Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (Detail)

Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (detail)

© Vaginal Davis, Courtesy the artist & Dann Gunn Gallery London

Exhibition

Ladies on Paper

Recent Works by Vaginal Davis

Ladies on Paper. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis is the first institutional presentation of Vaginal Davis’ paintings in Berlin. Over a period of six weeks, six different recent portraits will be shown successively in single hangings. Taken from a series of works created over the last two years, the paintings depict six different public figures from the worlds of art, film and literature.

On the occasion of the current exhibition The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates, the Gropius Bau invites artists to choose their own individual ways to respond to the photographs on display. Ladies on Paper is Vaginal Davis’ response.

Known today for her drag performances, which began in the 1970s, Vaginal Davis is committed to expanding normative notions of femininity. Drawing on her encyclopaedic knowledge of film, pop and subcultural history, Davis‘ paintings are portraits of figures from past and present, who take on an icon-like status in her work. Vaginal Davis’ alternative cover girls form counterparts to the photographic images to be seen in the exhibition The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates.

Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (Detail)

Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (Detail)

© Vaginal Davis, Courtesy the artist & Dann Gunn Gallery London

Ausstellung

Ladies on Paper

Recent Works by Vaginal Davis

12. Juni bis 21. Juli 2019

Mit Ladies on Paper. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis werden erstmalig in Berlin ausgewählte Arbeiten aus Serien von Vaginal Davis gezeigt, die in den letzten beiden Jahren entstanden sind. In einer wechselnden, wöchentlichen Hängung sind sechs unterschiedliche Einzelporträts von Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst, Film und Literatur zu sehen.

Im Rahmen der aktuellen Ausstellung The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates lädt der Gropius Bau Künstler*innen ein, eigene Formen künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung mit den präsentierten Werken zu entwickeln. Unter dem Titel Ladies on Paper ist Vaginal Davis‘ Reaktion zu sehen.

Seit ihren frühen Drag-Performances in den 1970er Jahren beschäftigt sich Vaginal Davis mit der Erweiterung des Frauenbildes, für die sie bis heute bekannt ist. Aus ihrem persönlichen Wissensspeicher der Film-, Pop- und Subkulturgeschichte schöpfend, portraitiert Vaginal Davis Persönlichkeiten aus Geschichte und Gegenwart, die für sie eine ikonenhafte Stellung einnehmen. Vaginal Davis‘ alternative Covergirls bilden dabei ein künstlerisches Pendant zu den fotografischen Abzügen der Johnson Publishing Company in der Ausstellung The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates.