Richard Reed Parry: “Quiet River of Dust”

Richard Reed Parry: “Quiet River of Dust”. Live concert

© JF Lalonde

Concert
The New Infinity

Richard Reed Parry

The Quiet River of Dust

European premiere

The live concert “The Quiet River of Dust” based on the namesake solo album by Richard Reed Parry, the polymath multi-instrumentalist at the heart of the cult band Arcade Fire. The European premiere of his audiovisual concert, specifically designed for the full-dome, will be hold in co-operation with International Summer Festival Kampnagel.

Inspired by a stay in a Buddhist monastery, the sounds he heard on his long walks through the snowy woods on Mount Kōya in Japan reminded Parry of the folk music he had heard in his childhood. Music full of open space, quietude, cicadas, echoes and the sounds of nature.

The immersive sonic environments of his visit to Japan led Richard Reed Parry to the folk song form of his new songs that tell of disappearing villages, ecstatic wind storms, departing family members, cyclical rivers, spirit radios and endless rain. A story emerged of a boy travelling to the seaside with his parents, disappearing into the ocean and his body dissolving into the molecules of the enormous body of water in which he swam – a sudden transformation into all the elements of the natural world.

In the manner of the both real and mythical river Sai No Kawara Parry gave his collection of songs the title “The Quiet River of Dust”. The “River of Death” is a mythical place where children who die before their parents go to wait before travelling on to an afterworld and also a real one where parents who have lost a child go to grieve and pray. Parry’s music includes the dense orchestral textures of Arcade Fire and Bell Orchestre as well as the boundary-pushing instrumental work of his neoclassical solo compositions. Together with the team from the Canadian Society for Arts and Technology (SAT) he has created a hypnotic live experience for a sonically and visually immersive dome environment that will be performed in Europe for the first time as part of “The New Infinity” at the Planetarium Hamburg.

with Richard Reed Parry, Corwin Fox, Stefan Schneider, Laurel Sprengelmeyer & Jordy Walker

Conceived and produced by Richard Reed Parry & Ryhna Thompson
Directed by JF Lalonde & Richard Reed Parry
Filmed by Richard Reed Parry
Motion designer & assistant direction Christelle Bellini
Visual Dramaturge Anita Rochon
Monologue performed by Yuka Honda
Monologue filmed by Kaveh Nabatian
Production Manager Brian Neuman
Live sound mix Harris Shper
Live video mix Christelle Bellini
Producer Ryhna Thompson
SAT Team Louis-Philippe St- Arnault, Dominic Paquin, David Chevrier, Mourad Bennacer, Sean Caruso, Alexandre Auché, Joseph Lefevre, Marine Gourit, Sarah Delmorme, Maryse Bernard, Amélie Moise, Phillipe Duguay-Blais

This project received the support of the creation program of works from the Society for Arts and Technology (SAT).

Logo: Société des Arts Technologiques   Calq   Canada Council

Envision

European premiere in co-operation with International Summer Festival Kampnagel


Kampnagel

Richard Reed Parry: „Quiet River of Dust“

Richard Reed Parry: „Quiet River of Dust“. Live-Konzert

© JF Lalonde

Konzert
The New Infinity

Richard Reed Parry

The Quiet River of Dust

Europapremiere

Das Live-Konzert „The Quiet River of Dust“ basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Solo-Album von Richard Reed Parry, dem universalgebildeten Multi-Instrumentalisten im Zentrum der Kultband Arcade Fire. Die Europapremiere seines audiovisuellen Konzertes, eigens kreiert für den Fulldome, findet statt in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Sommerfestival Kampnagel.

Von einem Aufenthalt in einem buddhistischen Kloster inspiriert, fand sich Parry durch die Geräuschkulisse während seiner langen Spaziergänge durch die verschneiten Wälder der japanischen Bergregion Kōya an die Folkmusik seiner Kindheit erinnert. Sie war geprägt von der Musik offener Räume, voller Stille, Zikadenklänge, Echos und Naturgeräusche.

Die immersiven Klangumgebungen seines Japanaufenthaltes führten Richard Reed Parry zur Volkslied-Form seiner neuen Songs, die von verschwundenen Dörfern, Stürmen, scheidenden Verwandten, periodisch an- und abschwellenden Flüssen, Geisterradios und endlosem Regen erzählen. Die Lieder entwickeln die Geschichte eines Jungen, der mit seinen Eltern ans Meer reist und in den Fluten verschwindet, bis sich sein Körper in den Molekülen des riesigen Gewässers auflöst und verströmt – eine plötzliche Verwandlung in alle Elemente der natürlichen Welt.

Seiner Sammlung von Songs gab Parry in Anlehnung an den realen wie mythischen Fluss Sai No Kawara den Titel „The Quiet River of Dust“. Wobei der „Fluss des Todes“ zum einen jener mythische Ort ist, an dem Kinder, die vor dem Tod ihrer Eltern sterben, warten, bevor sie ihre Reise ins Jenseits antreten, und zum anderen jenen realen Ort meint, an den Eltern, die ein Kind verloren haben, kommen um zu trauern und beten. Parrys Musik verknüpft die dichten orchestralen Strukturen von Arcade Fire und Bell Orchestre mit der grenzüberschreitenden Instrumentalmusik seiner neoklassischen Solokompositionen. Gemeinsam mit dem Team der kanadischen Society for Arts and Technology (S.A.T. ) schuf er ein hypnotisches Live-Erlebnis für eine klanglich und visuell immersive Dome-Umgebung, das im Rahmen von „The New Infinity“ im Planetarium Hamburg erstmals in Europa zur Aufführung gebracht wird.

mit Richard Reed Parry, Corwin Fox, Stefan Schneider, Laurel Sprengelmeyer & Jordy Walker

Konzept & Produktion Richard Reed Parry & Ryhna Thompson
Regie JF Lalonde & Richard Reed Parry
Filmaufnahme Richard Reed Parry
Motion Design & Regieassistenz Christelle Bellini
Bilddramaturgie Anita Rochon
Darsteller Monolog Yuka Honda
Monolog Kaveh Nabatian
Produktionsmanagement Brian Neuman
Live Sound Mix Harris Shper
Live Video Mix Christelle Bellini
Produzentin Ryhna Thompson
Team SAT Louis-Philippe St- Arnault, Dominic Paquin, David Chevrier, Mourad Bennacer, Sean Caruso, Alexandre Auché, Joseph Lefevre, Marine Gourit, Sarah Delmorme, Maryse Bernard, Amélie Moise, Phillipe Duguay-Blais

Dieses Projekt erhielt die Unterstützung des Projektentwicklungsfonds der Society for Arts and Technology (SAT).

Logo: Société des Arts Technologiques   Calq   Canada Council

Envision

Europapremiere in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Sommerfestival Kampnagel

Kampnagel