Photo: Bill Fontana (2019)

Sound sculpture
Rituals of Care

Bill Fontana: Landscape Soundings

Landscape Soundings, a sound sculpture by artist Bill Fontana, will be played in the atrium in-between the performance events throughout the duration of the series Rituals of Care. Two distinct works can be heard in alternation.

The first work, Landscape Soundings Revisited, was created for the 1990 Vienna Festival and brought the live sounds of an ancient Danube Wetland to the heart of the city. The version conceived for the Gropius Bau features a compositional reflection on the large data-base of recordings from the 1990 project, a time marked by the fall of the Berlin Wall when the Gropius Bau was at the beginning of a rebirth. The second work, Landscape Sounding River Echoes, is made from a recent recording of a cluster of giant sequoia trees near the Kaweah River in Sequoia National Park, California. The vibration sensors (accelerometers) are mounted on these ancient trees to pick up the rhythmic energy and resonating echoes of the moving river across the landscape.

Bill Fontana is an American composer who uses sound as a sculptural medium. Exhibitions include the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York City; the Art History and Natural History Museums, Vienna; Tate Modern and Tate Britain, London and the 48th Venice Biennale. From 13 March 2020 Bill Fontana can be seen and heard with the solo exhibition Primal Energies at the Kunsthaus Graz and the re-enactment Sonic Projections in Graz. Further information can be found here.

Foto: Bill Fontana (2019)

Klangskulptur
Rituals of Care

Bill Fontana: Landscape Soundings

Die Klangskulptur Landscape Soundings des Künstlers Bill Fontana wird während der gesamten Dauer der Performancereihe Rituals of Care zwischen den Performances im Lichthof zu hören sein. Dabei werden zwei verschiedene Arbeiten im Wechsel präsentiert.

Die erste Arbeit, Landscape Soundings Revisited, entstand 1990 im Rahmen der Wiener Festspiele und brachte Live-Klänge einer alten Donau-Aue in das Herz der Stadt. Die für den Gropius Bau konzipierte Version ist eine kompositorische Reflexion der umfangreichen Datenbank mit Aufnahmen des Projekts von 1990 – einer Zeit kurz nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer, der auch für den Gropius Bau einen Neubeginn bedeutete. Die zweite Arbeit, Landscape Sounding River Echoes, ist aus aktuellen Aufnahmen einer Gruppe von Riesenmammutbäumen in der Nähe des Kaweah River im Sequoia National Park in Kalifornien entstanden. Schwingungssensoren wurden an den alten Bäumen angebracht, um die rhythmische Energie und die Echos des rauschenden Flusses in der Landschaft einzufangen.

Bill Fontana ist ein amerikanischer Komponist, der Klang als skulpturales Mittel einsetzt. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art, New York City; dem Kunsthistorischen Museum und dem Naturhistorischen Museum, Wien; der Tate Modern und Tate Britain, London und der 48. Biennale in Venedig gezeigt. Ab 13. März 2020 ist Bill Fontana mit der Einzelausstellung Primal Energies im Kunsthaus Graz und dem Reenactment Sonic Projections in Graz zu sehen und hören. Nähere Informationen finden Sie hier.