FOKUS

FOKUS

© Klaus Fröhlich

Dance

FOKUS

Junior Company Bonn – They Might Be Giants

Your gaze meets that of the others, you circle each other, move together, energetically, ecstatically. You’re not dancing alone, you dance your way into the scene and it dances with you. Whether you’re in the centre or on the sides – you will all meet, because you are all audience, you are all performers. Solos, duets, trios, quartets create a constantly shifting and always fresh focus: from the individual body to the collective and vice versa.

  • 40 min, without interval

Junior Company Bonn is a youth ensemble of Cocoondance Company from Bonn. It was founded in 2012 and has been working with children and young people between the ages of 8 to 18 years ever since. “FOKUS” is Junior Company Bonn’s sixth production. At the beginning of rehearsals for “FOKUS”, there was a long phase where everyone was asked to wear headphones and find their own qualities, their own dance style. Nothing was choreographed or predetermined. A question emerged: What does it mean to stand at the centre, in the focus. We took our inspiration from urban battle circles, which is why circles play a significant role in our piece. Since everyone has a solo in the piece, rehearsals were often very intense and everyone had the opportunity to make a contribution to the whole. From these two core questions – “What is the quality?” and “What does it mean to be in the focus?” – a performance made up entirely out of our own movements emerged over the course of a year.

Cast

By and with Pauline Dicks, Favour Eroboyi, Dimitrij Fleischmann, Amand Herzceg, Patricia Hochstatter, Lucy Hooge, Jan Lukas Knecht, Lola Kornbrust, Clara Krueger, Emilia Lichte, Anna Nowak, Torben Pakleppa, Maris Pauka, Milon Pauka, Marco Pfister, Charlotte Reinhold, Marja Riekenbrauk, Anna Risters, Jonas Schuman, Anouk Seiters, Carolin Straube, Luna Vesga Vargas

Choreography Rafaële Giovanola
Composition Jörg Ritzenhoff
Costumes Fa-Hsuan Chen
Lighting Design Sirko Lamprecht
Assistance/Coaching Leonardo Rodrigues, Fa-Hsuan Chen, Marcelo Omine
Research Rainald Endrass

FOKUS. Video trailer

© Junior Company Bonn - They Might Be Giants

FOKUS

FOKUS

© Klaus Fröhlich

Tanz

FOKUS

Junior Company Bonn – They Might Be Giants

Dein Blick trifft den der anderen, ihr kreiselt umeinander, bewegt euch gemeinsam, energetisch, ekstatisch. Du tanzt nicht allein, du tanzt dich in die Szene und sie tanzt mit dir. In der Mitte oder am Rand – ihr begegnet euch, denn ihr alle seid Publikum, ihr alle seid Akteur*innen. Soli, Duette, Trios, Quartette stellen einen sich permanent verschiebenden, immer wieder neuen Fokus her: vom einzelnen Körper auf den kollektiven und umgekehrt.

  • 40 min, ohne Pause

Die Junior Company Bonn ist ein Jugendensemble der Bonner Cocoondance Company. Sie wurde 2012 gegründet und arbeitet seitdem mit Kindern und Jugendlichen zwischen 8 und 18 Jahren. „FOKUS“ ist bereits die sechste Produktion der Bonner Junior Company. Zu Beginn der Proben für „FOKUS“ hatten wir eine sehr lange Phase, in der jede*r mit Kopfhörern ihre*seine eigene Qualität, ihren*seinen eigenen Tanzstil finden sollte. Nichts war fest choreografiert oder vorgegeben. Es entwickelte sich die Frage, was es bedeutet, in der Mitte bzw. im Fokus zu stehen. Hier haben wir uns von urbanen Battlekreisen inspirieren lassen. Weswegen der Kreis in unserem Stück auch eine tragende Rolle einnimmt. Da jede*r im Stück ein Solo hat, waren die Proben oft sehr intensiv und jede*r einzelne konnte ihren*seinen Teil zum Gesamten beitragen. Aus diesen zwei Kernfragen – „Was ist die Qualität?“ und „Was bedeutet es, im Fokus zu sein?“ – entwickelte sich nach und nach über ein Jahr hinweg ein Stück, das zu 100% aus unseren eigenen Bewegungen besteht.

Besetzung

Von und mit Pauline Dicks, Favour Eroboyi, Dimitrij Fleischmann, Amand Herzceg, Patricia Hochstatter, Lucy Hooge, Jan Lukas Knecht, Lola Kornbrust, Clara Krueger, Emilia Lichte, Anna Nowak, Torben Pakleppa, Maris Pauka, Milon Pauka, Marco Pfister, Charlotte Reinhold, Marja Riekenbrauk, Anna Risters, Jonas Schuman, Anouk Seiters, Carolin Straube, Luna Vesga Vargas

Choreografie Rafaële Giovanola
Komposition Jörg Ritzenhoff
Kostüme Fa-Hsuan Chen
Licht Sirko Lamprecht
Assistenz/Coaching Leonardo Rodrigues, Fa-Hsuan Chen, Marcelo Omine
Recherche Rainald Endrass

FOKUS. Videotrailer

© Junior Company Bonn - They Might Be Giants