Choreographic proposition 3
Rituals of Care

Mette Ingvartsen and Will Guthrie: All Around

In All Around by choreographer/dancer Mette Ingvartsen and drummer Will Guthrie, spinning and turning, rhythm and speed become the main components of a performance that drives towards an ecstatic and trance-like intensity. The work is part of Rituals of Care.

Mette Ingvartsen and Will Guthrie, All Around, 2019

Mette Ingvartsen and Will Guthrie, All Around, 2019

Photo: Marc Domage

Past Dates

Limited capacities

Will Guthrie and Mette Ingvartsen have been following each other’s work and collaborating at a distance over the past five years. In this drum/dance/duo they perform live together for the first time, bringing their respective disciplines into close proximity. The result is a fusion of forms: a music concert with dance. In All Around, the audience encircles a performance space inhabited by a drum kit, a moving light and the performers' bodies.

Mette Ingvartsen is a Danish choreographer and dancer whose work is characterised by hybridity. Since establishing her company in 2003, her work has been presented widely throughout Europe, as well as in the US, Canada, South Korea, Taiwan and Australia. In Berlin, Ingvartsen has been supported by Hebbel am Ufer / HAU through the years.

Will Guthrie is an Australian drummer / percussionist living in France. He plays solo using different combinations of drums, percussion, amplification and electronics, and in groups such as THE AMES ROOM, Elwood & Guthrie, THE SOMMES ENSEMBLE and tētēma. His music has been released on a number of labels including his own, Antboy Music.

Lighting design and technical direction: Hans Meijer
Dramaturgy: Bojana Cvejić
Production management: Kerstin Schroth, assisted by Joey Ng
A production of Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment vzw
With the support of Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek
Funded by the Flemish Authorities, the Flemish Community Commission (VGC) & the Danish Arts Council

Mette Ingvartsen und Will Guthrie, All Around, 2019

Mette Ingvartsen und Will Guthrie, All Around, 2019

Foto: Marc Domage

Choreografischer Ansatz 3
Rituals of Care

Mette Ingvartsen und Will Guthrie: All Around

In All Around der Choreografin und Tänzerin Mette Ingvartsen und des Schlagzeugers Will Guthrie werden Dreh- und Kreisbewegungen, Rhythmus und Geschwindigkeit zu den Hauptkomponenten einer Performance, die eine ekstatische und tranceähnliche Intensität heraufbeschwört. Die Arbeit ist Teil von Rituals of Care.

Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

Will Guthrie und Mette Ingvartsen begleiten das Schaffen des*der jeweils anderen seit fünf Jahren und haben bisher aus der Ferne zusammengearbeitet. Dieses Schlagzeug-Tanz-Duett ist ihr erster gemeinsamer Live-Auftritt, wobei sich ihre jeweiligen Disziplinen unmittelbar einander annähern. Das Ergebnis ist eine Verschmelzung von Formen: ein Musikkonzert mit Tanz. In All Around umkreist das Publikum einen Aufführungsraum, in dem sich ein Schlagzeug, ein sich bewegendes Licht und die Körper der Darsteller*innen befinden.

Mette Ingvartsen ist eine dänische Choreografin und Tänzerin, deren Arbeit sich durch Hybridität auszeichnet. Seit der Gründung ihrer Kompanie 2003 wurden ihre Arbeiten in Europa, den USA, Kanada, Südkorea, Taiwan und Australien gezeigt. In Berlin wurde Ingvartsen über Jahre hinweg von Hebbel am Ufer / HAU unterstützt.

Will Guthrie ist ein australischer Schlagzeuger / Perkussionist, der in Frankreich lebt. Er tritt solo mit unterschiedlichen Kombinationen von Schlagzeug, Perkussion, Verstärkern und Elektronik auf und spielt in Gruppen wie THE AMES ROOM, Elwood & Guthrie, THE SOMMES ENSEMBLE und tētēma. Seine Musik wurde auf einer Reihe von Labels veröffentlicht, auch auf seinem eigenen, Antboy Music.

Lichtdesign und technische Leitung: Hans Meijer
Dramaturgie: Bojana Cvejić
Produktionsmanagement: Kerstin Schroth, mit Assistenz von Joey Ng
Eine Produktion von Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment vzw
Mit Unterstützung von Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek
Gefördert von den flämischen Behörden, Flemish Community Commission (VGC) & Danish Arts Council