Antonija Livingstone and Nadia Lauro, les études (hérésies 1–7), 2016

Antonija Livingstone and Nadia Lauro, les études (hérésies 1–7), 2016

Photo: Géraldine Perrier

Performance installation
Rituals of Care

Antonija Livingstone and Nadia Lauro: les études (hérésies 1-7)

Via the intersection of performance and visual arts practices, Antonija Livingstone and Nadia Lauro stage a queer symposium for rare presence and endangered practice – a visit to a chimeric library with caretaker kin.

  • Free admission, limited capacity (first come, first served)

  • No late admission!

For the duration of a storm, we take refuge together in a serene nomadic habitat. A wyrd assembly of friends, guest artists and creatures welcome an intimate public surround to join forces in listening and reflecting upon the dissident potential of the slow, the polyphonic and other unfashionable gestures.

“Polyphony speaks of the coexistence of a plurality of voices and sounds that can also be understood in a text or in an extra textual situation. The vitality of polyphony as a phenomenon is that the voices do not fuse into a single consciousness or drone but exist on different registers generating a dynamism among themselves. It is not merely a heterogeneity but some other angle at which voices are juxtaposed and counter-posed which generates something beyond themselves. Each one of these voices exists in an indirect dialogue with other voices, allowing other voices to add to a pre-existing entity, a polyphony of reciprocal, celebratory and displaced voices, exchanges wherein all the interlocutors involved may become changed in their meeting.” — Mikhail Bakhtin

Antonija Livingstone operates at the intersection of performance and plastic arts where she has developed a manifold collaborative and feminist art practice. Her work has been commissioned by and shown in diverse contexts internationally including HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; Museum of Art, Rio de Janeiro; Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw; MAI and Agora, Montreal; American Realness, New York City and Fierce Festival, Birmingham.

Nadia Lauro works as a visual artist and set designer across various contexts including scenic spaces, landscape architectures, museums. Lauro has collaborated with a range of international choreographers, such as Vera Mantero, Benoît Lachambre, Emmanuelle Huynh, Alain Buffard, Latifa Laabissi, Antonia Baehr and Jennifer Lacey.

An original commission from Festival d’Automne à Paris for a site specific work at Menagerie de Verre, Paris in 2015. Original prototype developed with students from Glasgow School of Art.
In collaboration with Stephen Thompson
Guest Artists: Mich Cota, Malik Nashad Sharpe, An Thorne, Elpida Orfanidou and Winnipeg Monbijou
Storm Design: Brendan Dougherty
Production: Ben Pryor

Antonija Livingstone und Nadia Lauro, les études (hérésies 1–7), 2016

Antonija Livingstone und Nadia Lauro, les études (hérésies 1–7), 2016

Foto: Géraldine Perrier

Performance-Installation
Rituals of Care

Antonija Livingstone und Nadia Lauro: les études (hérésies 1-7)

An der Schnittstelle von Performance und bildender Kunst veranstalten Antonija Livingstone und Nadia Lauro ein queeres Symposium für seltene Präsenz und gefährdete Praxis – ein Besuch einer schimärenhaften Bibliothek mit Vertrauten.

  • Eintritt frei, begrenzte Platzkapazitäten (first come, first served)

  • Kein Nacheinlass!

Für die Dauer eines Sturms finden wir gemeinsam in einem abgeschirmten nomadischen Lebensraum Zuflucht. Eine wyrde Versammlung von Freund*innen, Gastkünstler*innen und Kreaturen begrüßt die umgebende Öffentlichkeit, um kollektiv zuzuhören und über das kritische Potenzial von langsamen, polyphonen und anderen unzeitgemäß erscheinenden Gesten nachzudenken.

„Polyphonie spricht von der Koexistenz einer Vielzahl von Stimmen und Klängen, die auch in einem Text oder in einer textexternen Situation verstanden werden können. Die Lebenskraft der Polyphonie als Phänomen besteht darin, dass die Stimmen nicht zu einem einzigen Bewusstsein oder einer einzigen Drohne verschmelzen, sondern auf verschiedenen Registern existieren und untereinander eine Dynamik erzeugen. Es ist nicht nur eine Heterogenität, sondern ein anderer Winkel, in dem Stimmen nebeneinander gebracht und einander gegenübergestellt werden, es wird etwas erzeugt, das über sie selbst hinausgeht. Jede dieser Stimmen existiert in einem indirekten Dialog mit anderen Stimmen, sodass andere Stimmen zu einer bereits existierenden Einheit beitragen können: eine Polyphonie gegenseitiger, feierlicher und verdrängter Stimmen; ein Austausch in dem alle beteiligten Gesprächspartner sich in ihrem Zusammentreffen ändern können.” — Michail Bachtin

Antonija Livingstone arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Performance und gestaltender Kunst und hat dabei eine vielschichtige, kollaborative und feministische künstlerische Praxis entwickelt. Ihre Arbeiten wurden von internationalen Institutionen wie dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; Museu de Arte Moderna, Rio de Janeiro; Museum of Modern Art, Warschau; MAI und Agora, Montreal; American Realness, New York City und dem Fierce Festival, Birmingham beauftragt und gezeigt.

Nadia Lauro arbeitet als bildende Künstlerin und Bühnenbildnerin in unterschiedlichen Kontexten wie szenischen Räumen, Landschaftsarchitekturen oder Museen. Lauro hat mit einer Reihe internationaler Choreograf*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Vera Mantero, Benoît Lachambre, Emmanuelle Huynh, Alain Buffard, Latifa Laabissi, Antonia Baehr und Jennifer Lacey.

Ein Originalauftrag des Festival d'Automne à Paris für ein ortsspezifisches Werk in der Menagerie de Verre, Paris, im Jahr 2015. Der Original-Prototyp wurde mit Student*innen der Glasgow School of Art entwickelt.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Stephen Thompson
Gastkünstler*innen: Mich Cota, Malik Nashad Sharpe, An Thorne, Elpida Orfanidou und Winnipeg Monbijou
Sturmdesign: Brendan Dougherty
Produktion: Ben Pryor