Ferruccio Busoni sits the sculptor Numa Patlagean model, 1914

Ferruccio Busoni sits the sculptor Numa Patlagean model, 1914

© Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Musical estate F. Busoni, PI, 22

Concert
Visiting : Rome

Orchestra e Coro dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia – Roma

Sir Antonio Pappano, conductor
Beethoven | Schönberg | Busoni

It is their first visit to Musikfest Berlin: The choir and orchestra of the venerable Roman Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, one of the world’s oldest music institutions, will perform with their Musical Director Sir Antonio Pappano. They will be joined by pianist Igor Levit.

19:10 work introduction

A premiere: This year, the orchestra and choir of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, an ensemble deeply steeped in tradition, will make their Musikfest Berlin-debut. Founded in 1908, the orchestra was intended to increase the esteem of the symphonic repertoire in Italy – a task that it has more than fulfilled ever since under the direction of many renowned conductors. Rooted in one of Europe’s oldest musical institutions, today it represents a successful synthesis of the traditional and the contemporary.

They will travel to Berlin with their Music Director Sir Antonio Pappano, who has significantly refined the orchestra’s sound culture, honed the profile of its repertoire and led it to internationally acknowledged top achievements. They will present a programme that tests the limits of dimensions in all respects: The concert will begin with Beethoven’s singular “Great Fugue” in a setting for string orchestra. This version expresses a tendency toward the orchestral already inherent in the original version, which was composed for a string quartet.

Another solitary in the concert landscape is Ferruccio Busoni’s monumental Concerto for Piano with Orchestra and Male Choir in C major. Igor Levit is the soloist in this performance of the work, which demands the highest virtuosity of a pianist. In his piano concerto with male choir, Ferruccio Busoni continues an experiment that Beethoven had begun with his Choral Fantasy. Or, in the words of Wolfgang Rihm: “The piano concerto is a symphony that is both a concerto and a vocal symphony. At its conclusion, it is joined by the sound of a choir – a kind of Faustus-symphony by Doctor Faustus.” In between Beethoven and Busoni, the music of Arnold Schönberg will resound – and nowhere else does it sound more sensuous and colourful than in his Five Pieces for Orchestra op. 16.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Great Fugue in B flat major op. 133 (1825)
in the version for string orchestra

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Five Orchestra Pieces op. 16 (1909, version from 1949)

Ferruccio Busoni (1866 – 1924)
Concert for Piano and Orchestra with Male Choir in C major op.39 (1904)

Concerto per un Pianoforte principale e diversi strumenti ad arco, a fiato, ed a percussione. Aggiuntovi un Coro finale per voci d‘uomini a sei parti. Le parole alemanne del poeta Oehlenschlaeger, danese.

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert
Gastspiel : Rom

Orchestra e Coro dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia – Roma

Sir Antonio Pappano, Leitung
Beethoven | Schönberg | Busoni

Zum ersten Mal beim Musikfest Berlin zu Gast: Chor und Orchester der altehrwürdigen römischen Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, einer der ältesten Musikinstitutionen der Welt mit seinem Chefdirigenten Sir Antonio Pappano. Mit von der Partie an dem Abend: der Pianist Igor Levit.

Ferruccio Busoni sitzt dem Bildhauer Numa Patlagean Modell, 1914

Ferruccio Busoni sitzt dem Bildhauer Numa Patlagean Modell, 1914

© Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Mus. Nachl. F. Busoni, PI, 22

19:10 Einführung

Eine Premiere: Zum ersten Mal sind Orchester und Chor der traditionsreichen Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia aus Rom beim Musikfest Berlin zu Gast. 1908 ins Leben gerufen, sollte das Orchester dem symphonischen Repertoire in Italien zu mehr Geltung verhelfen, was es seither mit großem Erfolg und unter der Leitung vieler namhaften Dirigenten getan hat. Verankert in einer der ältesten Musikinstitutionen Europas steht es heute für die gelungene Synthese aus Tradition und Zeitgenossenschaft.

Nach Berlin kommt es mit seinem Chefdirigenten Sir Antonio Pappano, der die Klangkultur des Orchesters entscheidend verfeinert, sein Repertoireprofil geschärft und es zu international anerkannter Spitzenleistung geführt hat. Präsentiert wird ein Programm, das in jeder Hinsicht die Dimensionen sprengt: Am Beginn des Konzerts steht Beethovens singuläres Werk, die „Große Fuge“ in einer Fassung für Streichorchester. Diese Version ist Ausdruck einer Tendenz zum Orchestralen, die der ursprünglichen für Streichquartett komponierten Fassung bereits innewohnt.

Ebenso ein Solitär im Konzertleben ist Ferruccio Busonis monumentales Konzert für Klavier, Orchester und Männerchor in C-Dur. Igor Levit ist der Solist dieses, an die Virtuosität des Pianisten höchste Ansprüche stellenden Werks. Ferruccio Busoni führt in seinem Klavierkonzert mit Männerchor ein Experiment weiter, das Beethoven mit seiner Chorfantasie begann. Oder mit Wolfgang Rihm gesagt: „Das Klavierkonzert ist eine Symphonie, die ein Konzert und eine Vokalsymphonie ist. Am Schluss tritt Chorklang hinzu – eine Art Faustsymphonie von Doktor Faust.“ Zwischen Beethoven und Busoni aber erklingt Schönberg: Nirgends klingt dessen Musik sinnlicher und farbfreudiger als in seinen Fünf Orchesterstücken op. 16.

Konzertprogramm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Große Fuge B-Dur op. 133 (1825)
in der Fassung für Streichorchester

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Fünf Orchesterstücke op. 16 (1909, Fassung von 1949)

Ferruccio Busoni (1866 – 1924)
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester mit Männerchor C-Dur op.39 (1904)

Concerto per un Pianoforte principale e diversi strumenti ad arco, a fiato, ed a percussione. Aggiuntovi un Coro finale per voci d‘uomini a sei parti. Le parole alemanne del poeta Oehlenschlaeger, danese.

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin