Isabel Lewis und LABOUR: Expanded Viewing I + II (Garden of Earthly Delights)

© Luis Kürschner

Sensory Experience

Expanded Viewing I + II (Garden of Earthly Delights)

Isabel Lewis and LABOUR

Part 1: Expanded Viewing I (The Garden of Earthly Delights) – duration: 15 minutes
Part 2: Expanded Viewing II (The Garden of Earthly Delights) – continuous

On 4 and 5 May 2019 artist Isabel Lewis presents a new expanded choreographic work made in collaboration with Berlin-based musical entity LABOUR. It takes up the dramaturgical structure of Hieronymus Bosch's famous triptych Garden of Earthly Delights, using subtle performance gestures, music, and algorithmic sound compositions to forge a contemporary relation to the painting.

As a preview to the upcoming exhibition Garden of Earthly Delights (26 July to 1 December 2019), the eponymous painting from the school of Hieronymus Bosch is on display at the Gropius Bau on weekends between 27 April and 19 May 2019.

Giving ghostly presence to the two oak panels of the triptych not on display, visitors are led through a row of empty spaces that become a passage for the attunement of the senses. The unfolding of performance and sound elements activates the architecture of the first floor of Gropius Bau drawing visitors toward the final scene, the reception of the central panel.

Created with support by Jarrett Gregory
Smells by Sissel Tolaas
Production by Tainá Moreno
Scenography by Marcelo Alcaide with the support of Courreges
Performers: Antonio Onio, Bráulio Bandeira, Kevin Bonono, Frida Giulia Franceschini and Cesar Queruz on Theorbo

Sinneserfahrung

Expanded Viewing I + II (Garden of Earthly Delights)

Isabel Lewis und LABOUR

Teil 1: Expanded Viewing I (The Garden of Earthly Delights) – Dauer: 15 Minuten
Teil 2: Expanded Viewing II (The Garden of Earthly Delights) – fortlaufend

Isabel Lewis und LABOUR: Expanded Viewing I + II (Garden of Earthly Delights)

© Luis Kürschner

Vergangene Termine

Die Künstlerin Isabel Lewis präsentiert am 4. und 5. Mai im Gropius Bau eine neue choreografische Arbeit, die in Zusammenarbeit mit der musikalischen Entität LABOUR aus Berlin entstanden ist. Diese greift die dramaturgische Struktur von Hieronymus Boschs berühmtem Triptychon Garten der Lüste auf und entwickelt durch performative Elemente, Musik und algorithmische Klangkompositionen einen zeitgenössischen Zugang zu dem Werk.

Als Vorausblick auf die kommende Ausstellung Garten der irdischen Freuden (26. Juli bis 1. Dezember 2019) ist das Gemälde Garten der Lüste aus der Nachfolge Hieronymus Boschs bereits vor der Ausstellungseröffnung an den Wochenenden im Zeitraum vom 27. April bis 19. Mai 2019 im Gropius Bau zu sehen.

Geisterhafte Präsenz erhalten dabei die beiden Innenflügel des Triptychons, die nicht ausgestellt sind: Die Besucher*innen werden durch eine Reihe leerer Räume geführt, die zu einem Durchgang zur Schärfung der Sinne werden. Performance- und Klangelemente aktivieren die Architektur im ersten Stockwerk des Gropius Bau und leiten die Besucher*innen zur letzten Szene hin – der Rezeption der Mitteltafel des Garten der Lüste.

Mit der Unterstützung von Jarrett Gregory
Gerüche von Sissel Tolaas
Produktion von Tainá Moreno
Szenografie von Marcelo Alcaide mit Unterstützung von Courreges
Performer*innen: Antonio Onio, Bráulio Bandeira, Kevin Bonono, Frida Giulia Franceschini und Cesar Queruz on Theorbo