© BC architects & studies

© BC architects & studies

Talk
In House: Artist in Residence – Otobong Nkanga

The Act of Building

BC architects & studies

Architect and material technologist Ken De Cooman talks about the work of research-based architecture office BC architects & studies centred upon regional material technologies and active community involvement. The talk is part of Carved to Flow: Germination by In House: Artist in Residence Otobong Nkanga, co-curated with Maya Tounta.

  • Duration: 2 h
  • In English

The act of building is at once action and narrative. It is the complex effort of a community to erect its infrastructures, spanning across skillsets and demographics, across materials and technologies. It generates impact and expresses the values and ideas of a broad network around a specific project.

BC architects & studies aim to interrogate the act of building by broadening their design process to include material production, contracting, storytelling, knowledge transfer and community organisation.

BC stands for Brussels Cooperation and points to how BC architects, studies and materials grew, embedded within a place and people. BC starts from architecture, and through research, experimentation and development of expertise moves to material production and contracting. As a hybrid office, BC manoeuvres the boundaries of these disciplines in “a doer's manner”.

© BC architects & studies

© BC architects & studies

Vortrag
In House: Artist in Residence – Otobong Nkanga

The Act of Building

BC architects & studies

Der Architekt und Materialtechnologe Ken De Cooman gibt Einblicke in die forschungsbasierte Arbeit des Architekturbüros BC architects & studies, deren Schwerpunkt auf regionalen Materialtechnologien und der aktiven Einbeziehung lokaler Communitys liegt. Der Vortrag ist Teil von Carved to Flow: Germination von In House: Artist in Residence Otobong Nkanga, ko-kuratiert mit Maya Tounta.

  • Dauer: 2 h
  • In englischer Sprache

Der Akt des Bauens ist zugleich Aktion und Erzählung. Es handelt sich dabei um das komplexe, gemeinschaftliche Bestreben, Infrastrukturen zu errichten, die auf unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen, Demografien, Materialien und Technologien aufbauen. Es hat einen direkten Einfluss auf die Umwelt und bringt die Werte und Ideen eines breiten Netzwerks im Rahmen eines spezifischen Projekts zum Ausdruck.

BC architects & studies befragen den Akt des Bauens, indem sie ihre Gestaltungsprozesse öffnen und die materielle Produktion, Vergabeverfahren, Erzählungen, Wissenstransfer und gemeinschaftliche Organisation mit einbinden.

BC steht für Brussels Cooperation. Der Name hebt hervor, wie BC architects, studies and materials entstanden sind – angebunden an einen Ort und eine Gemeinschaft. BC setzen bei der Architektur an und forschen, experimentieren und bauen Expert*innenwissen auf, bis sie schließlich bei der materiellen Produktion und vertraglichen Übereinkünften ankommen. Als hybrides Büro überschreiten sie die Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen, indem sie sich aktiv involvieren.