Eve Risser, Ambrose Akinmusire, hr-Bigband

Eve Risser, Ambrose Akinmusire, hr-Bigband

© Jeff Humbert, Christie Hemm Klok, Dirk Ostermeier

Concert

Eve Risser / Ambrose Akinmusire / hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal

Apart from the German premieres of “Après un rêve” by the imaginative pianist Eve Risser and Ambrose Akinmusire’s “Origami Harvest”, the hr-Bigband featuring Joachim Kühn and Michel Portal will also be presented on Saturday night with their homage “Melodic Ornette”.

Eve Risser: Après un rêve

German premiere

French pianist Eve Risser tirelessly seeks to find new possibilities for her instrument within improvised music, whether providing dynamic ballast during her five-year stint in the Paris-based Orchestre National de Jazz or playing razor-edged fourhanded duets with Slovenian pianist Kaja Draksler. Regardless of context, in nearly all of her playing Risser nonchalantly displays a refined ability at prepared piano, with a carefully assembled toolkit that enables her to transform the instrument into a symphony of its own – particularly percussive sounds, resonant drones, and all manner of buzzing tones – while operating with a rigorous compositional logic. She performs a new work for prepared piano in collaboration with sound designer Adrian Bourget that builds upon her 2015 solo album “Des Pas Sur La Neige” transforming the extended language of her instrument, couched in a thoroughly absorbing narrative flow marked by drama, mystery, and the ineffable.

Eve Risser on ARTE

Ambrose Akinmusire: Origami Harvest

German premiere

Trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire has firmly established himself as one the most thoughtful, exploratory figures on today’s international jazz scene, imbuing his sensually electric music with fiery political undertones. “Origami Harvest” stands as his most ambitious and focussed endeavour, combining an abiding love for hip-hop with a stunning facility in composing chamber music. His agile rhythm section – pianist Sam Harris and drummer Justin Brown – carves out sleek grooves fuelled by a heavy boom-bap sensibility that melds beautifully with the trumpeter’s assuredly elegant, emotionally fraught writing for Mivos Quartet, one of the leading contemporary ensembles in the US. The sometimes whimsical but seriously biting commentary of Das Racist rapper Kool A.D. fits beautifully into the mix, with poignant ongoing commentary and extended solos from the leader, but the most powerful vocals come from Akinmusire himself on “Free, White and 21”, the latest in a series of charged elegies for unarmed “black” Americans killed by police. The ensemble is joined here by rapper Koyaki, a veteran MC from Washington D.C. with deep roots in the city’s go-go scene (go-go as in the African-American musical style combining elements of funk and R&B).

Ambrose Akinmusire Origami Harvest on YouTube

hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal: Melodic Ornette

German premiere

Walter Norris played piano on the 1958 album “Something Else!!!!”, the earth-shifting debut by free jazz progenitor Ornette Coleman, and it would be decades until he recorded with a keyboardist again. Perhaps no pianist had such an affinity for the saxophonist as Germany’s iconic Joachim Kühn, who played 16 duo concerts with Coleman between 1995 and 2000, one of which was documented by the stunning 1997 album “Colors: Live From Leipzig”. The saxophonist has long exerted a massive influence on Kühn, pushing him toward free jazz in the 1960s. This year the pianist turned 75 and released the stunning solo recording “Melodic Ornette Coleman”, a lyrically tender tribute to his old hero, including a dozen of the 170 tunes that Coleman wrote for the duo, but have never been previously recorded. With the help of Jim McNeely, Kühn has orchestrated some of the pieces for the Frankfurt Radio Big Band (hr-Bigband). The performance will feature a stellar rhythm section with drummer Joey Baron and bassist François Moutin along with the fantastic French bass clarinettist Michel Portal, all adherents of Coleman’s unique vision.

Joachim Kühn Melodic Ornette Coleman on YouTube

18:00
Eve Risser (FR) German premiere
Après un rêve

Eve Risser prepared upright piano, composition
Adrian Bourget sound design

18:30
Ambrose Akinmusire (USA) German premiere
Origami Harvest

Ambrose Akinmusire trumpet
Koyaki voice
Sam Harris piano
Justin Brown drums

Mivos String Quartet
Maya Bennardo violin
Olivia de Prato violin
Victor Lowrie viola
Tyler Borden cello

Interval

20:00
hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal (D)
Melodic Ornette

Joachim Kühn piano
Michel Portal clarinet, bass clarinet
François Moutin bass
Joey Baron drums
Jim McNeely conductor
Jim McNeely & Joachim Kühn arrangements

hr-Bigband
Frank Wellert trumpet
Thomas Vogel trumpet
Martin Auer trumpet
Axel Schlosser trumpet
Günter Bollmann trombone
Janning Trumann trombone
Christian Jaksjö trombone
Manfred Honetschläger trombone
Heinz-Dieter Sauerborn sax
Oliver Leicht sax
Tony Lakatos sax
Steffen Weber sax
Rainer Heute sax
Jean Paul Höchstädter drums
N.N. bass

Eve Risser, Ambrose Akinmusire, hr-Bigband

Eve Risser, Ambrose Akinmusire, hr-Bigband

© Jeff Humbert, Christie Hemm Klok, Dirk Ostermeier

Konzert

Eve Risser / Ambrose Akinmusire / hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal

Neben den Deutschlandpremieren „Après un rêve“ der einfallsreichen Pianistin Eve Risser und Ambrose Akinmusires „Origami Harvest“ wird am Samstagabend die hr-Bigband featuring Joachim Kühn und Michel Portal mit der Hommage „Melodic Ornette“ zu erleben sein.

Eve Risser: Après un rêve

Deutschlandpremiere

Die französische Pianistin Eve Risser erkundet ihr Instrument unermüdlich auf der Suche nach neuen klanglichen Möglichkeiten innerhalb der improvisierten Musik – ganz gleich, ob mit dem Pariser Orchestre National de Jazz, in dem sie fünf Jahre lang Mitglied war, oder im vierhändigen Duett mit der slowenischen Pianistin Kaja Draksler. Unabhängig vom jeweiligen Kontext zeigt Risser am präparierten Klavier stets großes Können und lässt das Instrument mit ihren Fähigkeiten wie eine ganze Symphonie aus vorwiegend perkussiven Sounds, dröhnenden Schwingungen und einer Vielzahl an Summgeräuschen klingen, wobei sie stets nach strikter kompositorischer Logik vorgeht. Beim Jazzfest Berlin präsentiert sie gemeinsam mit dem Sounddesigner Adrian Bourget eine neue Arbeit für präpariertes Klavier, die auf ihrem Soloalbum „Des Pas Sur La Neige“ aus dem Jahr 2015 aufbaut. Darin baut sie das erweiterte Vokabular ihres Instruments zu einem fesselnden Erzählfluss voll Drama, Geheimnis und Unergründlichkeit aus.

Eve Risser bei ARTE

Ambrose Akinmusire: Origami Harvest

Deutschlandpremiere

Der Trompeter Ambrose Akinmusire hat sich als einer der nachdenklichsten und innovativsten Köpfe der internationalen Jazzszene einen Namen gemacht, indem er seine elektrisierende Musik mit beißenden politischen Untertönen durchtränkt. „Origami Harvest“ gilt als seine bislang ambitionierteste Arbeit, in der sich seine anhaltende Liebe zum Hip-Hop mit beeindruckender Könnerschaft in kammermusikalischer Komposition paart. Seine dynamische Rhythmusgruppe um Pianist Sam Harris und Schlagzeuger Justin Brown erzeugt schlichte Grooves mit starken Boom-bap-Zügen, die hervorragend zu der selbstbewussten, emotional aufgeladenen Musik passt, die der Trompeter für das Mivos Quartett komponiert hat – eines der führenden zeitgenössischen Ensembles der USA. Der Rapper Kool A.D. von Das Racist steuert skurril-bissige Kommentare bei, auf die der Bandleader unter anderem mit ausgedehnten Soli reagiert. Die stärksten Vocals stammen jedoch von Akinmusire selbst: sie sind auf „Free, White and 21“ zu bewundern, der letzten in einer Reihe von Elegien für afroamerikanische US-Amerikaner*innen, die von der Polizei getötet wurden. Beim Jazzfest Berlin wird das Ensemble durch den Rapper Koyaki ergänzt, einen erfahrenen MC aus Washington D.C. mit Wurzeln in der Go-Go-Szene (Go-Go ist ein afroamerikanischer Musikstil, der Funk- und R&B-Elemente kombiniert) der Stadt.

Ambrose Akinmusire Origami Harvest bei YouTube

hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal: Melodic Ornette

Deutschlandpremiere

Auf „Something Else!!!!“, dem phänomenalen Debütalbum des Free-Jazz-Urvaters Ornette Coleman aus dem Jahr 1958, spielte Walter Norris Klavier. Danach sollte es Jahrzehnte dauern, bis Coleman wieder mit einem Tasteninstrumentalisten zusammenarbeiten würde. Wohl kein anderer Pianist hatte einen so engen Draht zu dem Saxofonisten wie Joachim Kühn: Zusammen spielten sie zwischen 1995 und 2000 16 Duokonzerte, von denen eines auf dem fantastischen Album „Colors: Live from Leipzig“ dokumentiert wurde. Coleman hat Kühn lange stark beeinflusst und brachte ihn in den 1960er- Jahren zum Free Jazz. In diesem Jahr feierte der Pianist seinen 75. Geburtstag und veröffentlichte das Soloalbum „Melodic Ornette Coleman“, eine lyrische, liebevolle Hommage an sein altes Idol, auf dem zwölf der 170 Stücke zu hören sind, die Coleman für das Duo geschrieben hatte, die aber nie zuvor aufgenommen wurden. Gemeinsam mit Jim McNeely hat Joachim Kühn nun einige dieser Stücke für die hr-Bigband arrangiert. Gleich mehrere Anhänger von Colemans einzigartiger musikalischer Vision werden bei diesem Konzert zu erleben sein, darunter eine herausragende Rhythmusgruppe um den Schlagzeuger Joey Baron und den Bassisten François Moutin sowie der grandiose französische Klarinettist Michel Portal.

Joachim Kühn Melodic Ornette Coleman bei YouTube

18:00
Eve Risser (FR) Deutschlandpremiere
Après un rêve

Eve Risser prepared upright piano, composition
Adrian Bourget sound design

18:30
Ambrose Akinmusire (USA) Deutschlandpremiere
Origami Harvest

Ambrose Akinmusire trumpet
Koyaki voice
Sam Harris piano
Justin Brown drums

Mivos String Quartet
Maya Bennardo violin
Olivia de Prato violin
Victor Lowrie viola
Tyler Borden cello

Pause

20:00
hr-Bigband feat. Joachim Kühn & Michel Portal (D)
Melodic Ornette

Joachim Kühn piano
Michel Portal clarinet, bass clarinet
François Moutin bass
Joey Baron drums
Jim McNeely conductor
Jim McNeely & Joachim Kühn arrangements

hr-Bigband
Frank Wellert trumpet
Thomas Vogel trumpet
Martin Auer trumpet
Axel Schlosser trumpet
Günter Bollmann trombone
Janning Trumann trombone
Christian Jaksjö trombone
Manfred Honetschläger trombone
Heinz-Dieter Sauerborn sax
Oliver Leicht sax
Tony Lakatos sax
Steffen Weber sax
Rainer Heute sax
Jean Paul Höchstädter drums
N.N. bass