Classy Classics: DECADANCE

Classy Classics: DECADANCE. Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

© Regina Brocke

Dance
Guest Performance

Classy Classics

Choreographs by William Forsythe, Eric Gauthier, Marco Goecke, Ohad Naharin and Cayetano Soto

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

In spite of the tongue-in-cheek title, one should not expect a lavish ballet evening! “Classy Classics” is a celebration of contemporary dance, combining three masterpieces by star choreographers with two favourites from the Gauthier dance repertoire.

  • 2 h, 30 min, one interval

Early Bird Special
15 % discount until 31 August 2019

Modern ballet is inseparably linked with the name of William Forsythe: For several decades, the elegance and clear lines of his impressive oeuvre have enriched contemporary dance. At the same time, the Herman Schmerman Duet is the best proof of how much lightness and humour there is in Forsythe‘s accomplished, almost mathematically structured works. A dancer in pointe shoes and her male partner initially seem to be all set for a neoclassical pas de deux. But it takes Forsythe only a few minutes to ironically break the familiar patterns and tell the story of a very contemporary relationship. Witty, laid-back – and incredibly virtuosic. The “Herman Schmerman Duet” used to be the showpiece of the great Sylvie Guillem but is now rarely seen on dance stages around the world. Gauthier Dance is honoured that Forsythe has given the go-ahead to include his duet in the Classy Classics programme.

After several succesful collaborations, the time was ripe for an official partnership: Since January 2019, Marco Goecke has been associated with Gauthier Dance as Artist-in-Residence. It is thus only logical that the much sought-after choreographer will be part of the “Classy Classics” line-up. He is represented by the production that marked his breakthrough and made his unmistakable, quivering dance idiom known to a broad audience. Within the framework of the programme, Äffi does not only stand for the solo position. It is also a supremely confident choice. After all, the breathless piece set to music by Johnny Cash demands everything from its performer, both technically and emotionally.

DECADANCE is the ultimate surprise bag. Not a piece but a constantly changing work-in-progress. As if he was turning a kaleidoscope, Ohad Naharin compiles a new version for each city, for each company, all excerpts from his previous works. And that‘s a lot since the original version was premiered in 2000. Now he has agreed to create a “DECADANCE” arrangement for Stuttgart! A sign of appreciation that is no coincidence. The House Choreographer of the Batsheva Dance Company and world-famous “Mr. Gaga” already had two opportunities to appraise the quality of Gauthier Dance first-hand. True to the motto “No COLOURS festival without a piece by Ohad Naharin”, the company performed “Kamuyot” at the COLOURS debut in 2015 and “Minus 16” at the second edition in 2017 – each time to the master’s complete satisfaction.

Full attack: Malasangre is a whirlwind of a piece. Dressed in short skirts, their hands shaped into claws, the dancers are sweeping over a stage covered with black fabric butterflies. Cayetano Soto‘s deeply felt homage to the Cuban singer La Lupe shows the darkness of a tormented soul, at the same time turning this inner conflict into the source of the greatest possible energy. In combination with the radiant music of the Queen of Latin Soul, this eccentric, feverish revue literally blows the audience away. Premiered in 2013 as part of the ballet evening “Future 6”, it is high time for a revival.

The much-loved miniature comedy Orchestra of Wolves dates back even further. Today it is hard to imagine that, in 2009, Eric Gauthier created the humorous showdown between a conductor and his orchestra for a company of just eight dancers. To the pounding sounds from the well-known first movement of Beethoven‘s 5th “Symphony of Fate“, the musicians in wolf masks encircle their principal…

www.gauthierdance.com
www.facebook.com/gauthierdance
www.twitter.com/theaterhaus
www.instagram.com/gauthierdance

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Artistic Director Eric Gauthier
Ballet Mistresses Federica Dadamo, Louisa Rachedi
Production Management Alexandra Brenk
Company Coach Egon Madsen
Artistic Management Lisa Beck
Press Nicola Steller
Tour Management ecotopia dance productions

Cast

Herman Schmerman Duet
Choreography William Forsythe
Lighting Design & Stage William Forsythe
Music Thom Willems
Costumes Gianni Versace, William Forsythe
Staging Maurice Causey
Ballet Mistress Louisa Rachedi
World Premiere: 26.09.1992; Ballet Frankfurt, Opernhaus, Germany

Äffi
Choreography Marco Goecke
Lighting Design Udo Haberland
Music Johnny Cash
Staging Nicole Kohlmann & Fabio Palombo
Ballet Mistress Louisa Rachedi
World Premiere: 18.06.2005 ARDT Dans Benefiz Gala, Schouwburg Arnheim, Niederlande

DECADANCE
Choreography Ohad Naharin
Lighting Design & Stage Avi Yona Bueno
Music Maxim Waratt, Alison Goldfrapp, Will Gregory, David Darling, Ohad Fishof and Maxim Waratt, Ali Hassan Kuban, Habib Alla Jamal & Khader Shama, Kid 606, AGF, Chari Chari, Rayon, Kaho Naa… Pyaar Hai, Chronomad, The Beach Boys written by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks
Costumes Rakefet Levy
Assistant to the Choregrapher Matan David (Ltg.), Shahar Biniamini, Guy Shomroni
Ballet Mistresses Louisa Rachedi & Federica Dadamo
Originally commissioned for the Batsheva Dance Company

Malasangre
Choreography, Stage & Costumes Cayetano Soto
Lighting Design & Stage Cayetano Soto, Mario Daszenies
Music La Lupe
Staging Mikiko Arai
Ballet Mistress Federica Dadamo
World Premiere: 11.01.2013, Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Orchestra of Wolves
Choreography Eric Gauthier
Lighting Design Mario Daszenies
Music Ludwig van Beethoven
Stage & Costumes Gudrun Schretzmeier
Ballet Mistress Federica Dadamo
World Premiere: 18.11.2009 Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg

Organiser: Theaterhaus Stuttgart

A Theaterhaus Stuttgart production
A warm thank you to our sponsors Fashion- und Lifestylehaus Breuninger in Stuttgart and Luisa Cerano/Sporlastic as well as to our supporters The First Friends und Friends of Gauthier Dance and the Foundation Herbert Metzger and Anneliese Metzger-Nord.
Theaterhaus Stuttgart is sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Bank, the City of Stuttgart and the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg

Classy Classics: DECADANCE

Classy Classics: DECADANCE. Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

© Regina Brocke

Tanz
Gastveranstaltung

Classy Classics

Choreografien von William Forsythe, Eric Gauthier, Marco Goecke, Ohad Naharin und Cayetano Soto

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Wer angesichts des augenzwinkernden Stücktitels an einen opulenten Ballettabend denkt, liegt allerdings falsch. „Classy Classics“ feiert Meisterstücke des zeitgenössischen Tanzes, ergänzt durch zwei länger nicht gezeigte Lieblingsstücke aus dem Gauthier Dance-Repertoire.

  • 2 h, 30 min, eine Pause

Wer Ballettmoderne sagt, kommt an William Forsythe nicht vorbei: Sein beeindruckendes Oeuvre verleiht dem zeitgenössischen Tanz seit mehreren Jahrzehnten Eleganz und klare Linie. Das Herman Schmerman Duet ist dennoch der beste Beweis dafür, wie viel Leichtigkeit und Humor in Forsythes souveränen, fast mathematisch strukturierten Arbeiten steckt. Eine Tänzerin auf Spitzenschuhen und ihr männlicher Partner scheinen anfangs alle Erwartungen an einen neoklassischen Pas de deux zu erfüllen. Doch Forsythe braucht nur wenige Minuten, um die bekannten Muster ironisch zu durchbrechen und die Geschichte einer sehr heutigen Beziehung zu erzählen. Spöttisch, lässig – und unglaublich virtuos. Konzipiert für die große Sylvie Guillem, ist das „Herman Schmerman Duet“ mittlerweile kaum noch auf den Tanzbühnen weltweit zu sehen. Dass Forsythe grünes Licht für Gauthier Dance gab, darf die Company zu Recht als Ritterschlag betrachten …

Nach mehreren, für beide Seiten bereichernden Kollaborationen ist Marco Goecke Gauthier Dance seit Januar 2019 als Artist-in-Residence verbunden. Klar, dass der weltweit gefragte Choreograph bei den „Classy Classics“ nicht fehlen darf. Vertreten ist er mit der Produktion, die seinen Durchbruch markierte und seine unverwechselbar vibrierende Handschrift einem breiten Publikum bekannt machte. Im Gefüge des Abends vertritt Äffi nicht nur die Solo-Position. Es ist auch eine ausgesprochen selbstbewusste Wahl. Schließlich verlangt das atemlose Stück zu Musik von Johnny Cash seinem Performer tänzerische Höchstleistungen ab, technisch wie emotional.

DECADANCE ist die ultimative Wundertüte. Kein Stück, sondern ein sich ständig veränderndes work-in-progress. Wie bei einem Kaleidoskop stellt Ohad Naharin für jede Stadt, für jede Company eine neue Version zusammen, allesamt Auszüge aus seinen bisherigen Arbeiten. Und das sind eine ganze Menge seit der Urfassung aus dem Jahr 2000. Nun wird es „DECADANCE“ bald auch für Stuttgart geben! Ein Zeichen der Verbundenheit, das kein Zufall ist. Denn der Hauschoreograph der Batsheva Dance Company und weltberühmte Schöpfer der Gaga-Methode konnte sich bereits zwei Mal direkt vor Ort von der tänzerischen Qualität überzeugen, mit der Gauthier Dance seine Werke interpretiert. Frei nach dem Motto „Kein COLOURS-Festival ohne Stück von Ohad Naharin“ stand beim COLOURS-Debüt 2015 „Kamuyot“ und in der zweiten Ausgabe 2017 „Minus 16“ auf dem Programm – jeweils zur vollsten Zufriedenheit des Meisters.

Volle Attacke: Malasangre pustet sein Publikum durch wie ein Wirbelsturm. In kurze Röcke gekleidet, die Hände zu Krallen geformt, fegen die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer nur so über die mit schwarzen Stoffschmetterlingen bedeckte Bühne. Cayetano Sotos tief empfundene Hommage an die kubanische Sängerin La Lupe zeigt die Dunkelheit einer gequälten Seele – und schafft es, diese Zerrissenheit zur Quelle der größtmöglichen Energie zu machen. In Kombination mit der strahlenden Musik der Queen of Latin Soul wird daraus eine exzentrische, fiebrige Revue, die es ihrem Publikum buchstäblich schwer macht, sitzen zu bleiben. Uraufgeführt als Teil des Ballettabends „Future 6“ von 2013, ist es höchste Zeit für eine Wiederbegegnung.

Noch weiter zurück liegt die Uraufführung der vom Publikum heiß geliebten Miniaturkomödie Orchestra of Wolves aus dem Jahr 2009. Heute unvorstellbar: Eric Gauthier kreierte den humorvollen Showdown zwischen einem Dirigenten und seinem Orchester für sein damals nur achtköpfiges Ensemble. Zu den pochenden Klängen aus dem bekannten ersten Satz aus Beethovens 5. „Schicksalssinfonie“ ziehen die Musiker in Wolfsmasken immer engere Kreise um ihren Chef…

www.gauthierdance.com
www.facebook.com/gauthierdance
www.twitter.com/theaterhaus
www.instagram.com/gauthierdance

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Künstlerische Leitung Eric Gauthier
Ballettmeisterinnen Federica Dadamo, Louisa Rachedi
Produktionsleitung Alexandra Brenk
Company Coach Egon Madsen
Künstlerisches Betriebsbüro Tanz Lisa Beck
Presse Nicola Steller
Tourmanagement ecotopia dance productions

Besetzung

Herman Schmerman Duet
Choreografie William Forsythe
Lichtdesign & Bühne William Forsythe
Musik Thom Willems
Kostüme Gianni Versace, William Forsythe
Einstudierung Maurice Causey
Ballettmeisterin Louisa Rachedi
Uraufführung: 26.09.1992; Ballet Frankfurt, Opernhaus, Germany

Äffi
Choreografie Marco Goecke
Lichtdesign Udo Haberland
Musik Johnny Cash
Einstudierung Nicole Kohlmann & Fabio Palombo
Ballettmeisterin Louisa Rachedi
Uraufführung: 18.06.2005 ARDT Dans Benefiz Gala, Schouwburg Arnheim, Niederlande

DECADANCE
Choreografie Ohad Naharin
Lichtdesign & Bühne Avi Yona Bueno
Musik Maxim Waratt, Alison Goldfrapp, Will Gregory, David Darling, Ohad Fishof and Maxim Waratt, Ali Hassan Kuban, Habib Alla Jamal & Khader Shama, Kid 606, AGF, Chari Chari, Rayon, Kaho Naa… Pyaar Hai, Chronomad, The Beach Boys written by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks
Kostüme Rakefet Levy
Assistenz des Choregrafen Matan David (Ltg.), Shahar Biniamini, Guy Shomroni
Ballettmeisterinnen Louisa Rachedi & Federica Dadamo
Originally commissioned for the Batsheva Dance Company

Malasangre
Choreografie, Bühne & Kostüme Cayetano Soto
Lichtdesign & Bühne Cayetano Soto, Mario Daszenies
Musik La Lupe
Einstudierung Mikiko Arai
Ballettmeisterin Federica Dadamo
Uraufführung: 11.01.2013, Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Orchestra of Wolves
Choreografie Eric Gauthier
Lichtdesign Mario Daszenies
Musik Ludwig van Beethoven
Bühne & Kostüme Gudrun Schretzmeier
Ballettmeisterin Federica Dadamo
Uraufführung: 18.11.2009 Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg

Veranstalter: Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Eine Produktion von Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Das Theaterhaus Stuttgart bedankt sich bei den Sponsoren Fashion- und Lifestylehaus Breuninger in Stuttgart und Luisa Cerano/Sporlastic sowie den Unterstützern First Friends und Friends of Gauthier Dance und der Stiftung Herbert Metzger und Anneliese Metzger-Nord.
Das Theaterhaus Stuttgart wird gefördert von der Mercedes-Benz Bank, der Stadt Stuttgart und dem Land Baden-Württemberg.