Concert
Visting : Frankfurt/Main

Ensemble Modern Orchestra

Vimbayi Kaziboni, conductor
Heiner Goebbels: “A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook”

This concert will take place; its programme has been modified and the seating capacity is reduced. As a result, already purchased tickets are no longer valid.
Information on reimbursement of already purchased tickets and buying new tickets can be accessed on the ticket page.

Discover our new complete programme for 2020.

Earliest version of the “Roderich O’Connor” piece from “Finnegans Wake”

Earliest version of the “Roderich O’Connor” piece from “Finnegans Wake”. In: David Hayman (Hrsg.), „A First Draft Version of Finnegans Wake“, Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press, 1963, p. 206

Past Dates

“A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook” is a four-part cycle of compositions in which the Ensemble Modern Orchestra will respond to voices that Heiner Goebbels has recorded in an imaginary notebook. Voices that he came across in projects or archives, on his travels and during encounters – sometimes coincidentally – and that now return to ‘set the tone’ with sounds and languages of their own: dialogues, invocations, prayers, evocations, appeals, speech acts or songs. These distinctive, ‘peculiar’ voices will have their say on a concert stage now – most of them for the first time. The musicians respond to them, individually or as a collective, like the choir in a responsory: they comment, interrupt, encourage and disagree.

“a prolongued visit to a house of call” – this is a line to be found on page 41 of James Joyce’s “Finnegan’s Wake”, not far from the onomatopoetic ‘roaratorio’ which was to give John Cage’s audio piece its name. This audio piece has had a lasting influence on me, because, in the midst of a stream of many voices, John Cage reads through the novel’s 628 pages, mesostic by mesostic – like a ‘sung writing of language’. This is how Roland Barthes described the grittiness (grain) of the voice, and it is this grain – le grain de la voix – that the voices gathered in my imaginary notebook have in common.
Heiner Goebbels 2020

An important feature of many of Heiner Goebbels’ works is the attraction of absent, acousmatic voices. This can be observed on his first single “Berlin Kudamm 12.4.81” (1981), in the “Chaconne / Kantorloops” from “Surrogate Cities” (1994), the performance “Stifters Dinge” (2007), the sound installation “Genko An” (2008ff.) or his audio pieces. In “A House of Call”, the voices will become the protagonists of an entire concert for the first time.

Concert Programme

Heiner Goebbels (*1952)
A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook (2020)

Commissioned by Ensemble Modern, Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, musica viva / Bayerischer Rundfunk, Kölner Philharmonie, Wien Modern / Wiener Konzerthaus and beuys2021
World premiere

Cast

Ensemble Modern Orchestra
Vimbayi Kaziboni conductor
Heiner Goebbels lighting direction
Norbert Ommer sound direction

A project within the framework of BTHVN 2020. Funded by the Minister of State for Culture and the Media.
A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Logo BTHVN 2020

Konzert
Gastspiel : Frankfurt/Main

Ensemble Modern Orchestra

Vimbayi Kaziboni, Leitung
Heiner Goebbels: „A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook“

Bereits bei seiner Gründungstournee 1998 hatte das Ensemble Modern Orchestra ein Orchesterwerk von Heiner Goebbels im Programm. Nun schreibt der Komponist auf Initiative des Musikfest Berlin und des Ensemble Modern zum Beethoven-Jahr 2020 einen neuen Zyklus für den in großer Orchesterfassung auftretenden Frankfurter Klangkörper.

Früheste Version des „Roderich O’Connor”-Stücks aus „Finnegans Wake“

Früheste Version des „Roderich O’Connor”-Stücks aus „Finnegans Wake“. In: David Hayman (Hrsg.), „A First Draft Version of Finnegans Wake“, Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press, 1963, p. 206

19:10 Einführung

„A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook“ ist ein vierteiliger Zyklus mit Kompositionen, in denen das Ensemble Modern Orchestra auf Stimmen reagieren wird, die Heiner Goebbels in einem imaginären Notizbuch bewahrt hat; Stimmen, auf die er bei Projekten, Reisen, Begegnungen oder in Archiven – manchmal auch zufällig – gestoßen ist und die jetzt mit ihren eigenen Klängen und Sprachen wieder- kehren und ‚den Ton angeben‘: Dialoge, Beschwörungen, Gebete, Anrufungen, Aufrufe, Sprechakte oder Lieder. Es sind unver- wechselbare, ‚eigentümliche‘ Stimmen, die jetzt, meist zum ersten Mal, auf einer Konzertbühne zu Wort kommen. Die Musikerinnen und Musiker des Orchesters antworten darauf, individuell oder kollektiv, wie der Chor in einem ‚Responsorium‘: sie kommentieren, unterbrechen, unterstützen und widersprechen.

„a prolonged visit to a house of call“ – die Zeile findet sich bei James Joyce in „Finnegans Wake“, auf Seite 41, unweit des onomato- poetischen ‚roaratorio‘, das dem Hörstück von John Cage den Namen geben sollte. Ein Hörstück, das mich nachhaltig geprägt hat, weil sich John Cage inmitten eines Stroms vieler Stimmen, Mesostichon für Mesostichon, durch die 628 Seiten des Romans liest – wie ein ‚gesungenes Schreiben der Sprache‘. So hat Roland Barthes die Rauheit (Körnung) der Stimme beschrieben, und diese Rauheit – le grain de la voix – macht das Gemeinsame der Stimmen aus, die sich in meinem imaginären Notizbuch eingefunden haben.
Heiner Goebbels 2020

In vielen der Arbeiten von Heiner Goebbels spielt die Anziehung abwesender, akusmatischer Stimmen eine wichtige Rolle; ob 1981 auf seiner ersten Single „Berlin Kudamm 12.4.81“ (1981), in der „Chaconne / Kantorloops“ aus „Surrogate Cities“ (1994), in der Performance „Stifters Dinge“ (2007), der Klang-Installation „Genko An“ (2008ff.) oder in seinen Hörstücken. In „A House of Call“ werden die Stimmen zum ersten Mal zu Protagonisten eines ganzen Konzertes.

Konzertprogramm

Heiner Goebbels (*1952)
A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook (2020)

Kompositionsauftrag von Ensemble Modern, Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, musica viva / Bayerischer Rundfunk, Kölner Philharmonie, Wien Modern / Wiener Konzerthaus und beuys2021
Uraufführung

Ein Projekt im Rahmen von BTHVN 2020. Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.
Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Logo BTHVN 2020