"Jet"-Issue from July 1956

“Jet”-Issue from July 1956

Photo: Vaginal Davis, Courtesy: Johnson Publishing Company

Performance

Hinten Gymnasium, vorne Museum

Performative Reading by Vaginal Davis

On the occasion of the exhibition The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates, Vaginal Davis presents a performative reading that brings her late mother’s copy of the July 1956 issue of Jet magazine to life.

  • 45 min
  • In English

Vaginal Davis has a long standing history with magazine culture. She grew up reading Ebony and Jet magazines, and during her time in the LA Punk scene she created the legendary zines Fertile LaToyah Jackson, Shrimp and Yes, Ms. Davis. Filled with gossip, scandal and beauty tips, the publications are an extension of her larger-than-life drag performances.

At the Gropius Bau, Vaginal Davis presents Hinten Gymnasium, vorne Museum, a performative reading dedicated to one particularly avid Jet reader, her mother, Mary Magdalene Duplantier. Reading from one of Mrs. Duplantier’s cherished copies of Jet from July 1956, this evening forms a rather different way to celebrate the most American of holidays, the Fourth of July.

Vaginal Davis is best known as a drag performer. Her performances use razor-sharp wit to take down white privilege and to critique patriarchal structures. All of her activities whether as an archivist, front woman or former gallerist are served with a side of camp and a portion of 1960s talk-show sass.

Viewers currently have the rare opportunity to see a selection of her paintings at the Gropius Bau. Ladies on Papier. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis is her first institutional presentation in Berlin. Over six weeks, six different portraits of figures from the worlds of art, film and literature will be on display, changing every Wednesday, until 21 July 2019.

"Jet"-Ausgabe vom Juli 1956

„Jet“-Ausgabe vom Juli 1956

Foto: Vaginal Davis, Courtesy: Johnson Publishing Company

Performance

Hinten Gymnasium, vorne Museum

Performative Lesung von Vaginal Davis

Anlässlich der Ausstellung The Black Image Corporation. Theaster Gates präsentiert Vaginal Davis eine performative Lesung, die ein Exemplar des Magazins Jet vom Juli 1956, das ihrer kürzlich verstorbenen Mutter gehörte, zum Leben erweckt.

  • 45 min
  • In englischer Sprache

Vaginal Davis’ eigene Geschichte ist eng mit Zeitschriftenkultur verbunden. Sie wuchs mit den Magazinen Ebony und Jet auf, und in ihrer Zeit in der L.A.-Punk-Szene kreierte sie selbst die legendären Zines Fertile LaToyah Jackson, Shrimp und Yes, Ms. Davis. Die auf Klatsch, Skandale und Beauty-Tipps spezialisierten Publikationen sind eine Erweiterung ihrer überlebensgroßen Drag-Performances.

Im Gropius Bau präsentiert Vaginal Davis Hinten Gymnasium, vorne Museum, eine performative Lesung, die einer begeisterten Jet-Leserin gewidmet ist – ihrer Mutter Mary Magdalene Duplantier. Ausgehend von einer besonders geschätzten Ausgabe von Jet vom Juli 1956 soll dieser Abend eine ganz andere Art bieten, den amerikanischsten aller Feiertage, den 4. Juli, zu feiern.

Vaginal Davis ist vor allem als Drag-Performerin bekannt. Ihre Performances verwenden messerscharfen Witz, um weiße Privilegien infrage zu stellen und patriarchalische Strukturen zu kritisieren. Ihre zahlreichen Aktivitäten, ob als Archivarin, Frontfrau oder ehemalige Galeristin, sind von subversivem Humor und einer guten Portion glamourösem Trash durchzogen.

Im Gropius Bau haben Besucher*innen aktuell auch die seltene Chance, eine Auswahl ihrer Gemälde zu sehen. Ladies on Paper. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis ist die erste institutionelle Präsentation ihrer Arbeiten in Berlin. Sechs Wochen lang sind bis zum 21. Juli 2019 sechs verschiedene Porträts von Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst, Film und Literatur zu sehen, die jeden Mittwoch wechseln.