Exhibition

Otobong Nkanga: There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground

10 July to 13 December 2020

Otobong Nkanga’s interest lies in the complex relationship between humans and land. In her works, she explores this relationship within the tension between exploitative extraction processes and structures of care and repair. Following her one-year stay as In House: Artist in Residence 2019 at the Gropius Bau, a solo exhibition will offer insights into the central issues of her work.

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015. Various metals, Forex, acrylic, tar, salt, make-up, vermiculite, Dimensions variable
Installation view Crumbling Through Powdery Air, Portikus, 2015

Photo: Helena Schlichting, courtesy: Portikus

Diaspore: Performance in the exhibition
Temporarily paused
More information
Carved to Flow: Germination – with Nuno Vasconcelos
Wed, Thu, Fri: 14:00–18:00 (work space on the ground floor)

Otobong Nkanga evokes the idea that the human body and the landscape on which it moves are interdependent. Based on extensive research and the interweaving of various media such as drawing, installation and performance, she traces the movement of minerals, goods and people in order to explore in depth economic and ecological processes. In her work, she also investigates the differing meanings ascribed to natural resources in various cultures and the violent relationship on which their extraction and further processing is based – thus challenging traditional ways of thinking.

Curated by Stephanie Rosenthal with Clara Meister

Diaspore Performers: Kathiana Abraham, Julie Abricot, Chikamara Nicole Ajah, Loane Alonzeau, Cylan Barker, Stephanie Burrell, Raphaëlle Efoui Delplanque, Elif Huber, Virginnia Krämer, Isabel Kwarteng-Acheampong, Oumou Nassri Aidara, Adelle Nqeto, Chantale Nurse, Ekene Okobi, Manuela Rondón

Funded by

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Kindly supported by the Flemish Community, Freifrau Manufaktur
Partners: Wall, Bouvet
Media partners: Berlin Art Link, Exberliner, Missy Magazine, KubaParis

Ausstellung

Otobong Nkanga: There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground

10. Juli bis 13. Dezember 2020

Otobong Nkangas Interesse gilt der komplexen Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Land, die sie in ihren Arbeiten im Spannungsfeld von ausbeuterischen Extraktionsverfahren und Strukturen von Reparatur und Fürsorge untersucht. Nach ihrem einjährigen Aufenthalt als In House: Artist in Residence 2019 im Gropius Bau bietet die Einzelausstellung einen Einblick in zentrale Fragestellungen ihres Schaffens.

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015. Verschiedene Metalle, Forex, Acryl, Asphalt, Salz, Make-up, Vermiculit, Dimensionen variabel
Installationansicht Crumbling Through Powdery Air, Portikus, 2015

Foto: Helena Schlichting, Courtesy: Portikus

Workshops und Führungen zur Ausstellung
Alle Termine

Carved to Flow: Germination – mit Nuno Vasconcelos
Mi, Do, Fr: 14:00–18:00 (Arbeitsraum im Erdgeschoss)
Mehr Infos

Für Otobong Nkanga lassen sich der menschliche Körper und die Erde, auf der er sich bewegt, nicht losgelöst voneinander betrachten; auf Basis umfassender Recherchen und durch die Verschränkung verschiedener Medien wie Zeichnung, Installation und Performance zeichnet Nkanga die Bewegung von Mineralien, Gütern und Menschen nach, um ökonomische und ökologische Prozesse umfassend zu ergründen. In ihren Arbeiten erforscht sie zudem die variierenden Bedeutungen, die natürlichen Ressourcen in unterschiedlichen Kulturen zugeschrieben werden, sowie das gewaltsame Verhältnis, auf dem deren Abbau und Weiterverarbeitung fußen – und stellt so tradierte Denkweisen infrage.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground hat Otobong Nkanga ihre Arbeit Diaspore angepasst, um den spezifischen Kontext der Präsentation im Gropius Bau in Berlin einzubeziehen. Ursprünglich als performative Arbeit konzipiert, wird Diaspore nun als ortsspezifische Installation gezeigt. Mehr Informationen

Kuratiert von Stephanie Rosenthal mit Clara Meister

Gefördert durch

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von der Flämischen Gemeinschaft, Freifrau Manufaktur
Partner: Wall, Bouvet
Medienpartner: Berlin Art Link, Exberliner, Missy Magazine, KubaParis