1974, World Cup FRG – NL (2:1)

“In almost every final movement, there is a point where he gets ready to take the shot, and that shot goes in like a penalty.” (Elmar Budde on Beethoven’s final movements). 1974, World Cup FRG – NL (2:1). Johan Neeskens (NL) scores with the penalty 0:1 against goalkeeper Sepp Maier (FRG)

© IFAGE Filmproduktion, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Concert
Opening Concert / Visiting : Amsterdam

Concertgebouworkest

François-Xavier Roth, conductor
Beethoven | Rihm | Saunders

The Musikfest’s opening concert will turn the Philharmonie into a place of encounters: On the occasion of the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birthday, his music will be juxtaposed with contemporary composers. The Concertgebouworkest with François-Xavier Roth and Pekka Kuuisto will combine Beethoven’s “Eroica” with compositions by Rebecca Saunders and Wolfgang Rihm.

18:10 work introduction

The Concertgebouworkest and Musikfest Berlin enjoy an especially close connection. It reaches far back into the times of the previous festival, Berliner Festwochen. What was one of several cultural initiatives towards the consolidation of peace in Europe in 1963, has developed into a firm partnership over many years of steady cooperation. In the festival’s opening concert, the guests from Amsterdam will reveal the main constellation that will create the special suspense of the 2020 Musikfest Berlin: Beethoven and the music of our times, with a special focus on the works of Rebecca Saunders and Wolfgang Rihm. All genres, from piano pieces to great orchestra works, will find a place within this magnetic field. Beginning the festival with Beethoven’s music was a programmatic decision: The opening features the overture and the symphony in which the composer’s “sound of humanity” gained its profile and its strength – and found unprecedented forms without renouncing its close reference to tradition. Through this grand idea, his musical language formed in all its details and ramifications: Beethoven’s orchestral works are just as convincing when seen as an “address to the nation” as in their nature of a precise analysis of internal organisation of sound.

Such introspection is also undertaken by Wolfgang Rihm and Rebecca Saunders. “Sostenuto”, sustained, is a term for musical expression that is frequently found in Beethoven’s music. On a modern grand piano, the “sostenuto pedal” is the middle one, which only allows those notes to be prolonged that are played by pressing it. Wolfgang Rihm translates this sound phenomenon into the language of the orchestra. Rebecca Saunders’ violin concerto “Still” was inspired by a late work by Samuel Beckett. “’Still’ explores two starkly contrasting conditions which are in a state of balance. ‘Still’, German for silent, refers to the framing of sounds by silence, an imaginary silence that is waiting to become audible” (Rebecca Saunders) – either gently or eruptive.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Leonore Overture No. 3 op. 72b (1806)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
sostenuto (2020)
Commissioned by Concertgebouworkest
German premiere

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
Still
for violin solo and orchestra (2011)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major op. 55 “Eroica” (1802/03)

The concerts dedicated to Rebecca Saunders on 29.8., 2.9., 7.9. and 9.9.2020 are funded by means of the Capital City Cultural Fund and the Aventis Foundation.


Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert
Eröffnungskonzert / Gastspiel : Amsterdam

Concertgebouworkest

François-Xavier Roth, Leitung
Beethoven | Rihm | Saunders

Dieses Konzert muss leider entfallen. Stattdessen findet an diesem Termin ein Konzert mit der Staatskapelle Berlin statt.
Informationen zur Erstattung bereits gekaufter und zum Kauf neuer Tickets finden Sie auf der Ticketseite.

Entdecken Sie das neue Gesamtprogramm 2020.

WM 1974, Endspiel BRD – NL (2:1)

„In fast jedem Finalsatz gibt es einen Punkt, da setzt er an zum Schuss, und der geht dann rein wie ein Elfmeter.“ (Elmar Budde über Beethovens Finalsätze). WM 1974, Endspiel BRD – NL (2:1). Johan Neeskens (NL) erzielt mit einem Elfmeter das 0:1 gegen Torwart Sepp Maier (BRD)

© IFAGE Filmproduktion, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Zum Concertgebouworkest pflegt das Musikfest Berlin eine besonders enge Verbindung. Sie reicht weit zurück in die Zeit der früheren Berliner Festwochen. Was 1963 noch ein Teil kultivierter Friedensfestigung in Europa war, ist inzwischen durch viele Jahre stetiger Kooperation zu einer festen Partnerschaft geworden. Im Eröffnungskonzert exponieren die Amsterdamer die Hauptkonstellation, welche die Spannung des Musikfest Berlin 2020 ausmacht: Beethoven und die Musik der Gegenwart, konzentriert insbesondere in Werken von Rebecca Saunders und Wolfgang Rihm. In diesem ästhetischen Magnetfeld finden alle Genres vom Klavierstück bis zur großen konzertanten Oper ihren Platz. Der Auftakt mit Beethoven ist programmatisch gewählt: mit der Ouvertüre und der Symphonie, in dem sein „Menschheitston“ Profil und Kraft gewann – und im dichten Traditionsbezug zu unerhörten Formen fand. Mit der großen Idee bildete sich seine musikalische Sprache in all ihren Details und Verästelungen: Beethovens Orchesterwerke überzeugen als „Volksreden“ (Adorno) ebenso wie beim genauen Blick ins Innere ihrer Klangorganisation.

Solche Introspektionen unternehmen Wolfgang Rihm und Rebecca Saunders mit ihren Werken. „Sostenuto“, verhalten, ist eine musikalische Ausdrucksbezeichnung, bei Beethoven erscheint sie nicht selten. Als „Sostenuto-Pedal“ bezeichnet man bei modernen Flügeln das mittlere, das nur die Töne weiterklingen lässt, die mit seinem Niederdrücken angeschlagen werden. Dieses Klangphänomen übersetzt Rihm ins Orchestrale. Rebecca Saunders’ Violinkonzert „Still“ ist durch einen Text des späten Samuel Beckett inspiriert. „,Still‘ erforscht zwei extrem gegensätzliche Zustände, die sich im Stadium des Gleichgewichts befinden. ,Still‘ bezieht sich auf die Umrahmung von Klängen mit Stille, einer imaginären Stille, die darauf wartet, hörbar zu werden“ (Rebecca Saunders) – sanft oder eruptiv.

Konzertprogramm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Leonoren-Ouvertüre No. 3 op. 72b (1806)

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
sostenuto (2020)
Kompositionsauftrag des Concertgebouworkest
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
Still
für Violine Solo und Orchester (2011)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur op. 55 „Eroica“ (1802/03)

Die Rebecca Saunders gewidmeten Gastspielkonzerte am 29.8., 2.9., 7.9. und 9.9.2020 werden gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Aventis Foundation.

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin