Cleansing ritual and Oríkì performance
Rituals of Care

Baba Murah and Candomblé Berlin: The Magic of Healing

As part of the performance programme Rituals of Care, Baba Murah, the spiritual head of Berlin’s Candomblé Temple Ilê Obá Sileké, will perform a purification ritual with fellow believers in honour of the god of disease and healing in the atrium of the Gropius Bau.

Candomblé-Ritual at Ilê Obá Sileké, 2019

Candomblé-Ritual at Ilê Obá Sileké, 2019

Photo: Nico Beradi, courtesy: Ilê Obá Sileké & Forum Brasil e.V.

Past Dates

Limited capacity

Practitioners of the Afro-Brazilian religion Candomblé believe in the supreme creator Olorun and the Orixás – West African deities that form a link between the human and the spiritual world; various natural forces represent them. One fundamental principle of this matriarchal religion is a balance of forces: between human and nature, the spiritual and the material world, this life and the life hereafter. Disbalances are considered an illness to be rebalanced by healing and cleansing rituals.

Healing and Cleansing Ritual

In the atrium of the Gropius Bau, Baba Murah will perform a purification ritual with fellow believers in honour of the god of disease and healing: the Orixá Obaluaiê. When Obaluaiê’s mother Nanã – the Orixá of primaeval mud – abandoned her child because of his smallpox, the sea goddess Iemanjá saved him. Her saltwater healed Obaluaiê and turned his smallpox into white flowers. During the ritual, popcorn is used as a remedy and recalls this myth.
The altars of Obaluaiê, of Oxum – goddess of beauty and love, and the mistress of freshwater – and of Xangô – god of justice and fire – form part of the ritual.

Olubajé – Banquet of Healing

Candomblé’s complex mythology builds on various tales, the so-called Oríkìs, which are passed on primarily through drama, dance, singing, percussion and pantomime. Presented in the Gropius Bau, the dance theatre performs the tale Olubajé – Banquet of Healing:
Saddened and enraged by not being invited to the Orixás grand celebration, Obaluaiê withdrew his powers from heaven and earth: the sun ceased to shine, the plants withered, and the earth was barren. Following the advice of the oracle Ifá, the Orixás offered Obaluaiê their favourite dishes; they sang and danced in his honour. Obaluaiê was grateful, the sun emerged from behind the clouds, and the earth was fertile once more. The powers were rebalanced, and healing began.

Baba Murah is the spiritual leader of Ilê Obá Sileké, the only Candomblé temple in Germany. Founded in 2003, the temple has been located at the Zentrum Forum Brasil e. V. in Berlin-Kreuzberg since 2007.

Music: Valdir Juvenal, Leosinho Percussivo and Juninho Quebradera
Dance: Gil Guimarães, Meryl Prettyman, Carolina Schneeberg and Murah Soares
With the daughters and sons of Ilê Obá Sileké

Candomblé-Ritual im Ilê Obá Sileké, 2019

Candomblé-Ritual im Ilê Obá Sileké, 2019

Foto: Nico Beradi, Courtesy: Ilê Obá Sileké & Forum Brasil e.V.

Reinigungsritual und Oríkì-Performance
Rituals of Care

Baba Murah und Candomblé Berlin: The Magic of Healing

Im Rahmen des Performanceprogramms Rituals of Care wird Baba Murah, das geistige Oberhaupt des Berliner Candomblé-Tempels Ilê Obá Sileké, mit dessen Gemeindemitgliedern Lichthof des Gropius Bau ein Reinigungsritual zu Ehren des Gottes der Krankheit und der Heilung durchführen.

Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

In der afro-brasilianischen Religion des Candomblé stehen zwischen dem obersten Schöpfer Olorun und den Menschen die Orixás, westafrikanische Gottheiten, die durch verschiedene Naturkräfte repräsentiert werden. Zu den Grundprinzipien der matriarchal strukturierten Religion zählt die Balance zwischen den Kräften: das Gleichgewicht zwischen Mensch und Natur, der geistigen und der materiellen Welt, dem diesseitigen und dem jenseitigen Leben. Disbalancen gelten als Krankheit und können durch Heilungs- und Reinigungsrituale wieder ins Gleichgewicht gebracht werden.

Heilungs- und Reinigungsritual

Im Lichthof des Gropius Bau wird Baba Murah, das geistige Oberhaupt des Berliner Candomblé-Tempels Ilê Obá Sileké, mit dessen Gemeindemitgliedern ein Reinigungsritual zu Ehren des Orixá Obaluaiê, dem Gott der Krankheit und der Heilung, durchführen. Als Obaluaiê von seiner Mutter Nanã – der Orixá des Urschlamms – aufgrund seiner Pocken verlassen wurde, rettete ihn Iemanjá, die Meeresgöttin. Mit ihrem Salzwasser heilte sie Obaluaiê und verwandelte seine Pocken in weiße Blumen. Das im Ritual eingesetzte Heilmittel Popcorn erinnert an diesen Mythos.
Neben dem Altar von Obaluaiê sind der Altar von Oxum, Göttin der Schönheit und der Liebe und Herrin des Süßwassers, sowie der Altar von Xangô, Gott der Gerechtigkeit und des Feuers, Teil des Rituals.

Olubajé – Bankett der Heilung

Die komplexe Mythologie des Candomblé setzt sich aus verschiedenen Erzählungen, den sogenannten Oríkìs, zusammen, die vor allem durch Schauspiel, Tanz, Gesang, Perkussion und Pantomime dargestellt und weitergegeben werden. Das im Gropius Bau gezeigte Tanztheater erzählt die Geschichte Olubajé – Bankett der Heilung:
Traurig und wütend darüber, bei der großen Feier aller Orixás nicht eingeladen zu sein, entzog Obaluaiê dem Himmel und der Erde seine Kräfte. Die Sonne schien nicht mehr, die Pflanzen verkümmerten und die Erde wurde unfruchtbar. Dem Rat des Orakels Ifá folgend brachten die Orixás Obaluaiê ihre Lieblingsspeisen dar und sangen und tanzten zu seinen Ehren. Obaluaiê war ihnen dankbar, die Sonne trat hinter den Wolken hervor und die Erde erlangte ihre Fruchtbarkeit zurück. Die Kräfte waren wieder in Balance und Heilung trat ein.

Baba Murah ist das spirituelle Oberhaupt des Ilê Obá Sileké, des einzigen Candomblé-Tempels in Deutschland. 2003 gegründet, befindet sich der Tempel seit 2007 im Zentrum Forum Brasil e. V. in Berlin-Kreuzberg.

Musik: Valdir Juvenal, Leosinho Percussivo und Juninho Quebradera
Tanz: Gil Guimarães, Meryl Prettyman, Carolina Schneeberg und Murah Soares
Mit den Töchtern und Söhnen des Ilê Obá Sileké