Rain

Rain

© Anne Van Aerschot

Dance

Rain (live)

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Ictus

World premiere 10.01.2001, De Munt / La Monnaie, Brussels
Revival 4.10.2016 Koninklijk Circus / Cirque Royal, De Munt / La Monnaie & Kaaitheater, Brussels

“Rain” is considered one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s signature pieces and most successful performances. Choreographed to Steve Reich’s “Music for 18 Musicians”, performed live by the Ictus Ensemble, this production from 2001 unites two pioneering artists of the 20th century.

  • 1 h 10 min, without interval

In front of a gigantic curtain of ropes, ten dancers measure the space with their movements – soft circular and spiralling figures that are constantly interrupted by clear lines and diagonals. To the sound of composer Steve Reich’s heartbeat-like rhythm, a constant alternation of tension and release, chaos and order, vertiginous acceleration and sudden stops generates a maelstrom that tells of vitality and connectedness.

Following “Fase” (1982) and “Drumming” (1998), “Rain” is De Keerskmaeker’s third exploration of Steve Reich’s minimal music. With seven female and three male dancers, she translates the slight shifts, tiny variations, mathematical formations and repetitions of Reich’s musical structure into an exuberant geometric game of vital and yet exhausting group choreographies.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker is considered one of the most internationally influential choreography of our times. Following her studies at the MUDRA School for Dance and the Tisch School of the Arts in New York, she choreographed her first own work, “Asch”, in 1980, which already clearly demonstrated her interest in the close interaction of movement and music. In 1983, De Keersmaeker founded her company Rosas. Her most recent performances at Berliner Festspiele were “Cesena” and “En Atendant” in 2012 and “Partita 2” in 2013.

The Ictus Ensemble, who have also visited Berliner Festspiele several times, is renowned for its unusual concert formats.

Cast

Choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Music Steve Reich (Music for 18 Musicians)
Musicians Ictus
Musical Director Georges-Elie Octors
Costume Design Dries Van Noten
Lighting Design Jan Versweyveld

Dancers
Laura Bachman, Léa Dubois, Anika Edström Kawaji, Zoi Efstathiou, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, José Paulo dos Santos / Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi / Lav Crnčević, Luka Švajda / Thomas Vantuycom

Musicians Ictus
Miquel Bernat, Tom de Cock, Géry Cambier, Ruben Martinez Orio, Jessica Ryckewaert percussions
Gerrit Nulens, Georges-Elie Octors percussions & piano
Laurence Cornez, Fabian Fiorini, Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Stéphane Ginsburgh piano
Dirk Descheemaeker, Carlos Galvez clarinet
Igor Semenoff violin

Rain (2016 revival) - Teaser

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Ictus

Production Rosas & De Munt / La Monnaie, Brussels (2001). Co-production De Munt / La Monnaie, Brussels, Sadler’s Wells, London, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg (2016)
Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation.
The Berlin performances are made possible by Inga Maren Otto and supported by

Flanders

Rain

Rain

© Anne Van Aerschot

Tanz

Rain (live)

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Ictus

Uraufführung 10.01.2001, De Munt / La Monnaie, Brüssel
Wiederaufnahme 4.10.2016 Koninklijk Circus / Cirque Royal, De Munt / La Monnaie & Kaaitheater, Brüssel

„Rain“ gilt als Signature Piece und eine der erfolgreichsten Arbeiten Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers. Choreografiert zu Steve Reichs „Music for 18 Musicians“, live eingespielt vom Ictus Ensemble, vereint diese Produktion aus dem Jahr 2001 zwei wegweisende Künstler*innen des 20. Jahrhunderts.

  • 1 h 10 min, ohne Pause

Vor einem gigantischen Seilvorhang vermessen zehn Tänzer*innen den Raum mit ihren Bewegungen – weichen kreis- und spiralförmigen Figuren, die immer wieder von klaren Linien und Diagonalen durchbrochen werden. Zum herzschlagartigen Rhythmus Steve Reichs entsteht im konstanten Wechsel aus Spannung und Entspannung, Chaos und Ordnung, schwindelerregender Beschleunigung und plötzlichen Stopps ein Sog, der von Vitalität und Verbundenheit erzählt.

Nach „Fase“ (1982) und „Drumming“ (1998) ist „Rain“ De Keersmaekers dritte Auseinandersetzung mit der minimalistischen Musik Steve Reichs. Sie übersetzt die musikalische Struktur mit ihren leichten Verschiebungen, winzigen Variationen, mathematischen Formationen und Wiederholungen mit sieben Tänzerinnen und drei Tänzern in ein überbordendes geometrisches Spiel vitaler und gleichzeitig erschöpfender Gruppenchoreografien.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker gilt als eine der international einflussreichsten Choreograf*innen der Gegenwart. Nach ihrem Studium an der MUDRA Schule für Tanz und der Tisch School of the Arts in New York choreografierte sie 1980 ihre erste eigene Arbeit, „Asch“, in der ihr Interesse für das enge Wechselspiel von Bewegung und Musik bereits sehr deutlich wird. 1983 gründete De Keersmaeker ihre Kompanie Rosas. Zuletzt gastierte sie 2012 mit ihren Stücken „Cesena“ und „En Atendant“ sowie 2013 mit „Partita 2“ bei den Berliner Festspielen.

Das Ictus Ensemble, das ebenfalls bereits mehrfach bei den Berliner Festspielen zu Gast war, ist bekannt für seine ungewöhnlichen Konzertformate.

Besetzung

Choreografie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Musik Steve Reich (Music for 18 Musicians)
Musiker*innen Ictus
Musikalische Leitung Georges-Elie Octors
Kostüme Dries Van Noten
Licht Jan Versweyveld

Tänzer*innen
Laura Bachman, Léa Dubois, Anika Edström Kawaji, Zoi Efstathiou, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, José Paulo dos Santos / Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi / Lav Crnčević, Luka Švajda / Thomas Vantuycom

Musiker*innen Ictus
Miquel Bernat, Tom de Cock, Géry Cambier, Ruben Martinez Orio, Jessica Ryckewaert Percussion
Gerrit Nulens, Georges-Elie Octors Percussion & Klavier
Laurence Cornez, Fabian Fiorini, Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Stéphane Ginsburgh Klavier
Dirk Descheemaeker, Carlos Galvez Klarinette
Igor Semenoff Violine

Rain (2016 revival) - Teaser

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas & Ictus

Eine Produktion von Rosas & De Munt / La Monnaie, Brüssel (2001). In Koproduktion mit De Munt / La Monnaie, Brüssel, Sadler’s Wells, London, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg (2016)
Rosas wird unterstützt durch die Flämische Regierung und durch die BNP Paribas Foundation.
Die Berliner Gastspiele werden ermöglicht durch Inga Maren Otto und unterstützt durch

Flanders