Keynote & Talk

Beyond Individualism? – Communities & Collectives in Jazz and Improvised Music

With Angel Bat Dawid, Jean Cook, Peter Knight, Liz Kozack, Julia Neupert, Emma Warren

This artists’ talk will address the significance of collectives and communities in today’s music scene.

  • In English

Individual (self-)assertion and collective dynamics – the tense relationship between these two poles plays a key role in jazz and improvised music, and not only on a musical level. Only very rarely conflict-free, the friction between strong, independent creative voices has often proved to be the driving force in the most exciting bands, ensembles and scenes. Ever since a group of African-American avant-garde musicians – including Anthony Braxton – founded the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians in Chicago in the 1960s, these highly individual characters have organised themselves in collectives that would get involved in production conditions and performance practices of their music and safeguard spaces of creative autonomy and community to counter the pressures of prevailing systems of economic exploitation.

Make Some Space: Tuning into Us – Keynote by Emma Warren

Departing from her recent book about London’s Total Refreshment Centre, Emma Warren will elaborate on the importance of physical space for cultural life and extend ideas of improvisation as community communication.
More about the keynote

A conversation with Angel Bat Dawid, Jean Cook, Peter Knight, Liz Kozack and Emma Warren

What are the objectives pursued by contemporary collectives in jazz and improvised music? How are creative motivations, joint ideas and material challenges set in relation with each other within different scenes and networks? How much experimental freedom and individual independence, how much solidarity or subversion can truly be achieved in artistic communities and collectives in view of current conditions of production?

Moderation Julia Neupert (SWR)

Funded by

Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien     Logo Musikfonds     Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Keynote & Gespräch

Beyond Individualism? – Communities & Kollektive in Jazz und improvisierter Musik

Mit Angel Bat Dawid, Jean Cook, Peter Knight, Liz Kozack, Julia Neupert, Emma Warren

Das Künstler*innengespräch widmet sich dem Stellenwert von Kollektiven und Communities in der heutigen Musiklandschaft.

  • In englischer Sprache

Individuelle (Selbst-)Behauptung und kollektive Dynamik – dieses Spannungsverhältnis spielt in Jazz und improvisierter Musik nicht nur auf musikalischer Ebene eine Schlüsselrolle. Selten konfliktfrei, erweist sich die Auseinandersetzung zwischen starken eigenständigen künstlerischen Stimmen oft als kreativer Motor interessanter Bands, Ensembles und Szenen. Spätestens seit sich im Chicago der 1960er Jahre eine Gruppe von afroamerikanischen Avantgarde-Musiker*innen – darunter auch Anthony Braxton – zur Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) zusammenschloss, organisieren sich solche individuellen Charaktere immer wieder in Kollektiven, die Produktionsbedingungen und Aufführungspraxis ihrer Musik (mit)gestalten und Freiräume kreativer Autonomie und Gemeinschaftlichkeit gegen den Druck der Verwertungssysteme positionieren.

Make Some Space: Tuning into Us – Keynote von Emma Warren

Emma Warren wird, ausgehend von ihrem kürzlich erschienenen Buch über das Londoner Total Refreshment Centre, auf die Bedeutung des physischen Raums für das kulturelle Leben eingehen und die Ideen der Improvisation als Community-Kommunikation ausweiten.
Mehr zur Keynote (in englischer Sprache)

Gespräch mit Angel Bat Dawid, Jean Cook, Peter Knight, Liz Kozack und Emma Warren

Welche Ziele verfolgen zeitgenössische Kollektive in Jazz und Improvisierter Musik? Wie werden künstlerische Motivationen, gemeinschaftliche Ideale und materielle Herausforderungen in verschiedenen Szenen und Netzwerken ins Verhältnis gesetzt? Wie viel experimentelle Freiheit und individuelle Eigenständigkeit, wie viel Solidarität oder Subversion lässt sich in künstlerischen Communities und Kollektiven unter den gegenwärtigen Produktionsbedingungen verwirklichen?

Moderation Julia Neupert (SWR)

Gefördert durch

Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien     Logo Musikfonds     Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung