Exhibition

The Cool and the Cold. Painting in the USA and the USSR 1960–1990

Ludwig Collection

24 September 2021 to 9 January 2022

30 years after the demise of the Soviet Union, the Gropius Bau presents The Cool and the Cold: Painting in the USA and the USSR 1960–1990, an extensive group show that brings together works held by the Ludwig Collection from six international museums.

Ralph Goings, Airstream, 1970

Ralph Goings, Airstream, 1970

© Ralph Goings, photo: mumok - Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, loan of the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation

Peter and Irene Ludwig were among the first collectors to acquire art by American and Soviet artists simultaneously. The exhibition establishes a critical juxtaposition of works from both camps in the East-West conflict, examining how artists responded during the Cold War to the political and aesthetic questions of their time and negotiated ideas of individual and social freedom.

The selection features approximately 125 works by over 80 artists, including Andy Warhol, Jasper Johns, Ilya Kabakov, Erik Bulatov, Jo Baer, Lee Lozano, Jackson Pollock, Helen Frankenthaler, Viktor Pivovarov, Natalya Nesterova and Ivan Čujkov.

Curated by Benjamin Dodenhoff and Brigitte Franzen

Organised in cooperation with the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation

Under the patronage of the Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs, Heiko Maas

Partners: Wall, ALEXA, Bouvet, Yorck Kino, Dussmann
Media partners: Tagesspiegel, Monopol, Weltkunst, kunst:art, Mousse Magazine, rbbKultur

Ausstellung

The Cool and the Cold. Malerei aus den USA und der UdSSR 1960–1990

Sammlung Ludwig

24. September 2021 bis 9. Januar 2022

30 Jahre nach dem Ende der Sowjetunion präsentiert der Gropius Bau The Cool and the Cold. Malerei aus den USA und der UdSSR 1960–1990, eine umfangreiche Gruppenausstellung aus den Beständen der Sammlung Ludwig aus sechs internationalen Museen.

Roy Lichtenstein, Hopeless, 1963

Roy Lichtenstein, Hopeless, 1963. Acryl auf Leinwand, 177,8 x 152,4 cm

© Estate of Roy Lichtenstein & VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Foto: Kunstmuseum Basel, Martin P. Bühler, Courtesy: Kunstmuseum Basel, Leihgabe der Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Peter und Irene Ludwig gehörten weltweit zu den ersten Sammler*innen, die US-amerikanische und sowjetische Kunst parallel sammelten. Die Ausstellung ermöglicht die kritische Gegenüberstellung von Werken aus beiden Lagern des Ost-West-Konflikts und untersucht, wie Künstler*innen zur Zeit des Kalten Krieges auf politische wie ästhetische Fragen ihrer Epoche reagierten und Vorstellungen individueller und gesellschaftlicher Freiheit verhandelten.

Gezeigt werden rund 165 Arbeiten von über 100 Künstler*innen, unter anderem von Andy Warhol, Jasper Johns, Ilja Kabakov, Erik Bulatov, Jo Baer, Lee Lozano, Jackson Pollock, Helen Frankenthaler, Viktor Pivovarov, Natalja Nesterova und Ivan Čujkov.

Kuratiert von Benjamin Dodenhoff und Brigitte Franzen

Organisiert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesministers des Auswärtigen, Heiko Maas

Partner: Wall, ALEXA, Bouvet, Yorck Kino, Dussmann
Medienpartner: Tagesspiegel, Monopol, Weltkunst, kunst:art, Mousse Magazine, rbbKultur