Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

© Chris Christodoulou

Concert

Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor
Visiting: London

Following the rousing success of Berlioz‘ “Benvenuto Cellini” at the 2019 Musikfest Berlin, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, the Monteverdi Choir and the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique will present Beethoven’s “Missa solemnis” – the very work that launched the career of this extraordinary orchestra in 1989.

18:00 Critics’ Quartet
about “Missa Solemnis”

This piece overwhelms its listeners. It baffles and provokes controversy. Beethoven considered the “Missa solemnis” to be his “greatest, most accomplished” work. For artists like pianist Igor Levit, it was the key experience that drove them towards Beethoven. The composer himself called it an oratorio, which means that it was not intended for church service. It unites the dramatic and the spiritual, palpable realism and refined artistic sublimation, scenic clarity and philosophical wisdom.

John Eliot Gardiner has explored and revisited Beethoven’s great credo over a period of several years, a piece that captures and rethinks centuries of European intellectual and musical history. He first recorded the “Missa” in 1990 – with the very same ensembles that will now perform it at Musikfest Berlin. Both of them, Monteverdi Choir and Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique were founded by Gardiner himself. Together, they undertook expeditions into the historical contexts of music with an age-old tradition, finding out what the old works have to tell us today. Their concertante performance of Hector Berlioz’ opera “Benvenuto Cellini” at Musikfest 2019 was an impressive example of how music can be brought into the present in a most captivating manner.

The challenges of “Missa solemnis” are by no means lesser than those found in Berlioz’ musical drama. The diversity of its score was informed by traditions of opera, liturgy, symphony, concert and sacred music. Bringing these sometimes contradictory forces into the right balance demands the ability to keep “the entirety [of the work] in sight at all times” (Beethoven). Beethoven may have left the text of the Latin Ordinary of the Mass unaltered, but he composed it like a libretto, which meant that the music was not confined to a mere affirmation of the text. What he created is not a confession of faith in the triune god according to established Christian instruction, but rather a work about the eternal communication between mankind and divinity, between the earth and the heavens – about the path towards “inner and outer peace”, for which mankind seems to need guiding stars beyond their acute condition.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Missa Solemnis in D major op. 123 (1819 – 1822/23)
for four solo voices, choir, orchestra and organ

Cast

Lucy Crowe soprano
Elisabeth DeShong alto
Allan Clayton tenor
Morris Robinson bass

Monteverdi Choir
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event as part of BTHVN 2020. Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Logo BTHVN 2020

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

© Chris Christodoulou

Konzert

Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Leitung
Gastspiel: London

Nach dem fulminanten Erfolg von Berlioz’ „Benvenuto Cellini“ beim Musikfest Berlin 2019 präsentieren Sir John Eliot Gardiner, der Monteverdi Choir und das Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique Beethovens „Missa solemnis“ – das Werk, mit dem 1989 die Karriere des außergewöhnlichen Orchesters begann.

18:00 Quartett der Kritiker
zu „Missa Solemnis“

Sie überwältigt ihre Hörer. Sie stellt Rätsel, löst Kontroversen aus. Beethoven hielt die „Missa solemnis“ für sein „größtes, gelungenstes“ Werk. Für Künstler wie den Pianisten Igor Levit war sie das Initialerlebnis, das sie zu Beethoven drängte. Der Komponist nannte sie ein Oratorium, das heißt: Sie ist nicht für den Gottesdienst gemacht. Sie vereint Dramatisches und Spirituelles, handgreiflichen Realismus und feinste künstlerische Sublimierung, szenische Deutlichkeit und philosophische Weisheit.

John Eliot Gardiner hat sich mit dem großen Bekenntniswerk Beethovens, das Jahrhunderte europäischer Geistes- und Musikgeschichte einholt und neu denkt, über Jahrzehnte immer wieder auseinandergesetzt. 1990 spielte er die „Missa“ zum ersten Mal ein – mit eben den Ensembles, die sie nun beim Musikfest Berlin aufführen. Beide, den Monteverdi Choir und das Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, gründete er einst selbst. Sie unternahmen mit ihm die Expeditionen in die historischen Kontexte überlieferter Musik und gewannen daraus die Erkenntnis dessen, was die alten Werke den Menschen von heute zu sagen haben. Ein eindrucksvolles Beispiel solch mitreißender Vergegenwärtigung gaben sie beim Musikfest 2019 mit der konzertanten Aufführung von Hector Berlioz’ Oper „Benvenuto Cellini“.

Die „Missa solemnis“ stellt keine geringeren Anforderungen als Berlioz’ Musikdrama. In die Vielgestaltigkeit ihrer Partitur flossen Traditionen der Oper, der Messfeier, der Symphonie, des Konzerts und der geistlichen Musik ein. Die teilweise widerstrebenden Kräfte in die richtige Balance zu bringen, verlangt die Fähigkeit, „immer das Ganze vor Augen“ (Beethoven) zu haben. Beethoven ließ den Text des lateinischen Messordinariums zwar unverändert, aber er komponierte ihn wie ein Libretto, zu dem sich die Musik nicht nur affirmativ verhalten muss. Entstanden ist kein Bekenntnis zum dreieinigen Gott nach gängiger Christenlehre, sondern ein Werk über die ewige Auseinandersetzung zwischen Mensch und Gottheit, zwischen Irdischem und Himmlischem – über den Weg zum „inneren und äußeren Frieden“, für den der Mensch wohl Leitsterne außerhalb seiner akuten Verfassung braucht.

Konzertprogramm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Missa Solemnis D-Dur op. 123 (1819 – 1822/23)
für vier Solostimmen, Chor, Orchester und Orgel

Besetzung

Lucy Crowe Sopran
Elisabeth DeShong Alt
Allan Clayton Tenor
Morris Robinson Bass

Monteverdi Choir
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin im Rahmen von BTHVN 2020. Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Logo BTHVN 2020