Performance
Rituals of Care

Pan Daijing: Dead Time Blue

Dead Time Blue is composed specifically for and against the acoustic characteristics of the atrium at the Gropius Bau. Artist Pan Daijing has written and directed a work using the operatic voice as an instrument for architectural intervention.

Pan Dajing, Dead Time Blue, 2020

Pan Dajing, Dead Time Blue, 2020

Courtesy: ddgp

  • Free admission, limited capacity

Past Dates

Through the duration of the performance, the atrium becomes a breathing organ, simulating a biological environment and connecting the work with the performers, audience and built space. The work is delivered by Daijing alongside dancers and opera singers who are the hosts of sounds. As with Daijing’s previous work, Dead Time Blue pushes experimental storytelling into experiential and psychological dimensions, narrating a place in which the audience can take shelter.

Pan Daijing is an artist and composer from Guiyang and based in Berlin. Recent exhibitions and performances have been presented internationally at numerous venues and institutions, including Tate Modern and Barbican Centre, London; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg; Berliner Festspiele and Kraftwerk, Berlin.

Performed by Jia-Yu Corti, Pan Daijing, Anna Davidson, Marie Gailey, Steve Katona, Thibault Lac and Shade Therét

Pan Dajing, Dead Time Blue, 2020

Pan Dajing, Dead Time Blue, 2020

Courtesy: ddgp

Performance
Rituals of Care

Pan Daijing: Dead Time Blue

Dead Time Blue wurde speziell für und gegen die akustischen Eigenschaften des Lichthofs im Gropius Bau komponiert. Die Künstlerin Pan Daijing hat ein Werk geschrieben und inszeniert, das die Opernstimme als Instrument der architektonischen Intervention verwendet.

  • Eintritt frei, begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

Während der Dauer der Performance wird der Lichthof zu einem Atmungsorgan, das eine biologische Umgebung simuliert: Kunstwerk, Performer*innen, Publikum und der physische Raum werden miteinander verbunden. Daijing arbeitet für Dead Time Blue mit Tänzer*innen und Opernsänger*innen zusammen; sie sind die Gastgeber*innen der Klänge. Wie bei Daijings vorherigen Arbeiten hebt die Performance experimentelles Storytelling auf eine erfahrungsbezogene und psychologische Ebene und erschafft durch die Erzählung einen Ort, an dem das Publikum Zuflucht finden kann.

Pan Daijing ist eine Künstlerin und Komponistin aus Guiyang, die in Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Zahlreiche internationale Institutionen zeigten Ausstellungen und Performances der Künstlerin, darunter Tate Modern und Barbican Centre, London; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg; Berliner Festspiele und Kraftwerk, Berlin.

Performer*innen Jia-Yu Corti, Pan Daijing, Anna Davidson, Marie Gailey, Steve Katona, Thibault Lac und Shade Therét