprechchöre mit Publikumsbeteiligung, die den Umgang mit Besitz und dessen Konsequenzen verhandeln.

Statement der Jury

Über Geld redet man nicht. Das Performance-Kollektiv She She Pop schert sich nicht darum und macht das Privateigentum, Ungleichheit und Scham zum Thema. Das allerorten beschworene „Wir“ konkretisiert sich dabei fast von selbst. Die Zuschauer*innen werden eingeladen, sich zu beteiligen, zuerst als Bürger*innenchor mit vorgeschriebenem Text, was einen ebenso aufschlussreichen wie komischen Dialog nach sich zieht. Später sind sie aufgerufen, sich als Erb*innen auf der Bühne zu outen. Doch niemand wird vorgeführt, alle sind willkommen. She She Pop formieren das Publikum zum vielstimmigen Chor und vollziehen in ihrem musikalisch austarierten Oratorium die versprochene „Kollektive Andacht zu einem wohlgehüteten Geheimnis“, die Brecht und seine Lehrstückpoetik ebenso huldigt wie auf die Schippe nimmt. Wie immer bei She She Pop nistet das Politische im Privaten, im biografischen Material. Die revolutionär schönen Kostüme von Lea Søvsø dienen dabei mal als Fahne, mal als Umhang. Als ebenso wendig erweisen sich die Akteur*innen auf der Bühne. Kurz: ein Abend, der die richtigen Fragen stellt und sich vorschnellen Antworten verweigert.

Besetzung

Von und mit She She Pop (Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf sowie dem Chor der lokalen Delegierten
Der Chor der lokalen Delegierten Susanne Scholl, Saioa Alvarez Ruiz, Brigitte Cuvelier, Jean Chaize, Wenke Seemann, Antonio Cerezo, Jan Sobolewski

Bühne Sandra Fox
Kostüme Lea Søvsø
Musikalische Leitung Max Knoth
Trompete Richard Koch
Vibraphon Karl Ivar Refseth
Künstlerische Mitarbeit Ruschka Steininger
Dramaturgische Mitarbeit Peggy Maedler, Annett Gröschner

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa