Sibylle Bergemann © IT WORKS!

Sibylle Bergemann © IT WORKS!

Film and talk

Mein Leben – Die Fotografin Sibylle Bergemann

With Sabine Michel, Frieda and Lily von Wild, moderated by Till Fellrath

Part of the exhibition Walking Through Walls

On the occasion of the group exhibition Walking Through Walls, which features black and white photographs by Sibylle Bergemann, the Gropius Bau shows the documentary Mein Leben – Die Fotografin Sibylle Bergemann (DE 2011, 45 min.). The film is followed by a conversation between director Sabine Michel, Frieda von Wild and Lily von Wild, the artist's daughter and granddaughter, which is moderated by curator Till Fellrath.

  • In German

Eight small black and white photographs by Sibylle Bergemann discreetly punctuate the exhibition space of Walking Through Walls. Taken between November 1989, around the time when the Berlin Wall fell, and the early months of 1990 these images capture a fleeting moment in the life of a city that was about to change forever, creating a subtle thread that addresses a short-lived, yet crucial episode in German history.

Sibylle Bergemann was part of a generation of East German photographers who sought a mode of visual expression that operated outside the aesthetics and subjects that were endorsed by the GDR. Beyond a simple repository of knowledge, Bergemann’s unassuming photographs capture at once the hope and anxiety of Berlin and its inhabitants at this historic moment of transition.

Sibylle Bergemann © IT WORKS!

Sibylle Bergemann © IT WORKS!

Film und Gespräch

Mein Leben – Die Fotografin Sibylle Bergemann

Mit Sabine Michel, Frieda und Lily von Wild, moderiert von Till Fellrath

Zur Ausstellung Durch Mauern gehen

Anlässlich der Gruppenausstellung Durch Mauern gehen, in der auch kleinformatige Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien von Sibylle Bergemann zu sehen sind, zeigt der Gropius Bau den Dokumentarfilm Mein Leben – Die Fotografin Sibylle Bergemann (DE 2011, 45 Min.). Auf den Film folgt ein Gespräch zwischen der Regisseurin Sabine Michel sowie der Tochter und der Enkelin der Künstlerin, Frieda und Lily von Wild, das von Kurator Till Fellrath moderiert wird.

  • In deutscher Sprache

Acht kleinformatige Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien von Sibylle Bergemann sind über die Ausstellung Durch Mauern gehen verteilt. Die Aufnahmen der Künstlerin entstanden zwischen November 1989, als die Berliner Mauer fiel, und den ersten Monaten des Jahres 1990. Sie bilden das Leben in einer Stadt ab, die im Begriff war, sich für immer zu verändern und schaffen so einen Bezug zu einem der wichtigsten Kapitel deutscher Geschichte.

Sibylle Bergemann gehört zu einer Generation ostdeutscher Fotograf*innen, die auf der Suche nach einer Bildsprache abseits der in der DDR typischen Ästhetik und Themenwahl waren. Bergemanns Fotografien bieten nicht nur einen Fundus zeitgeschichtlichen Wissens, sondern zeigen zugleich die Hoffnungen und Sorgen der Einwohner*innen Berlins zu diesem historischen Zeitpunkt.