boychild with Josh Johnson, Moved by Motion, 2017

boychild with Josh Johnson, Moved by Motion, 2017

Photo: Inès Manai

Durational performance
Rituals of Care

boychild with Josh Johnson and Total Freedom: Untitled Duet (the storm called progress)

Untitled Duet (the storm called progress) is a new performance by boychild conceived with dancer Josh Johnson along with DJ and sound composer Total Freedom, experimenting with techniques of improvisation and pressing against a linear unfolding of history.

  • Free admission, limited capacity

Admission is possible at any time.

Untitled Duet (the storm called progress) is both an excerpt and expansion of boychild’s work with the collaborative band Moved by the Motion. It takes Paul Klee’s drawing Angelus Novus from 1920 as an opportunity to reflect on the nature of improvisation as it relates to what Walter Benjamin might call the chaos of history. Klee’s angel is propelled backwards without foresight “into the future to which his back is turned,” facing the piling wreckage and catastrophe of the past. Against this dense background, boychild imagines an expansive performance that works with distinct forms: a durational composition of shifting relations across sound, music and movement.

boychild is a movement-based performance artist whose work operates through improvisation as a mode of survival and world building in the liminal space where becoming meets representation. Her performances have been presented widely, including the Venice Biennale; the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York City; the Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco and ICA, London.

boychild mit Josh Johnson, Moved by Motion, 2017

boychild mit Josh Johnson, Moved by Motion, 2017

Foto: Inès Manai

Durational Performance
Rituals of Care

boychild mit Josh Johnson und Total Freedom: Untitled Duet (the storm called progress)

Untitled Duet (the storm called progress) ist eine neue Performance von boychild, welche gemeinsam mit dem Tänzer Josh Johnson und dem DJ und Komponisten Total Freedom konzipiert wurde und sich mit verschiedenen Improvisationstechniken experimentierend einer linearen Lesart von Geschichte entzieht.

  • Eintritt frei, begrenzte Platzkapazitäten

Vergangene Termine

Einlass während der gesamten Performance möglich

Untitled Duet ist als Auszug und auch als Erweiterung von boychilds Kollaboration mit dem Kollektiv Moved by the Motion zu verstehen. Paul Klees Zeichnung Angelus Novus aus dem Jahr 1920 dient als Ausgangspunkt, um über Improvisation als Form nachzudenken: Wie bezieht diese sich auf das, was Walter Benjamin das Chaos der Geschichte nennen würde? Klees Engel wird ohne Voraussicht zurückgeschleudert „in die Zukunft, der er den Rücken kehrt“; er steht dem Trümmerhaufen und der Katastrophe der Vergangenheit gegenüber. Vor diesem dichten Hintergrund präsentiert boychild eine ausgedehnte Performance, die verschiedene Formen vereint: eine prozesshafte Komposition wechselnder Beziehungen zwischen Klang, Musik und Bewegung.

boychild ist eine Performancekünstlerin, in deren Werk Bewegung eine maßgebliche Rolle spielt. In dem Grenzbereich, in dem Werden auf Repräsentation trifft, nutzt sie Improvisation als Überlebensstrategie und Welterzeugung. Ihre Performances wurden in zahlreichen Institutionen gezeigt, unter anderem auf der Biennale in Venedig; dem Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; dem Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco und dem ICA, London.