Otobong Nkanga, “Preliminary Recipe for a Support System” (2016/17). digital drawing, collage und acrylic on paper, 42 × 28 cm © Otobong Nkanga

Otobong Nkanga, “Preliminary Recipe for a Support System” (2016/17). digital drawing, collage und acrylic on paper, 42 × 28 cm

© Otobong Nkanga

Talk and Discussion

Pioneers of Environmental Art

With Lauren Bon and Newton Harrison

Part of “Carved to Flow: Germination” by “In House: Artist in Residence” Otobong Nkanga, co-curated with Maya Tounta

At the Gropius Bau, Lauren Bon and Newton Harrison talk about their artistic practice and the potential of art to impact the life web at times of fading biodiversity. The talks are followed by a discussion which is hosted by this year’s artist in residence Otobong Nkanga and Maya Tounta.

  • In English

The restaurant Beba at Gropius Bau will be open for drinks following the talks until 22:00.

In an era of mass extinction and great societal change, artists Lauren Bon and Newton Harrison employ art to counter extinction and produce solutions that support biodiversity and the community. Exploring the potential of art to have a real impact on the life web, these artists put forward a model of collaborative and cross-disciplinary making that reverberates with urgency. This expansive, self-sustaining type of work echoes Otobong Nkanga's project Carved to Flow, which, though differently oriented, aspires to emancipate itself in order to create new support systems.

Newton Harrison worked from 1969 to 2012 with his wife Helen Mayer Harrison (1927–2018) and has continued the studio’s practice since her passing. Initially focused on preserving and mitigating damage to the life web, their work since 2007 has shifted more specifically to actively countering human destruction. Harrison and his team, currently working at the Center for the Study of the Force Majeure at University of California Santa Cruz, continue to develop large-scale responsive designs on the ground across the globe.

Lauren Bon and her Metabolic Studio explore self-sustaining and self-diversifying systems of exchange that feed emergent properties that regenerate the life web. Her ongoing project Bending the River aspires to reconnect the LA river with the Los Angeles State Historic Park and the New Albion Riverside Park, seeing the river as a sustaining living system.

18:00 Talk by Newton Harrison
19:30 Talk by Lauren Bon
Followed by a conversation between Lauren Bon and Newton Harrison, hosted by Otobong Nkanga and Maya Tounta

Otobong Nkanga, „Preliminary Recipe for a Support System“. (2016/17), digitale Zeichnung, Collage und Acryl auf Papier, 42 × 28 cm © Otobong Nkanga

Otobong Nkanga, „Preliminary Recipe for a Support System“. (2016/17), digitale Zeichnung, Collage und Acryl auf Papier, 42 × 28 cm

© Otobong Nkanga

Vortrag und Gespräch

Pioneers of Environmental Art

Mit Lauren Bon und Newton Harrison

Teil von „Carved to Flow: Germination“ von „In House: Artist in Residence“ Otobong Nkanga, ko-kuratiert mit Maya Tounta

Lauren Bon und Newton Harrison sprechen im Gropius Bau über ihre künstlerische Praxis und das Potenzial von Kunst, in Zeiten schwindender Biodiversität Einfluss auf Lebens-und Ökosysteme zu nehmen. Auf die Vorträge folgt ein Gespräch, das die diesjährige Artist in Residence Otobong Nkanga und Maya Tounta moderieren.

  • In englischer Sprache

Das Restaurant Beba im Gropius Bau wird nach der Veranstaltung noch bis 22:00 geöffnet sein.

In einer Zeit des Massenaussterbens und zunehmenden gesellschaftlichen Wandels verhandeln Lauren Bon und Newton Harrison Kunst als Möglichkeit diesem Aussterben zu begegnen und Lösungen zu entwickeln, die Biodiversität und Gemeinschaften stärken. Die Künstler*innen untersuchen das Potenzial der Kunst, einen echten Einfluss auf Lebens- und Ökosysteme zu haben, und stellen ein Modell der kollaborativen und disziplinübergreifenden Gestaltung vor, dessen Dringlichkeit nachhallt. Diese umfangreiche, sich selbst tragende Art der Arbeit erinnert an Otobong Nkangas Projekt Carved to Flow, das – trotz einer anderen Ausrichtung – darauf abzielt, sich zu emanzipieren, um neue Unterstützungssysteme zu schaffen.

Newton Harrison arbeitete von 1969 bis 2012 mit seiner Frau Helen Mayer Harrison (1927–2018) zusammen und setzt das künstlerische Schaffen des gemeinsamen Studios seit ihrem Tod fort. Ursprünglich darauf ausgerichtet, die Erhaltung des Lebens- und Ökosystems voranzutreiben und ökologische Schäden abzumildern, hat sich ihre Arbeit seit 2007 insbesondere auf die aktive Bekämpfung der von Menschen verursachten Zerstörung verlagert. Harrison und sein Team, das derzeit am Center for the Study of the Force Majeure an der University of California Santa Cruz angesiedelt ist, entwickeln weiterhin groß angelegte, reaktive Projekte auf der ganzen Welt.

Lauren Bon und ihr Metabolic Studio untersuchen sich selbst tragende und diversifizierende Austauschsysteme, die entstehende Prozesse für die Regeneration des Lebens-und Ökosystems nähren. Ihr laufendes Projekt Bending the River zielt darauf ab, den Los Angeles River wieder mit dem Los Angeles State Historic Park und dem New Albion Riverside Park zu verbinden und den Fluss als tragendes Lebens-und Ökosystem zu stärken.

18:00 Vortrag von Newton Harrison
19:30 Vortrag von Lauren Bon
Gefolgt von einem Gespräch zwischen Lauren Bon und Newton Harrison, moderiert von Otobong Nkanga und Maya Tounta