Cevdet Erek, Bergama Stereo (Sketch), 2019

Cevdet Erek, Bergama Stereo (Sketch), 2019

Photo: Cevdet Erek

Installation
Rituals of Care

Cevdet Erek: Left Right, Stereo

As part of the performance programme Rituals of Care, the visual and sound installation Left Right, Stereo by artist Cevdet Erek is specifically conceived for the Gropius Bau. Situated on the façade of the exhibition hall and in the foyer, the work invites viewers to shift their perception of the place as they enter.

Drawing on his Bergama Stereo, an architectural installation with sound currently on view at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, the artist extends his investigation into the trades of form and history around the Pergamonaltar and its famous frieze of gods and underground giants that has been displaced from Turkey and relocated in Berlin since the late 19th century. For the series Rituals of Care, Erek proposes two related yet distinct works. Situated on the façade of the exhibition hall, Left Right imagines two large banners that at once mark and blur the divide across stereophonic sound production and political spectrums against the classicist and symmetrical architecture of the Gropius Bau. In the foyer, Stereo features Erek’s own sound system from his high school years that mediates and amplifies a newly made stereo mix of the beat pattern and guttural voice from the sound composition installed in the left-side facade of Bergama Stereo. Together, these visual and sonic interventions emphasise the threshold between the outside and inside, prompting a new ritual that invites us to shift our perception of the space – its vibrations and ghosts – as we come in.

Cevdet Erek is an artist, teacher and musician based in Istanbul. His work ÇIN represented the Turkish Pavilion at the 57th Venice Biennale and his architectural installation with sound and performance programme Bergama Stereo is on view at the Hamburger Bahnhof until March 2020.

Cevdet Erek, Bergama Stereo (Sketch), 2019

Cevdet Erek, Bergama Stereo (Sketch), 2019

Foto: Cevdet Erek

Installation
Rituals of Care

Cevdet Erek: Left Right, Stereo

Die Klanginstallation Left Right, Stereo wurde vom Künstler Cevdet Erek als Teil des Performanceprogramms Rituals of Care speziell für den Gropius Bau konzipiert. Die an der Fassade und im Foyer des Ausstellungshauses platzierte Arbeit lädt das Publikum dazu ein, beim Eintreten seine Wahrnehmung des Raumes zu verändern.

Angelehnt an Bergama Stereo – eine architektonische Installation mit Ton, die derzeit im Hamburger Bahnhof zu sehen ist – erweitert der Künstler seine Erforschung der Formen und Geschichte des Pergamonaltars, der seit dem späten 19. Jahrhundert aus der Türkei nach Berlin verlagert wurde und auf dessen berühmtem Fries Götter und Giganten dargestellt sind. In der Performancereihe Rituals of Care zeigt Erek zwei zusammenhängende und doch unterschiedliche Arbeiten: Für die Fassade des Ausstellungshauses konzipierte Erek mit Left Right zwei große Banner, die die Kluft zwischen stereofonischer Klangerzeugung und politischen Spektren gegenüber der klassizistischen und symmetrischen Architektur des Gropius Bau aufzeigen und zugleich verwischen. Im Foyer vermittelt Stereo mit Ereks eigenem Soundsystem aus Schulzeiten eine neu entwickelte Stereo-Kombination des Beats und der kehligen Stimme aus der Soundkomposition, die an der linksseitigen Fassade von Bergama Stereo zu hören ist. Diese visuellen und akustischen Interventionen betonen die Schwelle zwischen dem Außen und dem Innen und schaffen ein neues Ritual, welches dazu einlädt, beim Eintreten unsere Wahrnehmung des Raumes – seiner Stimmungen und Geister – zu verändern.

Cevdet Erek lebt als Künstler, Lehrer und Musiker in Istanbul. Seine Arbeit ÇIN wurde im Türkischen Pavillon auf der 57. Biennale in Venedig gezeigt und seine Architektur-Installation mit Sound- und Performanceprogramm Bergama Stereo ist bis März 2020 im Hamburger Bahnhof zu sehen.