Ersan Mondtag

Ersan Mondtag

© Thomas Schröder

Award Ceremony

3sat-Award

Awarded to Ersan Montag as part of the Theatertreffen

Every year since 1997, 3sat has bestowed the 3sat-Award for an artistically innovative achievement to one or more artists from the circle of invited companies. In 2019, director Ersan Mondtag will be distinguished for his production “Das Internat”.

Past Dates

The jury comments: “Ersan Mondtag […] impressively sounds out the intermediate realm between theatre and visual art. He congenially combines directing, stage and costumes into an installation of fear, a diorama of oppression.”

In recent years, the 3sat-Award was awarded to Susanne Wolff, Dimiter Gotscheff, Sebastian Nübling, Katja Haß und Stephan Kimmig, Birgit Minichmayr, Annette Paulmann, Christoph Schlingensief, Nicolas Stemann, Sandra Hüller, Susanne Kennedy, Lina Beckmann, Herbert Fritsch, Milo Rau and Wiebke Puls.

The jury for the 2019 award consists of Shirin Sojitrawalla (cultural editor and member of the Theatertreffen-jury), Wolfgang Horn (3sat editor) and Daniel Richter (head of dramaturgy of the Theatertreffen).

With

Benny Claessens
Jonas Grundner-Culemann
Kate Strong
Shirin Sojitrawalla
laudatory speech

Ersan Mondtag

Ersan Mondtag

© Thomas Schröder

Preisverleihung

3sat-Preis

Verleihung an Ersan Montag im Rahmen des Theatertreffens

Seit 1997 vergibt 3sat jährlich im Rahmen des Theatertreffens den 3sat-Preis für eine künstlerisch innovative Leistung an eine*n oder mehrere Künstler*innen aus dem Kreis der eingeladenen Ensembles. 2019 wird der Regisseur Ersan Mondtag für „Das Internat“ ausgezeichnet.

In der Jurybegründung heißt es: „Das Zwischenreich von Theater und bildender Kunst lotet Ersan Mondtag [...] eindrucksvoll aus. Kongenial verbindet er Regie, Bühne und Kostüm zu einer Installation der Angst, einem Diorama der Unterdrückung.“

Verliehen wurde der 3sat-Preis in den vergangenen Jahren an Susanne Wolff, Dimiter Gotscheff, Sebastian Nübling, Katja Haß und Stephan Kimmig, Birgit Minichmayr, Annette Paulmann, Christoph Schlingensief, Nicolas Stemann, Sandra Hüller, Susanne Kennedy, Lina Beckmann, Herbert Fritsch, Milo Rau und Wiebke Puls.

2019 setzt sich die Jury zusammen aus Shirin Sojitrawalla (Theaterkritikerin und Mitglied der Theatertreffen-Jury), Wolfgang Horn (Redakteur bei 3sat) und Daniel Richter (Leitender Dramaturg des Theatertreffens).