Wiphala, rainbow flag

Wiphala, rainbow flag. Symbol of the indigenous population of Bolivia, Peru and others

Photo: ledscreate.sineadcullen.com/index.php/2017/12/20/atlandida/

Concert

Opening

Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos, PHØNIX16

MaerzMusik 2020 will open with an extraordinary encounter: Together, the Bolivian Experimental Orchestra for Indigenous Instruments (OEIN) and the Berlin vocal collective PHØNIX16 will develop a project that combines the pre-Colombian musical culture of the Aymara with experimental vocals.

Past Dates

Strobe effects are used during the performance. At certain lightning frequencies, epileptic seizures may be triggered. Epileptics or those at risk of epilepsy should stay away from the stroboscopic illumination area.

MaerzMusik 2020 opens with an extraordinary musical encounter. The Bolivian Experimental Orchestra of Indigenous Instruments (OEIN) and the Berlin-based voice collective PHØNIX16 embark on a joint artistic journey around the concept of “environment” in its multi-layered meaning – the social, the natural, the political, the philosophical, the acoustic, and as an artistic form and practice. Founded in 1980, the OEIN is a unique contemporary music formation based in La Paz. Their practice is rooted in the pre-Columbian musical culture of the Aymara, while their means of artistic expression is experimental music. Together with PHØNIX16, who are known for their daring work of high musical intensity and quality, the two ensembles – altogether over 30 musicians and vocalists – set out to find common ground in mutual change through a joint process of research and experimentation, while acknowledging cultural difference and the complex legacy of colonialism.

Programme

Bernard Parmegiani
De Natura Sonorum
[a] live version for voices and indigenous instruments (1975/2020)
World premiere

Marisol Jiménez
Cantos del Arenal
for voices and indigenous instruments (2020)
World premiere

Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga
New Work
for voices and indigenous instruments (2020)
World premiere

Beatriz Ferreyra
Rios del Sueño
[a] live version for voices and indigenous instruments (1998 – 2000 / 2020)
World premiere

Cast

Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos (OEIN)
PHØNIX16

Timo Kreuser concept & artistic director
Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga artistic director
Philipp Hartmann films
Komposter Kollektiv (Luka Umek, Akaša Bojič) video
Alice Biemann lighting design
Sonia Lescène production management

With the support of Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Goethe Institut (International Coproduction Fund), Musikfonds e. V. / BKM, Senate Department for Culture and Europe Berlin and Bundes- und Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg. Thanks to the Goethe-Instituts São Paulo, La Paz and Lima and Air Europa.
In collaboration with Hellerau – European Centre for the Arts Dresden.

Recording Deutschlandfunk Kultur, broadcast date: 24.3.2020, 20:03 “Im Konzert”

Wiphala, Regenbogenfahne

Wiphala, Regenbogenfahne. Symbol indigener Bevölkerung Boliviens, Perus u. a.

Foto: ledscreate.sineadcullen.com/index.php/2017/12/20/atlandida/

Konzert

Opening

Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos, PHØNIX16

MaerzMusik 2020 eröffnet mit einer außergewöhnlichen musikalischen Begegnung: Das Bolivianische Experimentalorchester für indigene Instrumente (OEIN) und das Stimmkollektiv PHØNIX16 aus Berlin entwickeln zusammen ein Projekt, das die präkolumbianische Musikkultur der Aymara mit experimentellem Stimmeinsatz verbindet.

MaerzMusik 2020 eröffnet mit einer außergewöhnlichen musikalischen Begegnung. Das Bolivianische Experimentalorchester für indigene Instrumente (OEIN) und das in Berlin ansässige Stimmkollektiv PHØNIX16 begeben sich auf eine gemeinsame künstlerische Reise, die um den vielschichtigen Begriff „environment“ (Umgebung, Umwelt, Milieu) kreist: sozial, naturbezogen, politisch, philosophisch, akustisch und als künstlerische Form und Praxis. Das 1980 gegründete OEIN ist eine einzigartige Musikformation der Gegenwart mit Sitz in La Paz. Ihre Praxis wurzelt in der präkolumbianischen Musikkultur der Aymara, während ihre künstlerischen Ausdrucksmittel der experimentellen Musik verpflichtet sind. Gemeinsam mit PHØNIX16, die für gewagte Projekte von hoher musikalischer Intensität und Qualität bekannt sind, starten die insgesamt über 30 Musiker*innen und Sänger*innen einen Forschungs- und Experimentierprozess. Sie begeben sich auf die Suche nach einer gemeinsamen künstlerischen Basis in gegenseitiger Veränderung und in Anerkennung kultureller Unterschiede sowie des komplexen Erbes des Kolonialismus.

Programm

Bernard Parmegiani
De Natura Sonorum
[a] Live-Version für Stimmen und indigene Instrumente (1975/2020)
Uraufführung

Marisol Jiménez
Cantos del Arenal
für Stimmen und indigene Instrumente (2020)
Uraufführung

Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga
Neues Werk
für Stimmen und indigene Instrumente (2020)
Uraufführung

Beatriz Ferreyra
Rios del Sueño
[a] Live-Version für Stimmen und indigene Instrumente (1998 – 2000 / 2020)
Uraufführung

Besetzung

Orquesta Experimental de Instrumentos Nativos (OEIN)
PHØNIX16

Timo Kreuser Konzeption & Künstlerische Leitung
Carlos Gutiérrez Quiroga Künstlerische Leitung
Philipp Hartmann Filme
Komposter Kollektiv (Luka Umek, Akaša Bojič) Video
Michael Havenstein Klangregie
Alice Biemann Licht
Sonia Lescène Produktionsleitung

Mit Unterstützung von Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Goethe Institut (Internationaler Koproduktionsfonds), Musikfonds e. V. / BKM, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Berlin und Bundes- und Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg. Dank an die Goethe-Institute São Paulo / La Paz / Lima.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden und Akademie der Künste, Berlin.
Mittschnitt Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Sendetermin: 24.3.2020, 20:03