Rashid Johnson, “Antoine’s Organ”, 2016

Rashid Johnson, “Antoine’s Organ”, 2016. Installation view Garden of Earthly Delights, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2019

Photo: André Wunstorf, courtesy: the artist and Hauser & Wirth

Exhibition, Guided Tours

Long Night of Museums at the Gropius Bau

Art, technology and cultural history during the hours of night: 75 Berlin museums open their doors for the 2019 edition of the Long Night of Museums and offer a diverse programme of 750 events. At the Gropius Bau, visitors can explore two exhibitions and two events.

Within the scope of the Long Night of Museums, the exhibitions Bani Abidi: They Died Laughing and Garden of Earthly Delights are open from 18:00 to 2:00. In addition to two architecture tours, Rashid Johnson's installation in the atrium is acoustically activated by a piano player.

19:00 and 20:00
Architecture tour
Built in the Italian Neo-Renaissance style and opened in 1881, the Gropius Bau hosted various institutions and collections throughout its history. The guided tour gives insights into the history and architecture of the exhibition venue.

21:00–23:00
Piano music in the atrium
Activating Rashid Johnson’s installation Antoine’s Organ

The artist Rashid Johnson is interested in the contrasts between nature and culture, and in his installation Antoine’s Organ he offers new ways of looking at cultural symbols and artefacts. In the Long Night, the work will be activated by piano music.

Rashid Johnson, „Antoine’s Organ“, 2016

Rashid Johnson, „Antoine’s Organ“, 2016. Installationsansicht Garten der irdischen Freuden, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2019

Foto: André Wunstorf, Courtesy: der Künstler und Hauser & Wirth

Ausstellungen, Führungen

Lange Nacht der Museen im Gropius Bau

Eine Nacht voller Kunst, Technologie und Kulturgeschichte: 75 Berliner Museen öffnen bei der Langen Nacht der Museen 2019 ihre Türen und bieten mit rund 750 Veranstaltungen ein vielfältiges Programm für alle. Der Gropius Bau ist mit zwei Ausstellungen und zwei Veranstaltungen wieder dabei.

Im Rahmen der Langen Nacht der Museen sind die Ausstellungen Bani Abidi: They Died Laughing und Garten der irdischen Freuden im Gropius Bau von 18:00 bis 2:00 Uhr geöffnet. Neben zwei Architekturführungen wird Rashid Johnsons Installation im Lichthof durch Klaviermusik aktiviert.

19:00 und 20:00
Architekturführung
Der im Stil der Renaissance errichtete und 1881 eröffnete Gropius Bau wurde im Laufe seiner Geschichte zum Sitz verschiedener Institutionen und Sammlungen. Die Führung gibt Einblicke in Architektur und Historie des Ausstellungshauses.

21:00–23:00
Klaviermusik im Lichthof
Aktivierung von Rashid Johnsons Installation Antoine’s Organ

Interessiert an den Gegensätzen von Natur und Kultur bietet der Künstler Rashid Johnson mit seiner Installation „Antoine´s Organ“ neue Perspektiven auf kulturelle Symbole und Artefakte. Im Rahmen der Langen Nacht wird die Arbeit durch Klaviermusik aktiviert.