Dance

Achterland

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

World premiere 27.11.1990 Muntschouwburg, Brussels
Revival 13.03.2018 Concertgebouw, Bruges

Dear Audience, It is with great regret that we have to inform you that the performances of “Rain (live)”, which were planned for 2 to 4 April, have to be cancelled due to the current developments connected with the spreading of the Coronavirus. Information on returning tickets

Berliner Festspiele On Demand: From 1 to 29 April we will present on our website a recording of “Rain” (live) and an adaptation of “Achterland”, complemented by a documentary on “Rain”. To the videos

Based on the music of György Ligeti and Eugène-Auguste Ysaÿes, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and her company develop a choreographic score that oscillates between energetically charged virtuosity and musical deceleration.

Achterland

Achterland

© Anne Van Aerschot

  • 1 h 30 min, without interval

Past Dates

The choreography for “Achterland” is ground-breaking in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre, because this production from the year 1990 was the first in which she created a musical vocabulary for male dancers in her previously predominantly female company. Furthermore, she placed the musicians at centre-stage to make them an active element within the dynamics of the piece – an approach that the Belgian choreographer was to use repeatedly in later works.

In “Achterland”, the dominating femininity and minimalism of earlier choreographies made way for an equivocal no-man’s-land where boundaries and symbols become blurred: Young girls wear women’s dresses, a man dances with feminine expression, female dancers in business suits descend to the floor in spiralling motion, only to spring back up in the next moment. In failed attempts to make contact, male and female dancers circle each other without touching. They chase one another without ever owning each other; their movements are responses to the tempo and geometry of Ligeti’s piano etudes and Ysaÿe’s violin sonatas.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker is considered one of the most internationally influential choreographer of our times. Following her studies at the MUDRA School for Dance and the Tisch School of the Arts in New York, she choreographed her first own work, “Asch”, in 1980, already clearly demonstrating her interest in the close interaction of movement and music. In 1983, De Keersmaeker founded her company Rosas. Her most recent performances at Berliner Festspiele were “Cesena” and “En Atendant” in 2012 and “Partita 2” in 2013.

Cast

Choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Music György Ligeti (8 Études for piano solo) / Eugène Ysaÿe (Sonatas 2, 3 & 4 for solo violin)
Stage Design Herman Sorgeloos
Costume Design Ann Weckx
Lighting Design Jan Luc Ducourt

Dancers
Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda

Created in 1990 with
Nordine Benchorf, Bruce Campbell, Vincent Dunoyer, Fumiyo Ikeda, Marion Levy, Nathalie Million, Carlotta Sagna, Johanne Saunier

Musicians
Wilhem Latchoumia piano
Juan María Braceras violin

Achterland (1990) – Trailer

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Production Rosas. Co-production De Munt / La Monnaie, Brussels, Kaaitheater, Brussels, Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville, Paris (1990)
Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community and by the BNP Paribas Foundation.
The Berlin performances are made possible by

Logo Inga Maren Otto

and supported by

Flanders     Steinway-Haus

Tanz

Achterland

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Uraufführung 27.11.1990 Muntschouwburg, Brüssel
Wiederaufnahme 13.03.2018 Concertgebouw, Brügge

Liebes Publikum, mit großem Bedauern müssen wir mitteilen, dass aufgrund der aktuellen Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus die Vorstellungen von „Rain (live)“ entfallen müssen. Informationen zur Ticketrückerstattung

Berliner Festspiele On Demand: Vom 1. bis 29. April zeigen wir „Rain“ (live) und „Achterland“ als Mitschnitt bzw. Filmadaption, ergänzt durch eine Dokumentation zu „Rain“. Zu den Videos

Ausgehend von der Musik György Ligetis und Eugène-Auguste Ysaÿes entwickeln Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker und ihre Company eine choreografische Partitur zwischen energetisch aufgeladener Virtuosität und musikalischer Verzögerung.

Achterland

Achterland

© Anne Van Aerschot

  • 1 h 30 min, ohne Pause

Vergangene Termine

Die Choreografie „Achterland“ ist in Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers Œuvre wegweisend, denn erstmalig schuf sie in dieser Produktion aus dem Jahr 1990 für ihre bis dahin überwiegend weibliche Kompanie auch Bewegungsvokabular für männliche Tänzer. Zudem platzierte sie die Musiker*innen zentral auf der Bühne und ließ sie mit den acht Tänzer*innen interagieren – eine Herangehensweise, die die belgische Choreografin in späteren Arbeiten wiederholen sollte.

Die dominierende Weiblichkeit und der Minimalismus früherer Choreografien machen in „Achterland“ Platz für ein vieldeutiges Niemandsland, in dem Grenzen und Symbole verschwimmen: Junge Mädchen tragen Frauenkleider, ein Mann tanzt mit weiblichem Ausdruck, Tänzerinnen in Business Suits gehen spiralförmig zu Boden, um im nächsten Moment zurückzuschnellen. Im gescheiterten Versuch einer Kontaktaufnahme umkreisen sich männliche und weibliche Tänzer*innen, ohne sich zu berühren. Sie jagen einander, ohne sich jemals zu besitzen, ihre Bewegungen sind Antworten auf Tempo und Geometrie von Ligetis Klavieretüden und Ysaÿes Violinsonaten.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker gilt als eine der international einflussreichsten Choreograf*innen der Gegenwart. Nach ihrem Studium an der MUDRA Schule für Tanz und der Tisch School of the Arts in New York choreografierte sie 1980 ihre erste eigene Arbeit, „Asch“, in der ihr Interesse für das enge Wechselspiel von Bewegung und Musik bereits sehr deutlich wird. 1983 gründete De Keersmaeker ihre Kompanie Rosas. Zuletzt gastierte sie 2012 mit ihren Stücken „Cesena“ und „En Atendant“ sowie 2013 mit „Partita 2“ bei den Berliner Festspielen.

Besetzung

Choreografie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Musik György Ligeti (8 Études for piano solo) / Eugène Ysaÿe (Sonaten 2, 3 & 4 für Violine solo)
Bühne Herman Sorgeloos
Kostüme Ann Weckx
Licht Jean Luc Ducourt

Tänzer*innen
Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda

1990 aufgeführt mit
Nordine Benchorf, Bruce Campbell, Vincent Dunoyer, Fumiyo Ikeda, Marion Levy, Nathalie Million, Carlotta Sagna, Johanne Saunier

Musiker*innen
Wilhem Latchoumia Klavier
Juan María Braceras Violine

Achterland (1990) – Trailer

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Eine Produktion von Rosas. In Koproduktion mit De Munt / La Monnaie, Brüssel, Kaaitheater, Brüssel, Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville, Paris (1990)
Rosas wird unterstützt durch die Flämische Regierung und durch die BNP Paribas Foundation.
Die Berliner Gastspiele werden ermöglicht durch

Logo Inga Maren Otto

und unterstützt durch

Flanders     Steinway-Haus