A. Livingstone, CHAUD

A. Livingstone, CHAUD. collection of things / actions / relations (2020)

Photo: Nikol Mikus

Performance
Rituals of Care

Antonija Livingstone with Mich Cota & guests: CHAUD

things / actions / relations

“… for a queer divine dissatisfaction: a blessed unrest...”

Antonija Livingstone and Mich Cota tenderly join forces with each other and wild companion materials to activate a critical disturbance of territory, natures and cultures. Smoke, Water and Earth cooperate with the artists in the work of unsettling.

  • Free admission, limited capacity (first come, first served)

  • No late admission!

Past Dates

This performance contains nudity and sexually explicit content.

CHAUD includes sound design by Berlin-based composer Brendan Dougherty (Economy & Failure) and features an electronic music song cycle performed by Mich Cota in English and Algonquin language with her own dances.

CHAUD sucks you in…things flow and slide here, it’s hot…and yet, everything is there to extinguish you. CHAUD catches you because the accuracy of the work transforms accumulations and repetitions into a manifesto. CHAUD is hyper current and points to all the contradictions of our world: climate and sexual identities in crises. Everything mixes in a very controlled disorder where the public is also absolutely a player. Installation, choreography, concert…the perfect hybrid…The dance here is outside of all possible classical frameworks. There is a new way of performing here, without being locked in, a very rare freedom…” — Amélie Blaustein Niddam, toutelaculture

Antonija Livingstone operates at the intersection of performance and plastic arts where she has developed a manifold collaborative and feminist art practice. Her work has been commissioned by and shown in diverse contexts internationally including HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; Museum of Art, Rio de Janeiro; Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw; MAI and Agora, Montreal; American Realness, New York City and Fierce Festival, Birmingham.

Mich Cota is a Two-Spirit Algonquin – mixed woman working across community lines and disciplines – whose work celebrates queerness, trans visibility and the spectrum of Indigeneity. Cota is a laureate of the Indigenous Voice Awards 2018 Canada for the most significant musical work in alternative format.

CHAUD Collection 20 is a commission from Agora Montreal for 2020.
Créations in residence @ Ménagerie de Verre, Paris and Darling Foundry, Montreal 2018
Sound Design: Brendan Dougherty

A. Livingstone, CHAUD

A. Livingstone, CHAUD. collection of things / actions / relations (2020)

Photo: Nikol Mikus

Performance
Rituals of Care

Antonija Livingstone mit Mich Cota & Gästen: CHAUD

things / actions / relations

„… for a queer divine dissatisfaction: a blessed unrest...“

Antonija Livingstone und Mich Cota bündeln zärtlich ihre Kräfte und gehen Verbindungen mit wilden, ihnen nahe stehenden Materialien ein, um eine kritische Störung von Gebiet, Naturen und Kulturen auszulösen. Gemeinsam mit den Künstler*innen rufen Rauch, Wasser und Erde Beunruhigung hervor.

Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

Diese Performance zeigt Nacktheit.

CHAUD beinhaltet Sound Design des in Berlin lebenden Komponisten Brendan Dougherty (Economy & Failure) sowie einen Liederzyklus elektronischer Musik, der von Mich Cota in englischer und algonquinischer Sprache mit ihren eigenen Tänzen aufgeführt wird.

CHAUD saugt dich auf ... Dinge fließen und rutschen hier, es ist heiß ... und doch ist alles da, um dich auszulöschen. CHAUD fängt dich, weil die Genauigkeit der Arbeit Ansammlungen und Wiederholungen in ein Manifest verwandelt. CHAUD ist hyperaktuell und verweist auf alle Widersprüche unserer Welt: Klima und sexuelle Identität in Krisen. Alles mischt sich in einer äußerst kontrollierten Störung, in der das Publikum in jeglicher Hinsicht auch Akteur*in ist. Installation, Choreografie, Konzert … das perfekte Hybrid … Dieser Tanz ist außerhalb aller möglichen klassischen Rahmenbedingungen. Hier entsteht eine neue Art der Performance, ohne gefangen zu sein, eine sehr seltene Freiheit …“ — Amélie Blaustein Niddam, toutelaculture

Antonija Livingstone operiert an der Schnittstelle von Performance und gestaltender Kunst und hat dabei eine vielschichtige, kollaborative und feministische künstlerische Praxis entwickelt. Ihre Arbeiten wurden von internationalen Institutionen wie dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; Museu de Arte Moderna, Rio de Janeiro; Museum of Modern Art, Warschau; MAI und Agora, Montreal; American Realness, New York City und dem Fierce Festival, Birmingham beauftragt und gezeigt.

Mich Cota ist eine Two-Spirit Algonquin – eine Transfrau, die über Gemeindegrenzen und Disziplinen hinweg arbeitet und dabei Queerness, die Sichtbarkeit von Transmenschen und das ganze Spektrum von Indigenität zelebriert. Cota erhielt den kanadische Indigenous Voice Award 2018 für das bedeutendste musikalische Werk in alternativem Format.

CHAUD Collection 20 wurde von Agora Montréal für 2020 beauftragt.
Créations in Residence in Ménagerie de Verre, Paris, und Darling Foundry, Montreal, 2018
Sound Design: Brendan Dougherty