Exhibition

Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals

27 March to 12 July 2020

Lee Mingwei’s artistic practice is primarily concerned with rituals of giving and receiving. Until 12 July, the Gropius Bau will present a solo exhibition by the artist, showing his installations and performances from the last three decades. Central to the exhibition is an exploration of art’s potential to be a transformative gift.

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006–present

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006–present. Mixed media interactive installation, Sand, wooden island, lighting, 1300 x 643 cm
Installation view Lee Mingwei and His Relations, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, 2015

Courtesy: Taipei Fine Arts Museum

Performances in the exhibition
Sonic Blossom, 14:00–18:00 (daily)
Our Labyrinth, 11:00–15:00 (daily)
The Mending Project, 10:30–14:30 (Mon, Wed) & 10:30–18:30 (Thu–Sun)

Performance Guernica in Sand
A five-hour performance on 4 July 2020. To the event

Explore more
Read an interview with Lee Mingwei and discover two new works as well as digital activations of the exhibition. To the overview

In Lee Mingwei’s works immaterial gifts such as song, conversation or contemplation are given and received. For many of his projects the starting point are his personal encounters, which are then transformed into installations. Seeing such experiences as moments in which time is gifted, Lee's projects reveal a fascination for the role of the host. Accordingly, in autumn 2019, the artist put out open calls looking for Berlin-based hosts to activate several of his projects. In The Living Room hosts are invited to exhibit their unique collections and in The Mending Project the menders host conversations with visitors whilst repairing their damaged items of clothing. These processes create a common space where viewers are given the opportunity to enter into exchange, and rituals of care and healing begin to unfold.

During your exhibition visit, you can bring clothing in need of attention to the Gropius Bau. As part of The Mending Project, chosen menders will sew these articles. The clothes are then attached by threads to spools on the wall, forming an ever-growing installation. After the exhibition the repaired items can be collected by their owners (between 13–17 & 20–24 July 2020, 10:00–18:00).

Curated by Stephanie Rosenthal with Clare Molloy

Funded by Ministry of Culture, Taiwan

Logo Kulturministerium Taiwan

Partners: Wall, Bouvet
Media partners: Berlin Art Link, Exberliner, In Your Pocket, kunst:art

Ausstellung

Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale

27. März bis 12. Juli 2020

Im Mittelpunkt von Lee Mingweis künstlerischer Praxis stehen Rituale des Schenkens und Beschenktwerdens. Bis 12. Juli 2020 zeigt der Gropius Bau eine Einzelausstellung des Künstlers, die seine Performances und Installationen der letzten drei Jahrzehnte präsentiert und Kunst als transformatives Geschenk untersucht.

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006–heute

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006–heute. Interaktive Mixed–Media–Installation, Sand, Holzinsel, Beleuchtung, 1300 x 643 cm
Installationsansicht Lee Mingwei and His Relations, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, 2015

Courtesy: Taipei Fine Arts Museum

Performances in der Ausstellung
Sonic Blossom, 14:00–18:00 (täglich)
Our Labyrinth, 11:00–15:00 (täglich)
The Mending Project, 10:30–14:30 (Mi, Mo) & 10:30–18:30 (Do–So)

Performance Guernica in Sand
Eine fünfstündige Performance am 4. Juli 2020. Zur Veranstaltung

Mehr entdecken
Neben einem Interview mit dem Künstler finden Sie hier zwei neue Arbeiten und digitale Aktivierungen der Ausstellung. Zur Übersicht

In Lee Mingweis Arbeiten werden immaterielle Gaben wie Lieder, Gespräche und Raum für Kontemplation verschenkt und empfangen. Ansatzpunkt seiner Projekte sind häufig persönliche Begegnungen, auf deren Basis der Künstler Installationen entwickelt. Lees Auseinandersetzung mit Erfahrungen, in denen Zeit verschenkt wird, bedingt seine Faszination für das Gastgeben. Im Herbst 2019 hat der Künstler daher Open Calls veröffentlicht, um Berliner*innen als Gastgeber*innen in seine kommende Ausstellung einzubinden. Im Rahmen des Projekts The Living Room sind diese Gastgeber*innen eingeladen, ihre persönlichen Sammlungen auszustellen, während sie in The Mending Project mitgebrachte Textilien von Besucher*innen ausbessern und mit diesen ins Gespräch kommen. Diese Prozesse begründen einen gemeinsamen Erfahrungsraum, der gegenseitigen Austausch sowie heilende und fürsorgliche Rituale erlaubt.

Für die Arbeit The Mending Project können reparaturbedürftige Kleidungsstücke während des Ausstellungsbesuchs mit in den Gropius Bau gebracht werden, um vor Ort ausgebessert zu werden. Die Kleidung wird dann über Fäden mit Spulen an der Wand verbunden und bildet eine ständig wachsende Installation. Nach der Ausstellung können die geflickten Textilien wieder mit nach Hause genommen werden (zwischen 13.–17. & 20.–24. Juli 2020, 10:00–18:00).

Kuratiert von Stephanie Rosenthal mit Clare Molloy

Katalog
Der Katalog zur Ausstellung 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale beleuchtet durch vertiefende Essays und ein Gespräch mit dem Künstler die zentralen Fragestellungen von Lee Mingweis Schaffen. Über 80 farbige Abbildungen geben Einblicke in die Ausstellung. Mit Beiträgen von Irina Aristarkhova, Harvey Molotch, Clare Molloy und Stephanie Rosenthal. Zum Webshop

Gefördert durch das Kulturministerium Taiwan

Logo Kulturministerium Taiwan

Partner: Wall, Bouvet
Medienpartner: Berlin Art Link, Exberliner, In Your Pocket, kunst:art