Choreographic proposition 1
Rituals of Care

Mette Ingvartsen: evaporated landscapes

With evaporated landscapes, Mette Ingvartsen creates an artificial world that behaves according to rules of evaporation, dissolution and transformation. Departing from ephemeral materials and matters like light, sound, bubbles and foam the performance constructs landscapes of various kinds.

Mette Ingvartsen, evaporated landscapes, 2009

Mette Ingvartsen, evaporated landscapes, 2009

Photo: Tania Kelley

Past Dates

Admission is free; however, due to limited capacity, for the admission to the performance a free ticket is required, which is available on the day of the event at the Gropius Bau ticket office. Only two tickets per person per performance.

This performance is suitable for visitors aged 12 and over.

Some of the artificial landscapes resemble nature, as we know it from the past, others look more like futuristic inventions. In either case they produce sensations of calmness and rest but also fascination and surprise, impressions we normally attribute to the world of natural wonders. In evaporated landscapes, choreography no longer belongs to the organisation of bodies and their movements in space. Rather choreography is understood to be the relationship that operates between the ephemeral elements, as they magically float and dissolve into space. The movements that appear do not only show up in space but also within the bodies of the spectators due to the sensations and perceptions they encounter throughout the performance.

Mette Ingvartsen is a Danish choreographer and dancer whose work is characterised by hybridity. Since establishing her company in 2003, her work has been presented widely throughout Europe, as well as in the US, Canada, South Korea, Taiwan and Australia. In Berlin, Ingvartsen has been supported by HAU Hebbel am Ufer through the years.

Lighting Design: Minna Tiikkainen
Sound Design: Gerald Kurdian
Production management: Kerstin Schroth
Co-production: steirischer herbst festival (Graz), Festival Baltoscandal (Rakvere), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin), Kaaitheater (Brussels)
Funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds (Berlin, Germany) und Kunstrådet (Denmark)
Research supported by Tanzquartier (Wien), Siemens Arts Program and LE CENTQUARTRE (Paris)
Co-produced by NXTSTP, with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union
A production of Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment vzw

Mette Ingvartsen, evaporated landscapes, 2009

Mette Ingvartsen, evaporated landscapes, 2009

Foto: Tania Kelley

Choreografischer Ansatz 1
Rituals of Care

Mette Ingvartsen: evaporated landscapes

Mit evaporated landscapes schafft Mette Ingvartsen eine künstliche Welt, die sich nach den Regeln der Verflüchtigung, Auflösung und Transformation verhält. Ausgehend von ephemeren Materialien und Elementen wie Licht, Ton, Blasen und Schaum konstruiert die Performance Landschaften verschiedenster Art.

Der Eintritt ist frei; der Einlass zur Performance ist aufgrund begrenzter Kapazitäten jedoch nur mit einem kostenlosen Ticket möglich, das am Tag der Veranstaltung an der Kasse des Gropius Bau erhältlich ist. Pro Person nur zwei Tickets pro Performance.

Diese Performance ist für Besucher*innen ab 12 Jahren geeignet.

Einige der künstlichen Landschaften ähneln der Natur, wie wir sie aus der Vergangenheit kennen, während andere eher wie futuristische Erfindungen aussehen. In beiden Fällen evozieren sie Gefühle der Ruhe und Erholung, aber auch der Faszination und Überraschung: Eindrücke, die wir normalerweise der Welt der Naturwunder zuschreiben. In evaporated landscapes dient die Choreografie nicht der Organisation von Körpern und ihren Bewegungen im Raum. Unter Choreografie ist vielmehr die Beziehung zu verstehen, die zwischen den flüchtigen Elementen besteht, welche auf magische Weise im Raum schweben und sich auflösen. Die Bewegungen zeigen sich jedoch nicht nur im Raum, sondern auch in den Körpern der Betracher*innen, ausgelöst durch Sinneswahrnehmungen während der Performance.

Mette Ingvartsen ist eine dänische Choreografin und Tänzerin, deren Arbeit sich durch Hybridität auszeichnet. Seit der Gründung ihrer Kompanie 2003 wurden ihre Arbeiten in Europa, den USA, Kanada, Südkorea, Taiwan und Australien gezeigt. In Berlin wurde Ingvartsen über Jahre hinweg vom HAU Hebbel am Ufer unterstützt.

Lichtdesign: Minna Tiikkainen
Sound Design: Gerald Kurdian
Produktionsmanagement: Kerstin Schroth
Koproduktion: steirischer herbst festival (Graz), Festival Baltoscandal (Rakvere), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin), Kaaitheater (Brussels)
Gefördert von Haupstadtkulturfonds (Berlin, Germany) und Kunstrådet (Denmark)
Recherche unterstützt von Tanzquartier (Wien), Siemens Arts Program and LE CENTQUARTRE (Paris)
Koproduziert von NXTSTP, mit Unterstützung des Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union
Eine Produktion von Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment vzw