Performance with public procession and ritual
Rituals of Care

Jelili Atiku: The Night Has Ears

With his performance The Night Has Ears artist Jelili Atiku addresses charged memories of violence still held in the building of the Gropius Bau and its surroundings. The work consists of a public procession and healing ritual, with the participation of 61 volunteers.

Jelili Atiku, Egungun Alabala Mandela (Oginrinringinrin I), University of Texas at Austin, USA, 11 April 2014

Jelili Atiku, Egungun Alabala Mandela (Oginrinringinrin I). University of Texas at Austin, USA, 11 April 2014

Photo: Hakeem Adewumi

Past Dates

Limited capacity

Jelili Atiku works with three Olosha priestesses from Nigeria and guides a group of 61 participants to interact with and carry small wooden sculptures created for the event, while wearing specifically designed costumes. Beginning in the atrium of the Gropius Bau, the performance proceeds with Wiwe (sacred bathing) of the wooden sculptures and continues outside in the adjacent streets before returning to the exhibition hall. The procession addresses charged memories of violence still held in the building and its surroundings. A ritual moves participants through a series of simple actions with the sculptures as a form of community healing.

Saturday, 18.1. 20, 10:00
Atrium, Gropius Bau
Briefing by Jelili Atiku

Saturday, 18.1. 20, 12:00–15:00
Performance

Jelili Atiku is a Nigerian multimedia artist whose practice addresses issues of human rights and social justice. His work has been presented internationally, including at the 5th Marrakech Biennale, the 57th Venice Biennale and the Manifesta 12 in Palermo.

Performance:
Jelili Atiku with
Taiwo Agbede Babatunde Osun priestess,
Kafilat Ajoke Dada Obaluwaye priestess,
Biliki Asake Adeyemi Obatala priestess
and 61 participants

Jelili Atiku, Egungun Alabala Mandela (Oginrinringinrin I), University of Texas at Austin, USA, 11. April 2014

Jelili Atiku, Egungun Alabala Mandela (Oginrinringinrin I). University of Texas at Austin, USA, 11. April 2014

Foto: Hakeem Adewumi

Performance mit öffentlicher Prozession und Ritual
Rituals of Care

Jelili Atiku: The Night Has Ears

Mit seiner Performance The Night Has Ears richtet der Künstler Jelili Atiku den Blick auf die Erinnerungen an Gewalt, die das Gebäude und die Umgebung des Gropius Bau immer noch in sich bergen. Die Arbeit setzt sich aus einer öffentliche Prozession und einem Heilungsritual zusammen, an denen 61 Freiwillige beteiligt sind.

Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

In Zusammenarbeit mit drei Olosha-Priesterinnen aus Nigeria leitet Jelili Atiku eine Gruppe von 61 Teilnehmer*innen, die in speziell entworfenen Kostümen kleine, für die Veranstaltung geschaffene Holzskulpturen tragen. Die Aufführung beginnt im Lichthof des Gropius Bau und setzt sich mit Wiwe (dem heiligen Baden) der Holzskulpturen fort. Nach einer Prozession in den angrenzenden Straßen kehren Performer*innen und Besucher*innen in das Ausstellungshaus zurück. Die Prozession thematisiert Erinnerungen an Gewalt, die das Gebäude und die Umgebung immer noch in sich bergen. Im Rahmen eines Rituals und unter Einsatz der Skulpturen werden die Teilnehmer*innen eine Form gemeinschaftlicher Heilung praktizieren.

Samstag, 18.1.20, 10:00
Lichthof, Gropius Bau
Einführung Jelili Atiku

Samstag, 18.1. 20, 12:00–15:00
Performance

Jelili Atiku ist ein multimedial arbeitender, nigerianischer Künstler, der sich mit Themen wie Menschenrechten und sozialer Gerechtigkeit auseinandersetzt. Seine Arbeiten wurden international unter anderem auf der 5. Marrakech Biennale, der 57. Biennale in Venedig und der Manifesta 12 in Palermo gezeigt.

Performance:
Jelili Atiku mit
Taiwo Agbede Babatunde Osun-Priesterin,
Kafilat Ajoke Dada Obaluwaye-Priesterin,
Biliki Asake Adeyemi Obatala-Priesterin
und 61 Teilnehmer*innen