Film still from “Throw Down”

Film still from “Throw Down”

Film
Sundays for Hong Kong

Throw Down

Feature film, HK 2004, DCP, restored version
Directed by Johnnie To

To’s highly personal tribute to his favourite film-maker Akira Kurosawa is hilarious, affecting, melancholic and absurd, all at the same time. And it has cool action visuals that don’t take themselves too serious.

  • 95 min
  • In Cantonese with English subtitles

The characters in “Throw Down” are all losers, but they are entrusted with the most profound meaning of a harmony that may be impossible, but is alive and kicking nevertheless. There is an ex-judo champion whose fate is one of misadventure (Louis Koo), a beautiful, penniless singer who has no future and is overlooked by fame (Cherrie Ying) and a young sportsman who chooses challenges as a form of survival, fighting against the end of hope itself (Aaron Kwok).

Martial arts have always been popular in Hong Kong cinema, but a judo film is still very rare. In this quiet ode to men and women subdued by life and confined to its margins, we find one of the most stunning, moving and stylistically breath-taking scenes that To has ever shot, the escape from the gambling den, an action scene that stops and starts many times, with the rhythm, abstraction, the humanity and the scenography of a 1950’s Hollywood musical.

Throw Down

Trailer

Filmstill aus „Throw Down“

Filmstill aus „Throw Down“

Film
Sundays for Hong Kong

Throw Down

Spielfilm, HK 2004, DCP, restaurierte Fassung
Regie: Johnnie To

Tos ganz persönliche Hommage an seinen Lieblingsfilmemacher Akira Kurosawa ist gleichzeitig urkomisch, anrührend, melancholisch und absurd, und die coolen Actionbilder nehmen sich selbst nicht allzu ernst.

  • 95 min
  • In kantonesischer Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Die Figuren in „Throw Down“ sind allesamt Verlierer, aber sie tragen eine tiefe Harmonie in sich, die zwar scheinbar unmöglich, aber trotzdem quicklebendig ist. Da sind der Ex-Judochampion, dessen Leben ein einziges Missgeschick ist (Louis Koo), eine wunderschöne, mittellose Sängerin ohne jegliche Hoffnung auf Ruhm und Erfolg (Cherrie Ying) und ein junger Sportler (Aaron Kwok), der Herausforderungen annimmt, um zu überleben und der vor allem gegen die Hoffnungslosigkeit selbst ankämpft.

Kampfkunst war zwar im Hongkong-Kino schon immer sehr beliebt, aber ein Judofilm ist doch eine Rarität. In dieser ruhigen Ode an Männer und Frauen, die vom Leben besiegt an den Rändern der Gesellschaft leben, finden wir eine der erstaunlichsten Szenen, die To jemals gedreht hat: die Flucht aus einer Spielhölle, eine Aktion-Szene, die immer wieder stoppt und startet, mit dem Rhythmus, der Abstraktion, der Menschlichkeit und dem Szenenbild eines Hollywoodmusicals aus den 1950er Jahren.

Throw Down

Trailer