Maria Hassabi, TOGETHER, 2019

Maria Hassabi, TOGETHER, 2019. Presentation at the Pulitzer Arts Foundation, 4 April 2019
Presentation at the Pulitzer Arts Foundation, 4 April 2019

Photo: Virginia Harold

Performance
Rituals of Care

Maria Hassabi: TOGETHER

In the performance TOGETHER, Maria Hassabi and dancer Oisín Monaghan propose a forceful choreographic meditation on methods of affecting and being affected by each other; on ways of living with and next to another.

Limited capacity

Over the years Maria Hassabi has developed a distinct choreographic practice involved with the relation of the live body to the still image, utilising stillness and the velocity of deceleration as both technique and subject. TOGETHER is an duet between herself and dancer Oisín Monaghan in which the two evoke images of togetherness through minimal movements as a way of producing emotional states. Placed on an intimate platform in the middle of the atrium, the performance TOGETHER oscillates between dance and sculpture, as the bodies embrace and disentangle, always moving at the limits of perception, folding the surrounding space against the contours of the body.

Maria Hassabi is an artist and choreographer based in New York City and Athens. Her work has been presented widely, including Centre Pompidou, Paris (2018), documenta 14, Kassel (2017), MoMA, New York (2016), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2015) and the 55th Venice Biennale (2013).

Performed by Maria Hassabi and Oisín Monaghan
Sound Design by Stavros Gasparatos and Maria Hassabi
Outfits by Victoria Bartlett
TOGETHER (2019) was commissioned by the Pulitzer Arts Foundation, St Louis and supported by Extended Life, a programme of the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council.

Maria Hassabi, TOGETHER, 2019

Maria Hassabi, TOGETHER, 2019. Präsentation bei der Pulitzer Arts Foundation, 4. April 2019
Performer*innen: Maria Hassabi und Oisín Monaghan

Foto: Virginia Harold

Performance
Rituals of Care

Maria Hassabi: TOGETHER

Maria Hassabi und der Tänzer Oisín Monaghan unterbreiten in der Performance TOGETHER choreografisch eine kraftvolle Meditation über Methoden der gegenseitigen Beeinflussung und über die verschiedenen Weisen mit- und nebeneinander zu leben.

  • Kostenlose Tickets für die Performance sind ab 18:00 an der Kasse im Gropius Bau erhältlich (first come, first served)

  • Kein Nacheinlass!

Vergangene Termine

Im Laufe der Jahre hat Maria Hassabi eine eigene choreografische Praxis entwickelt, die sich mit der Beziehung zwischen bewegtem Körper und statischem Bild befasst. Stille und Entschleunigung dienen ihr dabei als Technik und auch als Subjekt. TOGETHER ist ein inniges Duett zwischen Hassabi und dem Tänzer Oisín Monaghan: Die beiden erzeugen durch minimale Bewegungen Bilder der Zusammengehörigkeit und rufen emotionale Zustände hervor. Auf einer intimen Plattform in der Mitte des Lichthofs bewegt sich die Performance beständig zwischen Tanz und Skulptur: Körper umschlingen und entwirren sich, agieren stets an den Grenzen des Wahrnehmbaren, während sie den umliegenden Raum gegen die Konturen des Körpers falten.

Maria Hassabi lebt als Künstlerin und Choreografin in New York und Athen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Centre Pompidou, Paris (2018), auf der documenta 14, Kassel (2017), im MoMA, New York (2016), im Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2015) und auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig (2013) gezeigt.

Performance: Maria Hassabi und Oisín Monaghan
Sound Design: Stavros Gasparatos und Maria Hassabi
Outfits: Victoria Bartlett
TOGETHER (2019) wurde von der Pulitzer Arts Foundation in St. Louis in Auftrag gegeben und vom Programm Extended Life des Lower Manhattan Cultural Council unterstützt.